Darth Vader Wows Karaoke Crowd With Rockin’ Version of “On The Dark Side”

Vader Pimpin'“The dark side’s callin’ now nothin’ is real…”

By belting out that opening line, Darth Vader brought down the house gathered for Karaoke Night at My Fork in Bangor.

The Dark Lord of the Sith might have managed to sneak into the joint without being seen, but once he grabbed the mic and the opening notes of Eddie & the Cruisers’ classic “On The Dark Side” filled the room, the man once known as Anakin Skywalker had everyone’s full attention.

“We had no advance warning that he was dropping by,” My Fork Manager Lucas Cushing explained excitedly to this Modern Philosopher.  “You’d think a celebrity of that stature would call ahead to make sure we had a table for him and a little security set up to allow him his privacy, but he just popped in with one stormtrooper, put his name on the sign up sheet, and grabbed a table in the corner.”

As if Darth Vader would need security, Lucas!

“She’ll never know just how I feel…”

Vader PoseI am a huge Star Wars fan, and live about ten minutes from My Fork, but I had no idea that the man in black was in town and rocking the mic.  So I had to get my information on this second hand.  Luckily, the patrons at the restaurant took lots of photos and posted tons of videos on You Tube.

“Once word got out that Darth Vader was in my restaurant doing karaoke, the place was packed,” Lucas continued.  “I was afraid someone was going to call the Fire Marshal because I was way over my legal occupancy.  But how could I turn people away?  It was Darth Friggin’ Vader, dude!”

“From out of the shadows she walks like a dream…”

Vader did not stop with the Eddie & The Cruisers song.  According to multiple sources, he tried to get off stage and give the other patrons a chance, but the throngs would not allow it.  It was almost as if they used The Force on him, to bend him to do their will.

Vader Guitar“Sweet Child of Mine” was next, and Vader make this one special in two ways.  “There was a woman in the audience who had Princess Leia style buns,” Lucas explained so excitedly that I thought his head was going to explode.  “Vader went into the crowd and sang to her.  She had a huge smile on her face, everyone was singing along, and then Vader busted out the awesome air guitar moves for Slash’s solo.  It was epic!  The applause after that was so loud, I thought I’d go deaf!”

“Makes me feel crazy, makes me feel so mean…”

I cannot find any record of Darth Vader ever making another impromptu karaoke appearance…at least not on Earth.  Some of my Alien friends had vague recollections of a friend of a friend claiming to have witnessed such an event a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away…

Vader went on like this for over an hour, never once taking a break.  The crowd shouted out requests, and the big guy belted out anything that was thrown his way.  I’ve watched the video of Vader doing Foo Fighter’s “Walk” at least five times already today.  How awesome would it be to see him do a duet with Dave Grohl?

“Ain’t nothin’ gonna save you from a love that’s blind…”

Speaking of duets, Luke’s Daddy ended the night doing one with a very attractive blonde that he plucked out of the crowd.  Everyone waited in anxious anticipation to see what song they would select, and while they might have been stunned by the choice at first, it was the perfect way to end it.

Vader Pump“They sang that song from Grease.  You know the one I mean, right?” Lucas asked me as he racked his brain for the title.  “It’s the one at the end when they’re all at the carnival.  When Sandy shows up all decked out in the sexy black leather.  ‘I’ve got chills, they’re multiplying…’ Oh, man, that killed!  Absolutely brought down the house!”

“You slip to the dark side across that line.  On the dark side oh yeah, on the dark side oh yeah…”

After causing a near rebellion with his impromptu rock and rock tour de force, Vader then hung around for another forty-five minutes to sign autographs.

Damn!  I cannot believe I wasn’t there.  Bummed about missing it, I am…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Darth Vader Wows Karaoke Crowd With Rockin’ Version of “On The Dark Side”

  1. Vader sang The “We Go Together” duet? And I missed it? Oh the humanity!

    • Austin says:

      That’s why you’ve got to be in Maine. All the crazy, magical, unexpected things happen here. Maine and Maine..they go together. 😀

  2. ksbeth says:

    Heard vader is opening for vedder in Seattle.

  3. LucyJartz says:

    I too am so bummed that I missed it!

  4. LucyJartz says:

    Got thing that was only the kickoff for Star Wars Day! So many ways to celebrate… lego movie clips coming right up!

Leave a Reply

