Dave Grohl Denies Rumor That He Is The Little Drummer Boy

Drummer BoyCome they told me…so I did, Modern Philosophers.  Foo Fighters front man and former Nirvana drummer, Dave Grohl, called a news conference today to deny rumors that he had once been The Little Drummer Boy.

That lad, who performed for the Baby Jesus on the First Christmas and is the subject of a popular Christmas Carol, does bear a striking resemblance to a young Dave Grohl.

“How in the world could I be The Little Drummer Boy?” Grohl asked the assembled members of the media with an “I can’t believe I’m even addressing this” look on his face.  “That would make me over 2,000 years old.  Do I really look that old to you guys?”

Dave-GrohlNo, he did not.  However, Grohl hasn’t seemed to age much since his Nirvana days.  Perhaps there’s a little bit of Christmas magic at work here?  Maybe Baby Jesus was so awed by how The Little Drummer Boy rocked the skins that he granted him the gift of immortality?

After all, The Little Drummer Boy was just a poor boy, too, with no gift to bring that was fit for a king.  Perhaps the Son of God wanted to reward him for his generosity in a very unique way.

“That’s an awesome theory, Austin,” the lead singer of one of my favorite bands told me, thereby making my entire Holiday Season, “but it’s just not true.  My first ever gig was not at a tiny manger in Bethlehem, and I have not been blessed with the gift of eternal life.  I’m sorry to burst your bubble.”

No one is sure how the Dave Grohl as The Little Drummer Boy rumor got started, but it was on the internet, and we all know how people react to things they read on the internet, Modern Philosophers.

Foo Fighters’ management team has been flooded with requests for Grohl to go on talk shows to discuss the rumor, both those are far outnumbered by the number of requests for the band do a cover of The Little Drummer Boy song.

Drummer Boy SoloGrohl told me this was the only time he planned to interrupt his Holiday Vacation to address the rumor, but hinted that the band might be up for covering the song at a later date.

“A Foo Fighters Christmas album would be pretty awesome,” he told me as he bounced the idea around inside his head.  “We could give the proceeds to charity.  Definitely something to think about in the new year.”

Then, when he was sure that no one else was in the room to hear him, he played for me.  On his drum.

It was the familiar beat of The Little Drummer Boy song, and Grohl had a huge, sly grin on his face as he sang it for me.  Best version of any Christmas Carol ever.

I’m not convinced the rumors are false, Modern Philosophers, but I’m just going to report what my new friend Dave told me.  And what he didn’t tell me…

Happy Holidays and keep rocking!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dave Grohl Denies Rumor That He Is The Little Drummer Boy

  1. ksbeth says:

    don’t ask, don’t tell.

  2. Jet Eliot says:

    hmm, I don’t know if there’s anything “little” about Dave Grohl, he’s so very big, so grand.

  3. David Forbes Brown says:

    It’s fairly obvious. Grohl is Christ.

  4. Hmmm, I think he doth protest too much… I really like your idea of his immortality. I’m voting for you.
    And you’re absolutely right, he had to be a little boy at some point.

Leave a Reply

