Monday Morning Coffee Club: 1/20/14

Cofee signIt’s Monday again, Modern Philosophers.

I’ll let that sink in for a moment.  Maybe you want to get yourself some coffee and take a long sip before we go any further…

Once again, there is snow on the ground to get the work week off to a perfect start.  It had actually all melted away, and life was getting back to normal, and then it snowed Saturday night and most of the day yesterday.  I jokingly commented that it seemed fitting that  Maine, which might very well the the whitest state in the Union, would have a white Martin Luther King Day.

I’m a bit upset over the fact that today isn’t a bigger deal up here.  There might not be mail delivery, and the banks are probably closed, but everything else seems to be open.  Why isn’t this a more important Holiday?  I am not impressed, Maine.  Not impressed at all!

While this feature is built on a solid foundation of trashing Monday as a day of unrest and general annoyance, I must be a true journalist and report on the day from a different perspective (just this once).

MondayLast Monday, I returned from a long day at work to discover that I had been Freshly Pressed for the second time!  That was quite a thrill, and it has been exciting to answer comments from new readers, and welcome hundreds of new followers to the blog.

If you haven’t had a chance to read the honored post, it’s the one about Pluto trying to buy its way back into our solar system as a planet.  It’s nice to know there are so many Pluto lovers out there.

So Mondays are still horrible, but I guess this little bit of happiness proves that they aren’t entirely bad.  Don’t worry, Modern Philosophers, I haven’t let down my guard.  I’m approaching this Monday as if it were just as terrible as it normally is.

Help yourself to the coffee, linger around for conversation, and feel free to read some of the other posts on this blog.  Just please don’t feed the Gargoyle or tip the interns.

Just think…Tuesday is less than 17 hours away!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in blog, Humor, musings, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 1/20/14

  1. ksbeth says:

    here, it is quite a big thing. there is no school and most places are honoring dr. king. he had a huge impact on the city of detroit and the whole civil rights movement changed our lives forever. he is not forgotten here.

  2. floridaborne says:

    People remember being deeply embarrassed. When I moved to the bay area there was a road that got a name change. I don’t know what it was before, but the new sign read MLK Way. How did my dyslexic mind interpret that? Giving someone directions to a restaurant I told them, “Turn right on Milky Way.” That’s when someone said, “No. It’s Martin Luther King Jr. Way.” When I think of MLK Jr. day, I’m thankful he had a dream that his children would be judged by the content of their character and not the color of their skin. These days, it’s painfully obvious that many people of every race, color and creed didn’t get the memo. Fortunately on that day, I was gently corrected by someone who did understand the message. Hmm…I think I’ve discovered my blog entry for the day. Thanks, Austin!

  3. seaangel4444 says:

    Here in CHItown it is a big thing as it should be. I wrote a post about MLK day today. I am saddened to hear that in Maine people aren’t reciprocating the importance of today. Oh, time for more java juice! ;-)

  4. navery101 says:

    Austin, Dr. King is honored on my post; http://bloggingeinstein.wordpress.com/ He is indeed and esteemed thinker.

    • Austin says:

      Great post! Thank you for letting me know about it. I just ranted in my new post about how this Holiday gets forgotten, so it was nice to read something so well written about the man being honored.

Leave a Reply

