My Boxing Day Tradition of Challenging Strangers to Box

BoxerHappy Boxing Day, Modern Philosophers!

This is a holiday that gets me very excited.  I’ve been up early doing my sit ups, getting in some work on the heavy bag, and doing a little sparring with The Devil, who was able to tear himself away from my TV and food long enough to go a couple of rounds in the basement ring with me.

Now I’ve put on my silk boxing trunks, taped my hands, slipped on my boxing gloves, and dug my Boxing Day Championship Belt out of the trophy case for all the world to see.  It is time to hit the streets of Bangor and challenge total strangers to box.

I have been doing this for the past two years, and my record is 22-1-1.  I have been knocked out only once and will admit I was whooped that time, but the draw was a load of crap.  I knocked that guy down twice over the course of the match, but the judges claimed he got in more punches.  No way!

I don’t really care about the record, though.  I do this to spread a little Boxing Day spirit to a community that’s still a bit punch drunk from Christmas.

So what do you to, Modern Philosophers, to celebrate Boxing Day?  Do any of you have a record as good as mine?  If you’re going to be in the Bangor area today, let me know and we can pick a street corner and go a few rounds.

I love this crazy holiday!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to My Boxing Day Tradition of Challenging Strangers to Box

  1. melfamy says:

    Looking forward to Boxing Day, as I haven’t lost a fight since I learned about Fight Club. My club is made from the stump of a hickory tree, what about yours?.

  2. Due to the first rule of Boxing Day, I can’t tell you about what I do on Boxing Day. It sounds like you’re a contender for a good one. Enjoy. 🙂

  3. gatesitter says:

    Fist of fury love it!!! Wish I was there to watch…:)

  4. This sounds like a pretty legit tradition. I’m considering bringing it down to South Mississippi next year!

  5. soad88 says:

    figures you put a picture of a justin bieber look-alike….Do all the strangers you “randomly” choose look like that in Maine??(where are you going to find a worthy opponent in Maine?? who are you kidding that state is filled with toga wearing philosophers.)

  6. Austin says:

    Reblogged this on The Return of the Modern Philosopher and commented:

    Happy Boxing Day, Modern Philosophers! I thought I would celebrate by sharing this old Boxing Day post from the Archives. Please excuse all the dust…

  7. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I have a sudden urge to listen to “Gonna Fly Now” and run up a lot of stairs.

Leave a Reply

