The Leprechaun Predicts: NFL Conference Championship Games

Tom Brady Peyton Manning 2Happy Sunday to ya, Lads and Lasses!  I’ll have ya know I’m up bright and early for ya benefit (yes, this is early for a Leprechaun on a Sunday!) as Austin says there are some very important American football matches on tap this afternoon.

Did someone say “on tap”?  Then why is me pint empty?

For those of ya new to the blog, me name is Seamus, and I’m Maine’s one and only Leprechaun.  When I’m not busy protectin’ me pot o’ gold, I’m also something of an expert at predictin’ who’s gonna win at football.

Austin tells me I was 2-2 last week.  Ain’t half bad, right?  This week, me picks will be true and ya can count of that.  The first game is easy.  Me tummy growls whenever I see a Papa John’s commercial, and I love that guy who makes the jokes with Papa.  I’m told he is a really quarterback, too.  Plus, his team is playin’ the Patriots.  There’s a pack of Trolls around town that gets on me nerves wicked fierce, and they’re diehard Patsies fans.

All these factors, plus the beer I just put inside me belly, tell me that this match is gonna be won by the pizza guy.  Team Papa John’s 56 – The Brady Bunch 42.  I’m predictin’ a high score because me plan is to do a shot after every point, and I wanna get wicked blitzed!

Game 2The second match has the team with the numbers in the name against a team named after birds.  If wee ole me can scare away a flock of birds with just me shillelagh, how tough can a football team named after birds really be?

I love numbers, so I’ve got to pick the 49ers.  Me gut is sayin’ 35-21.

Now before ya write me off as just a handsome, charming gent who writes his column when he’s half in the bag and doesn’t know much about American football, I’ll point out that the two picks I got right last week are the same two teams I’m pickin’ this week.

trophyDoesn’t that say a little something about me skills at pickin’ the winners?

Stick with me and the sky is the limit.  When me teams end up playing for the fancy trophy in the Super Bowl, me dear lads and lasses, you will be buyin’ me pints just to hear who I think is going to win that match.

And I can easily be bought, so get ya tails up here to Maine to liquor me up and pick me brain!

Enjoy the game.  May the luck o’ the Irish be with ya!

 

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Funny, Humor, Philosophy, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Leprechaun Predicts: NFL Conference Championship Games

  1. I wrote a short story about Wisconsin Leprechauns…maybe there’s so many here in Wisconsin because they like hanging with the cows. Enjoy your pint!

  2. susielindau says:

    Go Broncos! Now pass the pizza…

  3. orwell1627 says:

    13-3 at halftime. Brady will throw 3 tds in the second half. Peyton will throw 2. Final score = 27-24 Broncos!!

  4. ksbeth says:

    and how is seamus feeling today, after the final scores, the pizzas and the beer?

Leave a Reply

