Monday Morning Coffee Club: 4/27/15

Giant mugHappy Monday, Modern Philosophers!

I thought I’d try something different this week, and serve you up something positive to go with your Monday morning coffee.

I’m not saying it’s going to be a regular change, but I’ll give it a shot…

One positive thing about this week is that it is a short one in terms of work.  I will only be chained to my desk for two and a half days, with early parole on Wednesday.

The Nite Show tapes on Wednesday, so I’m out early that day for the taping, and then I’m taking my usual Writer’s Day Holiday on Thursday.  This time around, I’m also taking a vacation day on Friday.  Should be a nice mini vacation.

Since the show tapes on Wednesday, I have been in full Writer’s Mode, cranking out monologue jokes.  I have already submitted batches for the first two shows, and plan to tackle the third one tonight.  Then, I can go back and take another pass at all three.

It was a great weekend because my beloved Yankees took two out of three from their crosstown rivals in the Subway Series.  After a very slow start, the Bronx Bombers have won 8 out of their last 10 games, knocking off the mighty Mets and Tigers in the process.

I’ve always considered paying for the MLB Extra Innings package on my cable, but between ESPN, MLB Network, Fox Sports, and NESN, I have been able to watch almost every Yankees game this season on my regular cable package.

YankeesThat means a little extra money for my toga budget, and I get to feel like I’m back in New York since I can watch my favorite team almost every night.

I also spent a lot of time this weekend mentally outlining a new story idea.  I’m not one for typing outlines, but I do like to work things out in my head a little before I start putting words to paper.

This would be the book I’ve wanted to write based upon the blog.  I’ve had a few ideas scampering about in my head for a while, but it really seems to be coming together now.  It’s always exciting when I can find ways to bring together several snippets of ideas, and link them into a story chain strong enough to support an entire project.

I’ll keep you updated on this one, as I’m hoping there will be some interest from my loyal blog followers for this book.

That’s about it for now.  The coffee is ready, so stop by The House on the Hill any time to have a cup.  I saw Seamus running around the house earlier, and Waltzing Matilda said something about stopping by this afternoon to say hello.

Mingle with your fellow bloggers, enjoy the java, and do your best to get through another Monday.  Remember, there’s only 17 hours left, so the day is practically over.

UGH!  It wouldn’t be a real Coffee Club post without at least one of those, right?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 4/27/15

  1. Christie says:

    I would read your book for sure. In fact, I enjoy your writing so much I have made a complete switch in my morning routine. Instead of Facebook and Words With Friends with my morning cuppa….I read your blog. Much better start to the day!

    Happy Monday!

  2. Now I’m intrigued, buddy! Looking forward to what may be coming forth from your blog-story ideas… keep the coffee warm, you know I’ll always tip back a cup of java with you. White with one, please. But real sugar. Life’s too short for artificial sweeteners! Mother Hen

  3. floridaborne says:

    I got the whole 4 1/2 hours sleep last night. Sucking in the Stash Irish Breakfast, high caffeine content tea this morning.

    I’ve no doubt you’ll have an agent for your book in no time, and a publisher that will help you handle marketing. Lucky guy!

  4. Pamela Edwards says:

    Austin , I’m intrigued already . Book you say ? Yes of course you can write & write well , so why not a book ! Looking forward to hearing more about it as project develops .

  5. Love it when ideas perk and you can hardly sit still and have to pace as you work them out. I look forward to hearing more. 😀

  6. I’d say congrats to your Yankees but you know, I think they are just all of the worst. 😉

    Happy Monday, Austin!

  7. jan says:

    It’s a great feeling when story ideas start to jive together! Keep on going…

  8. JED says:

    The book sounds like a great idea. Connecting the dots that are your blog into a full fledged, printed product I’m sure would be exciting and your loyal followers are eager with anticipation.

    However that logo about halfway through your post upset me a bit. Need to get rid of that as soon as possible. I’m sure you can pick up a red B one about anywhere around your neighborhood. It would fit in much nicer.

  9. markbialczak says:

    Congratulations on your Yankees taking the rubber game, Austin. Dagnabbit.

Leave a Reply

