Friday Night Think Tank: Siblings

Doc BrownIt’s Friday night, Modern Philosophers!

We’ve made it to the end of the week, and now it’s time to enjoy one of the greatest rivalries of our time: my beloved Yankees versus the hated Red Sox.

That rivalry should keep me entertained all weekend, but I still have time to join you in the Think Tank tonight.

Speaking of rivalries, is there any greater than sibling rivalry?  According to all the posts on my Facebook news feed, today is something called National Sibling Day.  As I like to keep the Think Tank topical, I’m going to work that into tonight’s topic.

So grab your Deep Thinking Togas and meet me out at the Think Tank…

This week’s topic:  In honor of National Sibling Day, what siblings from film, television, or literature do you most wish you could call your own?

This one really had the Deep Thoughts flowing all day, Modern Philosophers.

Every time I thought I had settled on a famous family to join, another one would pop into my head, and I’d have to ponder on that one for some time.  It’s a wonder I got any work done today.

skywalkerIn the end, the Star Wars fan boy in me won out, and I decided to go with Luke and Leia Skywalker.

Who wouldn’t want to be a Jedi and have that brother and sister combo to help show you the ropes?

Sure, it would be a drag to have Darth Vader as my father, but could he really be any worse than an Evil Step Mother?

How cool would it be to fight the Empire with my siblings?  I’d have my own lightsaber, be a master with a blaster, fly like an ace, and be one with the Force.

I’ve always said that seeing Star Wars is what made me want to be a writer, so it just makes sense that I would want to be a Skywalker.

Could you imagine how powerful a Jedi I’d be after being hidden on Earth and raised in Brooklyn?  The Empire wouldn’t know how to handle a Brooklyn Jedi.  I’d probably be able to teach Luke and Leia a thing or two.

Dating would be easier as a Skywalker.  I’m sure Jedi Knights turned heads in those sexy hooded robes, and I have to assume that the Jedi Mind Trick could somehow counter the mind tricks women always seem to play on dates.

So what about you, Modern Philosophers?  Which famous siblings do you wish were yours?  Happy Sibling Day.  May the Force be with you!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: Siblings

  1. hollie says:

    I’m seeing the Royals play the Red Sox this year for my 32nd birthday. I think if I could have a pair of siblings from TV I’d choose Derek and Amelia Shepherd from Greys Anatomy… Everyone is hot and brilliant and messed up enough to keep family functions interesting and stimulating.

  2. List of X says:

    Sorry, but those Jedi robes are not sexy. And how exactly do you plan to meet girls – like “wanna see my lightsaber?” or “don’t make me use The Force”? 🙂

  3. I think it is creepy that Luke was in love with Leia in the first movie (which got demoted to another number… I don’t properly follow these things) and it turns out she’s his sister. By the way, what mind games do women play on dates, could you give an example? I never knew any, which could account for my unsuccessful dating history.

    • Austin says:

      Well, he didn’t know she was his sister, and those buns would tempt any farm boy!

      No comment on the mind games…

      • Well, you brought it up. Regarding the siblings, it always appeared to me that they wrote the first movie, then came up with all this other stuff. Oh, I know, it was always going to be nine movies (I remember reading that back in the 70s), but I don’t think they were planned in detail. And now I’ve lost all cred with the Star Wars crowd.

      • Austin says:

        It’s okay. No one will remember this outburst,

      • True dat. We wouldn’t worry so much about what people thought about us if we realized how seldom they did.

  4. I think I would have to go with the Bennet sisters from Pride & Prejudice. I, of course, would have to be Elizabeth, shaking her head in amusement at the antics of her immature younger siblings.

    And now back to baseball…your beloved Yankees being my beloved Yankees as well!

  5. Pamela Edwards says:

    Well deep thoughts subject tonight Austin . Hum a brother like John Boy Walton would have been nice & like fillyourownglass sisters like the Bennet sisters would have been lovely as well .

  6. amommasview says:

    Ha! What a fun idea! I have to say though… Nobody pops in my mind… But I will not give up just yet!!!

  7. floridaborne says:

    I can’t think of a better sibling than my own. We disagree on many things, but when it comes to family, we’re there for each other.

  8. markbialczak says:

    The cool music critic kid and his understanding stewardess sister in ‘Almost Famous,’ Austin. She talked his mother into giving him a break after he got back from that awesome ride on the tour bus to write his Rolling Stone magazine story, and his mom turned out to be cool, making sure the lead singer apologized to her son. I could hang out with that family, no problem.

    Let’s Go Mets. We’re tied 3-3 at the Braves but they’re threatening in the bottom of the eighth. Go Yanks vs. the Sox, too.

  9. Anita Stout says:

    I’d join The Simpsons. I’d fit right in. Sibling day? I think they should declare national muskrat day, but then next year they’d have to add national muskrat-sibling day and things might get out of hand. Ah to be HALLMARK.

  10. ksbeth says:

    the crew from the middle.

  11. Okay, I changed my mind. And don’t you dare laugh, but I’d love to have as my sister either Trixie Belden and/or Meg Murry .

  12. JED says:

    I might take Eric and Corey from Boy Meets World. The family always seemed pretty awesome and you would have Mr. Feeny for a neighbor.

    Red Sox in 19 by the way. I had to call in to work today after that marathon.

  13. jan says:

    I always wanted to hang out with the Swiss Family Robinson in that ultra cool treehouse! Ride ostriches, fight pirates, etc.

  14. i would like to be the older sister to Ash Fox (son of Fantastic Mr Fox)

  15. Pingback: My Picks Of The Week #16 | A Momma's View

Leave a Reply

