I Advise You To Listen To Your Mother!

BlutoHappy Mother’s Day, Modern Philosophers!

In honor of the Holiday, I’m going to do something different with my Sunday “I Advise” column.

That’s the great thing about having a blog.  You get to be the boss and change the rules whenever you see fit.  A little like being a Mother.

This week, instead of answering a letter from a reader, I’m just going to tell it to you straight…

I advise you to listen to your Mother!

Why ask a total stranger on the internet for advice?   Regardless of how witty, right, and handsome he always is, why not seek out words of wisdom from the woman who gave birth to you, raised you, and loves you unconditionally?

No one knows you better than your Mom.  Sure, that might be difficult to swallow at times, but she has been there for you, understands your needs, and gets how your mind works.  She’s not going to steer you wrong.

Okay, she might try to guide you away from taking big risks, or dating that guy with the face tattoo who drives a Harley, but she’s only doing that out of love.

Love trumps Deep Thoughts every time.

Of course, I’m still here for you when you need a second opinion, or if Mom can’t figure out how to return your text to give you advice.  Those new smartphones are confusing.

But in the end, we all know that a Mother’s advice is better than a Modern Philosopher’s any day of the week.  Now if you can get your Mom to start reading this blog and become a Modern Philosopher, then you will really be in the catbird seat.

I used the term “catbird seat” because I thought your Mom might think such a phrase to really be the cat’s pajamas.

Have a wonderful Mother’s Day, everyone!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Advise You To Listen To Your Mother!

  1. Amy Reese says:

    Thank you. Moms do know best. Now I just need my son to read this so he’ll listen to me.

  2. SD Gates says:

    It took me about 25 years to figure out my Mum was right about everything. I don’t know how she does it. It’s kind of scary!

  3. Melissa says:

    ” When you thought I wasn’t looking
    You hung my first painting on the refrigerator
    And I wanted to paint another.
    When you thought I wasn’t looking
    You fed a stray cat
    And I thought it was good to be kind to animals.
    When you thought I wasn’t looking
    You baked a birthday cake just for me
    And I knew that little things were special things.
    When you thought I wasn’t looking
    You said a prayer
    And I believed there was a God that I could always talk to.
    When you thought I wasn’t looking
    You kissed me good-night
    And I felt loved.
    When you thought I wasn’t looking
    I saw tears come from your eyes
    And I learned that sometimes things hurt””
    But that it’s alright to cry.
    When you thought I wasn’t looking
    You smiled
    And it made me want to look that pretty too.
    When you thought I wasn’t looking
    You cared
    And I wanted to be everything I could be.
    When you thought I wasn’t looking””
    I looked . . .
    And wanted to say thanks
    For all those things you did
    When you thought I wasn’t looking”
    (poem by Mary Rita Schilke Korzan )

Leave a Reply

