They Called Him Crazy Eyes And Hid Him In The Writers’ Room

Austin sketchDanny Cashman, the host of The Nite Show, posted some photos on Facebook today from the Writers Sketch I appeared in during Saturday’s show.

I wanted to share one photo with you, Modern Philosophers, because it just made me laugh.

Look at my eyes in the above photo.  I cropped it from Danny’s version just to give you a better view of what’s going on in my big brown peepers.

The way I see it (good one!), is I’ve got Crazy Eyes and I’m thinking about the quickest, cleanest way to kill Danny and then make my escape.  That odd shadow on the wall behind me only adds to the sinister feel of the photo.

I might also be a little confused by why Danny has a pair of men’s slacks around his neck.  Plus, I am clearly considering how to use that microphone as a weapon.

I just think the picture is a hoot.  I put it on my Facebook page and also added it to my profile on that dating website.  Nothing says “stable blind date” more than a photo of a guy with Crazy Eyes, am I right, ladies?

keep wrtingOf course, I think it also serves as photographic evidence of why writers need to remain behind the camera.

Sure, it’s fun to get up there in front of a live studio audience a couple of times a year, but I know I belong hidden in the crowd where the cameras cannot find me.

I don’t mind being recognized by the audience during a taping, but I’d prefer them to know me as the guy who wrote a hilarious joke, rather than as that dork who fumbled his lines up on stage.

What do you think of the photo, Modern Philosophers? Do I look homicidal to you?  Do I have the Crazy Eyes?  Is Danny in any immediate danger?  How do you think you’d react to being up in front of the cameras and a packed house?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to They Called Him Crazy Eyes And Hid Him In The Writers’ Room

  1. grannyK says:

    I would no like it one bit! I would probably get sick and then pass out lol. Your eyes do look intense, but maybe nerves? Not murder in there, I don’t think.

  2. Pamela Edwards says:

    This made me laugh Austin . Your a funny guy !

  3. Oh yes… very sinister. :O)

  4. markbialczak says:

    I think you should have worn a nicer shirt if you knew you were going to be on TV, Austin! How are you going to make hay without being totally spiffy in attire when you’re on the tube (and on your dating profile(? Just saying.

    • Austin says:

      Because I was appearing as a member of the writing staff, and that’s how writers dress. We don’t have the money for nice clothes!

      • markbialczak says:

        You own one! You have to own one, Austin!! The heck with the Devil. I think you need me as your wingman in this dating thing. Married Mark makes Austin spiff up.

      • Austin says:

        I’m not the type to dress up. That shirt is new and it was clean. Perfect for late night TV.

      • markbialczak says:

        You were going to be standing next to a man in a suit. (Even with trousers around his shoulders, still, a suit.) People will see the contrast. … OK, I see the wing man job here is challenging. 🙂

  5. I didn’t even noticed the slacks around his neck, which leads me to believe there is more to that story then to yours?

  6. AthenaC says:

    Oh. See, I would have labeled that look “longing and desire.” Which might explain why I am a terrible people-reader – it’s a wonder I manage to function in society at all.

  7. D. Parker says:

    I wouldn’t so far as to use crazy, more like powerful, as though you’re willing him to stop talking. 😉

  8. You do look homicidal, but just slightly. And yeah, I also belong behind the cameras. They freak me out.

  9. jan says:

    I don’t know – “stable blind date” sounds like a clydesdale with blinders on pulling a Coors wagon. Why not go with lovable, funny dude with showbiz job?

  10. ksbeth says:

    i think you look like great fun and it’s the perfect online dating photo.

Leave a comment