I’m Dreaming Of A White Easter…

Sat 8It was 63 degrees and sunny when I left work last night, Modern Philosophers.

It was so nice that I drove home with the windows down.  If you don’t believe me, check out the photographic evidence supplied on the left.

It was gorgeous.  I even went for a walk when I got home because it was so nice.

Since this is Maine, however, it’s not 63 degrees and sunny today.  It’s actually 30 degrees cooler.  And snowing.

Yes, Modern Philosophers, it’s snowing.

On Easter Eve.  Is nothing sacred around here?

Sat 9I took a quick photo of Zombie Car’s control panel last night so that I would have photographic evidence that it was 63 degrees when I left work.

Finally, Spring had arrived.  Just in time for Easter.  It truly was a Good Friday!

Sat 7This is what is currently going on outside The House on the Hill.  I was finally able to see my lawn again, but now it’s turning white again.  Much like my hair from all this stress!

Sat 6The snow is starting to accumulate on my neighbors’ roof.  Looking at this photo, you might guess it was Christmas Eve, rather than Easter Eve.

Sat 5My side yard.  I was beginning to wonder when the flowers might bloom in the little garden back there.

I wonder if April snow showers bring May snow flowers…

Sat 3I have a theory that it was a Mainer who came up with the idea of painting Easter Eggs bright colors.  That way, they would be easier to find in the snow during the Easter Egg Hunts.  Imagine how many white Easter Eggs were never found until the thaw?

Sat 2Apparently, my wishing well is broken because I have thrown a week’s salary worth of coins into it and wished for Spring to arrive…and to stay.

Sat 1There’s nothing like having to brush the snow off of your car on Easter Sunday before you head over to Grandmother’s house for dinner!

The sad thing, Modern Philosophers, is that no one up here is surprised by the weird change in the weather.  It’s just life in Maine.

And you wondered why Stephen King wrote such twisted stories…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to I’m Dreaming Of A White Easter…

  1. D. Parker says:

    Despite the wild weather, hope you’re enjoying your weekend, Austin.

  2. gh0stpupp3t says:

    A white Easter?! LOL

  3. Hehe…better you than me. I know, I’m a bitch. Zombie car, eh? I gotta’ get me one of those.

    Anyway, you have a Happy Easter. 😉

  4. jan says:

    Does this mean the Easter Bunny will be coming down your chimneys to deliver eggs?

  5. Here in the Mohawk Valley, the Easter Bunny is reportedly hitching a ride from S. Claus. We, too, had lovely 60 and higher on Good Friday. Today, not so much. I took a walk with my dog and got a dreadful sinus headache from the cold wind. But one must persevere. Let’s see if it snows on Memorial Day.

  6. grannyK says:

    I would not like it there, sadly. I’m already a cranky old lady, but boy oh boy, I would be much worse there with all that snow!

  7. livingonchi says:

    In spite of that, I hear that Maine is the place of choice for New Englanders to retire! We’re all twisted!

  8. swo8 says:

    It’s snowing here and we had one h— of a drive home from dinner. Disgusting!
    Leslie

  9. Unrelenting! So Austin, how long did you say you’ve lived in Norway?

Leave a Reply

