Friday Night Think Tank: The Mother of all Posts

Doc BrownHappy Friday, Modern Philosophers!

We’ve made it through another work week, and now we get to advance to the Weekend Bonus Round, where prizes are doubled and the fun is exponentially increased.

As you know, Sunday is Mother’s Day, so I decided that our Deep Thoughts tonight should focus on our Moms.

Put on your Deep Thinking Toga (make sure it’s clean, or Mom is going to be very disappointed!) and meet me in the Think Tank for our Weekly Philosophical Exercise.

Do me a favor, and don’t tell Oedipus to join us.Β  Something tells me he would totally dominate the conversation, and the rest of us wouldn’t get a word in edgewise…

This week’s topic: If you could share one story about your Mother what would best sum her up for the group, what would it be?Β  Feel free to gush about what makes your Mom so amazing…

Mother’s Day is always a very sad Holiday at The House on the Hill since my Mom died when I was three, and I have absolutely no memory of her.

MomI did, however, recently find this photo of her holding me, and I keep it on the door of the fridge so that I can look at her loving smile every day.

My friend Donna once referred to me as a Motherless Boy, and while I couldn’t tell if it was a compliment or an insult at the time, I now understand that it sums me up very well.

When I first started seeing Dr. Jekyll after my divorce, I boldly told him that my Mother’s death had not had any affect on my life since I have no memory of her.

He pointed out how very wrong I was about that.

Apparently, losing my Mom at such an early age had a major impact on me and affected every important female relationship I’ve ever had.

For someone who prides himself on being a generator of Deep Thoughts and a Modern Philosopher, I was a naive idiot on that particular one.

I chose this topic for this week’s Think Tank because I want to read about how much you love your Mothers, and to get a better understanding of what it’s like to be loved unconditionally like that.

So please share your stories and don’t worry that they might upset me.Β  I want to hear them, and enjoy this Mother’s Day vicariously through you, my loyal readers.

Happy Mother’s Day!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: The Mother of all Posts

  1. susielindau says:

    I think if there are people who love you unconditionally in your life, you will be okay. There are a lot of mothers who should never have children. I’m sorry to hear yours never had a chance. Mine is wonderful, although we have our differences.

  2. Mindy says:

    I can’t say that my relationship with my mom has always been easy, but ever since she got cancer, we’ve been pretty close. It’s amazing to see the things that she’s overcome and dealt with since she’s pretty much on her own in a country she wasn’t born in. My mom is truly inspirational, and I’m sure yours was as well. πŸ™‚

  3. Joseph Nebus says:

    My mother had gone into the bathroom. She heard meowing. There weren’t any cats around. The meowing continued. She looked up. One of the cats had gotten itself onto the shower door’s frame. My mother looked at it and said, “You got yourself up there. You can get yourself down.”

    A bit later she saw the cat wandering around back on its normal floor.

    I should say I think we-her-kids grew up reasonably well self-confident and independent.

  4. Christie says:

    I’m so sorry Austin that you lost your mom at so young an age, I can’t imagine how hard it must have been to grow up without her.

    My mom drives me nuts, but I love her. I don’t always like her, but I suppose it’s that way with all mothers and daughters. It can be a very difficult relationship. I’m sure I drive my daughter nuts too.

    Now, being the mother of boys, that’s something I can tell you about. Boys hold a very special place in the hearts of their moms. And just by looking at the picture of your mom holding you I can tell she loved you so very much. You were her moon and her stars and every wonderful thing in the world all wrapped up in a perfect little package. That is something you can be sure of, even if you don’t remember her.

  5. ….and may I propose that anything we write, we all share with our mothers if possible. Thanks for props to the Moms here!

  6. Brenda says:

    My mom lost five babies through miscarriage and stillbirth and became depressed and bitter for a time. My formative years were spent mostly one-on-one with her in a sad environment. She muddled through, and got better over time. I have happy memories with her as she worked hard at making holidays and birthdays special for us, but she still was unhappy beneath the surface. When I got into my preteen years, she experienced a radical spiritual transformation. She became the biggest fan of every family member. She perfected the art of catching us doing something good and pointing out our gifts, talents and character strengths. She loved me unconditionally and forgave everything. She passed away at 62, when I was 32, and I miss her everyday.

  7. I lost my grandmother when I was five and even though I was so little, I’ll never forget how devastated my Mom was. As I got older I learned that my mother just doesn’t talk about that or anything else. She does not reminisce, share stories of her childhood nor talk about her pregnancies and the deliveries of her six children. When asked the comments are “that was a long time ago” and “”I don’t know, they knocked you out in those days and handed you a baby when you woke up”.
    She is not sentimental and is a stoic and stubborn Irish woman. In other words, she takes care of everything and everyone and doesn’t ask for anything in return. We weren’t coddled like an egg but we are still her little chickadees. She is always there to help and loves us in her own quiet way. She hangs out with me at yard sales and still does my mending. She doesn’t talk a lot but she does hum along with the sewing machine. I know she loves being a Mom and I don’t know what I’d do without her.

  8. JED says:

    My mom has always been mom, no matter if those in need were her kids or not. She has worked all her life to take care of her family never thinking about herself. She has showed me how to treat and respect others, how to care for those that care for me and how to be strong through the toughest times. Over the last year plus since losing our dad she has started to show signs of life catching up to her. I think not having anyone to take care of is the toughest thing she has ever faced. I can’t imagine her not having been there in my life and I cherish every day she is.

  9. I did not hit “Like” because I feel so sad for you for losing your mother at such a young age, and I seem to remember from other posts that instead you got a Stepmonster. My mother is pretty terrific, and “adopts” most of our close friends, especially those who have lost their mother. So any time you’d like to borrow her, you probably could.

  10. hollie says:

    My mom has a lot of redeeming qualities, but mostly she makes people laugh. This story sums her up pretty well… https://myblogismyboyfriend.wordpress.com/2014/12/17/blow-up-dolls-my-mom-and-dog-whispering/. I don’t know anyone else who could manage to set her crotch ablaze in a drive through, or mow down a midget with a shopping cart, or think that kosher dill pickles are not for gentiles to eat. She’s something else. I shudder to think what Owen might tell people when asked that question when he is older. He did give me my baseball wine glass today for mother’s day and said I was the best mother ever because I put a new pair of shorts into the shopping cart today without him asking!

  11. My mother felt air conditioning for the first time in the hospital the day I was born. She was the first in her family to graduate college (summa cum laude). I will miss her when the alzheimer’s finally takes her away. She has a great sense of humor and work ethic. She is one of those honest to goodness ‘really nice people’

  12. I don’t have one particular story about my mom. To sum it up she taught me everything I’ve learned about being kind and generous. Her quiet strength (a strength she didn’t realize she had until much later in her life) was enough to keep me from picking up the negative traits of my other parent.

  13. AthenaC says:

    Prizes are doubled! Does that mean I get double your attention when I post a comment?

    Anyway, I don’t know if this will help or if this is what you’re looking for, but I do not feel the love from my mother at all. She was always very cold, distant, ruthlessly practical, and eminently unreasonable about everything. I understood intellectually that she loved me, but I didn’t feel that way at all. Even now that we are past the nasty relationship we used to have and have grown into a cordial, arm’s-length relationship, I have never heard “I love you” from her and she never hugs me. In fact, she has shared with me her disdain for physical affection, conventional expressions of love, and positive emotions in general. As someone who thrives on affection, she and I were not a good match for a good mother-daughter relationship.

    I would look around and see so many people who had good relationships with their parents – friendly, respectful, affectionate, and I still wonder what that would feel like. I’m past the point where I feel envious and I’ve grown out of dwelling on it very much, but I still wonder sometimes.

    At this point, all I can do is try to create the family I always wanted to grow up in – lots of love, lots of talking, lots of affection. My kids seem to love it!

  14. List of X says:

    My mom told me I shouldn’t talk to strange philosophers. πŸ™‚

  15. floridaborne says:

    Well, that explains why my daughter asked me what I wanted for mother’s day. πŸ™‚

    My mom used one of the early computers in 1992 to write her memories about her life and my father’s life. That was the best gift she could give to her children and grandchildren.

  16. My mom died 30 years ago this July and I still miss her terribly every day. We didn’t always have a great relationship but I always knew she loved me no matter what. The relationship I had with my dad, however, was never good, nothing I did was good enough, that’s why I generally visited mom when he was at work. I have so many great memories of my mom, and she knew anything we talked about would never go outside the room we were in. I still haven’t told another soul the secrets we shared. I definitely won’t tell my dad, nor will I miss him half as much as I miss mom.

  17. Austin, as I read your line about “getting a better understanding of what it’s like to be loved unconditionally” that’s just what I was thinking as I wrote a post for my mom this morning. I’ll launch it tonight or tomorrow. She is a saint and I am one of the lucky ones. And, in that photo of you and your mom… she has that same look in her eyes…and in her smile…unconditional love. πŸ™‚

  18. Ramya says:

    My mom has always told me to follow you gut instict for all situations in life

  19. Pamela Edwards says:

    You can see the love on your Mom’s face & in her beautiful smile while she looks at you Austin , I can see why you put the pic where you could see it everyday . It’s lovely . My Mama passed just a few years ago from Alzheimers . She worked hard her whole life while raising 7 children . She made the most of what we had & taught us the importance of working hard & having a good name . My Mama & I were very close since i was her baby of the 7 . I miss her very much . When she became ill with Alzheimers i put my life on hold & helped care for her so she didn’t have to go into a nursing facility. I don’t regret a minute , one day i was cleaning her up & she said to me ” Pam honey you shouldn’t have to do this ” . I said ” Mama how many times did you do this for me when i was a baby ” ? She looked at me and smiled , then said ” I’ve lost count ” . Then i told her ” Mama , it’s my turn to take care of you now ” . ❀

  20. markbialczak says:

    You had your mom’s unconditional love for three years, Austin, and the look in her eyes in the photo tells how strong it was. It did good things for you in ways you don’t know and can’t describe, I’d venture to guess. And you have it now, since you’ve found the picture and put it up on the fridge. I hope that feels good.

    I remember the day my father took my mother to the hospital to have my first sister, when I was 8, and I went off to walk to school after they told me my grandmother would be there by the time I got home from school. When I walked back in, my mother was in the kitchen, big in the belly as ever! I was, like, where’s the baby! False alarm, she said, laughing at me. I remember being happy and sad at the same time.

Leave a Reply

