Monday Morning Coffee Club: 4/13/15

Giant mugAs some of you know, I occasionally host a class at The House on the Hill for new bloggers looking for tips on how to survive in the dangerous world of blogging.

“How Spreading The Blog Love Can Save Your Life” is more of a Think Tank than a formal class, but there is a final exam that all participants must pass before they are allowed to roam free in the blog world.

At the most recent class, one of the newbies asked me why I got up early every Monday morning to write my Coffee Club post.  She wanted to know why, if I hated Mondays so much, I didn’t just allow myself the extra sleep that might making dealing with the day a little easier.

UGH!

Needless to say, that blogger didn’t do very well on her final exam, but I eventually passed her to get her off my property.

To answer her question, I get up early every Monday to write this post because I am a writer.  Sure, I go to a “regular job” to help pay the bills, but I am a writer first.

This Monday morning post is the first thing I do every work week just to establish that this Modern Philosopher is a writer.  That’s the job that takes precedence.  That’s the career I make sacrifices for and will never stop pursuing.

blog-loveAlso, the Coffee Club is my way to spread a little Blog Love to my fellow bloggers.  It’s a place that they can gather to chat, share blogging ideas, and enjoy some free coffee.

In other news, Spring seems to have finally arrived at The House on the Hill.  I was able to sit out on the porch and write yesterday for the first time in eons.

Last Wednesday, I taped another on camera appearance for The Nite Show, so I can be seen on TVs across Maine this Saturday night.  I managed to not mangle my lines, and the audience actually laughed and clapped at my performance.

Don’t worry, Modern Philosophers, a permanent move in front of the camera is not in the cards for me.  I know that a writer belongs behind the camera.

I’m happy to report that my beloved Yankees pounded the hated Red Sox 14-4 last night.  Hopefully, that means idiot Red Sox fans won’t hassle me all week about the Sox taking the series 2-1.  It’s way too early in the season to be boasting, but as you all know, Red Sox fans aren’t exactly right in the head.

It looks like it’s going to be another gorgeous day.  Of course, I’m leaving the snow shovel in Zombie Car’s trunk just to be safe.  You never know in Maine.

UGH!

Enjoy the coffee and the conversation.  Remember, only 17 more hours until it’s no longer Monday.  Hang in there!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 4/13/15

  1. Ritu says:

    First off, can I ask, do you do tea? I can’t stomachs coffee??!!

  2. It must make you feel better finally seeing the back of the snow! I love to see a bit of sunshine, and it certainly improves my mood. It must be lovely to sit outside and write too 🙂

  3. Ritu says:

    Well our weekend was lovely here… not rubbing it in, by any means Austin…wasn’t it Edwina!? ;P
    even had our fist Barbecue of the year! but its rather cloudy now… still, we’ve made headway with the kids homework now, so hopefully the rest of the Easter Holidays can be all about fun!
    I’m Hubby-less for a couple of days again this week… trying to think of something inspiring to write about, its easier when he’s not here, wondering why I am constantly on the PC, or Ipad!! 😀

  4. ksbeth says:

    i understand completely, the desire and need to write )

  5. Yes, getting out of bed extra early to get your writing rush is the only good reason for getting out of bed. Well, that and feeding hungry cats. 🙂

  6. To my newest friend:
    So many things to address here…where to start? How about with the positives first?
    a) Love your Monday feature and am impressed that you have made it a permanent habit in addition to a day-job. I’m still trying to balance a full time career with the writing monkeys living in my head. Maybe when I grow up!
    b) Maine sounds like a lovely state. I’ve always wanted to visit.
    Now, for the less than positive news.
    I’ve been a Royals fan since I was in kindergarten. Last year’s season has made me more obnoxious than ever – I have the 2014 blog posts archived as evidence.
    Can we still be friends?

  7. Thank you for getting up early and writing.

  8. Thank god—its nearly Tuesday!

  9. markbialczak says:

    The Mets won their home opener today, so Monday is good for me. May your Yanks prevail for you, Austin.

  10. LOL…”I finally passed her to get her off my property.”

  11. JED says:

    Them dang Red Sox fans! Hey, wait a minute.

    Chompski is a little unhappy with your comments sir and as you know, he’s had plenty of brains in his lifeti.., uhm, I mean deadtime. Not all his but still.

  12. Love the coffee talk 🙂

  13. I LOL’d too about getting her off your property. Hysterical!!! But had to do a quiet “boo” and I think a “hiss” about the Yankees. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

