The Morning Show With Danny and Austin

good morningBreakfast really is the most important meal of the day, Modern Philosophers.  It gets your day off on the right food, and provides fuel for your Deep Thoughts.

This morning, I had a breakfast meeting with Danny Cashman, the host of The Nite Show With Danny Cashman.

As you know, I am a writer for the show.  I started back in November after my Walking Dead blog post went viral, and I got up the guts to ask Danny for a shot at writing jokes for him.  He was either impressed with my writing ability, or fearful that I had the power to send Zombies after him.  Whatever the reason, he gave me a chance.

I came on board the writing staff at a great time because the show was beginning its meteoric rise in the ratings.  Because of this, I was lucky enough to have Danny telling my jokes to the largest viewing audience in The Nite Show’s history.

When the season ended, I sent Danny an email thanking him for the opportunity and asking him for a chance to be more involved in the show.  I wasn’t sure what his answer would be, but I really enjoyed being a part of the show, and I wanted to make sure he knew I wanted to be a bigger part of it.

bg breakfastDanny asked me to meet him for breakfast to talk about it.  Maybe the TV Star didn’t eat everything in the photo at the left, but writers don’t need to be in front of the camera, so I made sure to stuff my face.

One of the things I most enjoy about writing for The Nite Show is the feeling that comes over me when I’m cranking out jokes and working on a deadline.  I’m alive, I’m creative, my brain finally has something exciting to do, my weird sense of humor finds a purpose, and I can’t sleep because I’m constantly having another joke pop into my head.

I feel none of those things when I’m chained to a desk, earning the paycheck that keeps the roof of The House on the Hill over my heat, heating oil in the tank, and food on the table.

I knew I needed to feel that way more often, though.

nite logoDanny was awesome.  We had a wonderful conversation about how the show is produced, how he got it started, how advertising works, and other fascinating things that kept my brain thirsting for more information as I shoveled food into my mouth.

He said great things about my writing, which really made my morning.  I truly felt like a writer, a feeling that can be fleeting at times.  I realized that I should be having these kind of conversations every day, and that I had somehow managed to veer so far from my chosen career path that I sometimes questioned if it’s a lie when I call myself a writer.

I can’t go into the details of our conversation, but I left the restaurant in a very good mood (and quite full!).  I carried my buzz well into the work day, and the constant question of “Why aren’t you writing full time???” kept bouncing around in my head.

I understand more than ever that writing is my true calling in life, and that I need to be more of an advocate for myself to make that a reality.  I’m very lucky that people like Danny Cashman are willing to take a chance on a toga wearing weirdo, who is obsessed with Zombies, Aliens, Time Travel, Gargoyles, Magic and the like.

FootballI did also daydream about what it would be like to have my own late night talk show.  I pictured the set up to be something like the photo on the left…

I think the football helmet, plaid pants, and relaxed cross-legged look would really pull in the 18-49 demo.  The older, more oddly dressed sidekick would help me win over the mature crowd.  It could work!

All joking aside, it was a great meeting and I hope that when The Nite Show returns in September, I will be even more involved with the production.

Remember, you can support The Nite Show by liking its Facebook page or by following it on Twitter @TheNiteShowME.  Maybe you can send Danny a tweet asking him to take you to breakfast…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Funny, Humor, Philosophy, Television, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The Morning Show With Danny and Austin

  1. Glad the breakfast went well, Austin!

    Could you send me an autograph now, so when you are a Big Shot TV Guy it will be very valuable, then I can sell it, get rich and retire?

    At that point I can say, “I knew Austin way back when……”

  2. Jennifer says:

    Your great at what you do! Follow your dreams!

  3. Congratulations, glad the breakfast meeting went well.

  4. grannyK says:

    You are most definitely a writer! I hope in the near future, you will be doing what you love full time.

  5. Congrats on the yummy breakfast and the positive career trajectory – both fabulous things to keep a creative spirit soaring…
    AnnMarie :-)

  6. floridaborne says:

    Finally! You’ve got your foot in the door. Hopefully you remembered to wear steel-toed boots and not the sandals normally worn with your toga. :-)

  7. ksbeth says:

    i’m really happy to read this austin, it is one of the most positive and true to your calling posts i’ve heard you write in a long time, yay!

  8. Great news…& Cute photo! :-)

  9. Agellius says:

    Good job! I hope everything happens the way you wish.

  10. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    NOW—THIS IS THE AUSTIN WE LOVE!!!!! :) WACKY AND WONDERFUL!!! :D

Leave a Reply

