Think Of It As Friday Eve

House on the Hill SpringA fog of confusion hung over The House on the Hill this morning, Modern Philosophers.

I awakened from an odd dream convinced that it was Friday (which would be a good thing), and realized I had not prepared or purchased anything for the Potluck at work (which was a bad thing).

Unsure of what day it was, I set out to find someone to set me straight.

I scampered up to the attic, to ask the Woodburys, the Ghost Family that haunts The House on the Hill.  As the original owners of my home, I was sure they would know what day of the week it was.

However, when I asked Grandpa Jebediah, he gave me a confused look and then finally told me it was 1879.

I decided to climb out of the attic window and onto the roof to ask Gary, my loyal Gargoyle.  My safety is Gary’s top priority, so I was certain he would have the information vital to helping me maintain my sanity.

Unfortunately, I had arrived at an inopportune time.  I could see my Gargoyle circling in the sky off in the distance as a pack of Flying Monkeys playfully chased after him.

GargoyleDrat!  I really wanted it to be Friday, but then again, I didn’t want to have to rush to the grocery store to buy something for the Potluck.  I needed an answer.  There had to be someone in The House on the Hill who knew what day it was.

I went back into the house and rushed down the stairs.  I had been awakened in the middle of the night by a loud noise in the living room.

Since Gary hadn’t immediately appeared at my bedside to rescue me, I knew that the intruder had to be Seamus.  Maine’s only Leprechaun liked to sleep off his hangovers on my couch.

When I rushed into the living room, however, Seamus was nowhere to be found.  On a hunch, I headed for the bathroom.  Sure enough, the little guy was passed out in my bathtub, his shillelagh clutched at his side.

Just when I was about to give up and go back to bed, the front door opened and one of the interns entered.  I don’t know their names (why get attached when they are only going to leave at the end of the semester?), but I thought of this one as “Tall, redheaded dude, who needs to realize sweatpants aren’t proper work attire”.

“What day is it?” I asked the aforementioned intern.

“Thursday,” he replied, making him the only intern to land a speaking part on the blog this semester.  Congratulations.

Seamus“Cool,” I replied.  “I’ve got to get ready for work.  Can you make sure someone goes up to the grocery store today to buy something for my Potluck tomorrow?  Grab a few coins out of Seamus’ pot of gold to pay for it.  He’s not going to miss it.”

The intern nodded, and I trudged back up the stairs to get my clothes for work.

I wasn’t thrilled that it was only Thursday and I had one more workday to contend with, but I decided to think of today as Friday Eve.  That just sounded more festive, and I bet it will help make the day pass a little quicker.

Happy Friday Eve, Modern Philosophers!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Think Of It As Friday Eve

  1. grannyK says:

    Happy Friday Eve! We can do this!

  2. Ocean Bream says:

    Happy Friday eve. All the days are nice these days.

  3. Christie says:

    I thought Tuesday was Friday. Talk about depressing.

  4. Happy Friday Eve! How many more hours to go? 😮

  5. Happy Friday Eve! 🙂

  6. Ally Bean says:

    Could we just go ahead and make all future Thursdays into Friday Eves? I like the idea. So quietly encouraging. In a confused sort of way.

  7. wccunningham says:

    Happy Friday Eve Austin. And tomorrow we have Good Friday… again.

Leave a Reply

