Weird Al Visits The Nite Show!

Weird Al 1Happy Writer’s Day, Modern Philosophers!

Last night’s taping of The Nite Show With Danny Cashman was utterly epic.  So much so that I didn’t even have the energy to write about it when I returned to The House on the Hill.

As you can see from the photo, Weird Al Yankovic visited the show via Skype!

How totally cool is that?  The audience at The Gracie Theatre went absolutely nuts!  This is what you miss when you don’t join me at a taping, Modern Philosophers…

Danny had spent the week on social media teasing a very special cameo during the taping.  I chose not to pester him about it because I wanted to be just as surprised as the rest of the audience when the guest was revealed.

Let me set it up for you.  Luke Mallett of The Mallett Brothers Band was Danny’s first guest.  They got to talking about how Jimmy Fallon and Justin Timberlake do their History of Rap bits on The Tonight Show.

Nite Show DuetNext thing you know, Danny and Luke are at center stage doing a duet of Weird Al’s songs. How could you not love that?

The audience was totally into it, clapping along with the singing.

Luke’s singing was very good.  Danny might want to stick to being the host and leave the singing to the musical guests.

It didn’t matter how off tune Danny was because everyone loves Weird Al’s songs.  However, they did particularly butcher Amish Paradise.

That was when the familiar Skype ring filled The Gracie Theatre.  The next thing we knew, Weird Al himself was on the monitors critiquing Luke and Danny.

Weird Al.  On The Nite Show.

Yes, this really happened.

Weird Al 2Of course, Weird Al had to show the guys how it was done.  So, he launched into Amish Paradise.

Now the crowd was really going wild, clapping along, and taking pictures of Weird Al as he serenaded us from the monitors.

But that wasn’t all.

The backdrop raised to reveal a choir, and they sang background vocals to Weird Al’s lead.  It was awesome!

I know I’m geeking out a bit here, Modern Philosophers, but I love Weird Al, and the fact that he would appear on our late night show in Maine proved that he is a great guy.

And how about Luke Mallett?  The Mallett Brothers Band is probably the most popular group in Maine, and he’s up there on stage in an Amish hat, covering a Weird Al classic.

Dan and LukeDid you ever wonder what Danny might look like in an Amish hat and beard?  Well, wonder no more, Modern Philosophers!

This is the kind of entertainment The Nite Show brings to the people of Maine on a regular basis.  Do you now understand why I enjoy working on the show so much?

To top off the night for me, Danny used the time travel joke I wrote!

As you might recall, when I appeared on the show two weeks ago, I talked about how I keep peppering Danny with jokes about Zombies, time travel, and Star Wars and then wait to see how long it takes for him to crack and finally use one.

Success!  I slipped one time travel joke and one Star Wars joke into my batches (I couldn’t find a good way to work in the Zombies this time!), and one came out a winner.

Don’t worry, I’ll share the Star Wars joke in an upcoming Sunday Rejects posts.

choir 2Sounds like a great night, right?  Believe it or not, it ended up getting even better on a personal note, Modern Philosophers, but I don’t want to say anything yet out of fear of jinxing it.

Let’s just say, that as hard as it might be to believe, Weird Al might not have been the highlight of my evening…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Weird Al Visits The Nite Show!

  1. Anita Stout says:

    Shut up! What’s her name? That sounds like an epic evening alright. I can’t wait for the joke.

  2. AthenaC says:

    That is AWESOME!!! I am so jealous – in a good way, of course!

    I love Weird Al so much that I mixed some of his songs into the playlist for my wedding reception. (It was my ONE Bridezilla moment and I am not ashamed!) One of my favorite memories from the reception is dancing shoulder-to-shoulder with my brother to “Party in the CIA.”

  3. I love the Weird Al Yankovic parody videos!

    I’m glad the show recording went well and you had a blast. This is a cause for celebration! *Drags the boombox out from the attic and pops open the champagne*

  4. I get it. Mum is the word. I don’t want to jinx it either. Can’t wait to hear details, though. 🙂

  5. The Cutter says:

    Awesome! I actually just wrote a tribute to Weird Al yesterday. He’s maybe my favorite singer ever. So I can’t imagine what happened that was even better than that.

  6. JED says:

    That sounds pretty epic. I grew up on Weird Al and he made me realize you can make anything your own with a little imagination. Can’t wait to hear more.

  7. markbialczak says:

    Weird Al was a peach to appear via Skype, Austin. Sounds like a winner of a show. I can’t wait to hear your even bigger news. No jinxing. Knock on wood!

  8. I ADORE Weird Al and have since the ’80s. But having one of your time travel jokes used is what truly made the evening epic.

  9. Pingback: News - New At Unicorn Booty: A Whole Bunch of Stuff! - Kittysneezes

Leave a Reply

