Monday Morning Coffee Club: 5/11/15

Giant mugI was not quite ready to obey the call of the alarm clock, Modern Philosophers.

After all, it is Monday.

UGH!

Spring has definitely arrived at The House on the Hill.  My eyes are itchy and watery, and the tears aren’t because it’s Monday and the weekend is over.  My allergies, which make their triumphant return for about a week every year around this time, have finally decided to make an appearance.

It’s no big deal.  I just take some allergy pills and think about how much better this is than shoveling snow.

Yesterday was the first real scorcher of the year.  I went out for my morning run dressed for the chillier weather that has become the norm around these parts, but I was way overdressed.  To the point that I was stripping down along my running route.

Austin sweatyCheck out this photo of me after my run.

I was definitely a sweaty mess, but at least I got out there and allowed the sun to work its magic on me.

By reactivating my sweat glands, I probably left a good ten to fifteen pounds of perspiration out on the streets of town.  I feel much thinner already.

Last night was the first night of the year that sleep was a problem because of the heat.  Thankfully, I didn’t have to get out the fan because it’s way too early in the game for that.

That’s why I wasn’t ready to answer the call of my alarm clock this morning.  I’d finally fallen asleep and settled into bizarre dream mode.  The stories playing in my head were far too interesting to replace with having to go to work.

UGH!

At least my Monday is a mini work week.  I have tomorrow off because we’re doing a special afternoon taping of The Nite Show.  This edition is aimed at high school kids, so we are taping at a time when they can join us at the Gracie Theatre right after school.

That should be fun.  Danny sent over the monologue topics this morning, so I’ll spend tonight and tomorrow morning coming up with new jokes.  I’m pretty immature, so it should be easy to write jokes for the high school crowd.

MondayThen I’ll just have a three day work week to survive.  Not the worst Monday scenario that I’ve faced over the years, Modern Philosophers.   I think I can handle it.

It looks like rain this morning, which should cool off things and make my allergies a little less annoying.

With the way things are looking up, I’d swear it was Tuesday…

As always, there is plenty of coffee in the kitchen, so help yourselves.  Flag down an intern if you need anything.  Do your best to forget that it’s Monday.

Remember, there’s only 17 hours left to this horrible day!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 5/11/15

  1. I hope you are going to post some of those jokes that you write for the high-schoolers!

  2. adamjasonp says:

    Despite the heat, I was able to sleep…poorly.

  3. kmunse says:

    Top of the mornin to ya! I am a substitute teacher over at the public high school so I will be anxiously waiting to hear more about tomorrow’s taping. Send details please and don’t you have air conditioning? I usually crank mine down to about 60 in the summer. Always feels good at night.

    • Austin says:

      In 11 years of living in Maine, I have yet to have an AC. It costs so much to heat The House on the Hill all winter, that I hate the idea of paying to make it cool!

  4. My daughter’s family have had the a/c working for about a week already. Do yourself a favor and put on that fan so you can sleep better.
    Want to hear about the jokes and the taping as well.

  5. jan says:

    Meanwhile out here in wacky San Francisco it is freezing and windy.

  6. Joseph Nebus says:

    Aw, I’m usually pretty good on Mondays. I think that’s from being able to stay fairly level so I come out ahead of everyone having a Monday sort of Monday.

  7. Oh, I could USE a cup of coffee right now! Unfortunately, it is now 6:39 p.m. and I have to go to bed in about an hour. Never mind. It is not too early in the game for fans: we have deployed all of ours (bedroom, two in living room plus ceiling, and computer room). Allergies, yes, dreadful. My sympathies. Running, oh dear, must do that too. Enjoy your week.

  8. Pamela Edwards says:

    We are getting a heat wave the first of this week too . It was 90° yesterday and suppose to be the same today . Ugh ! Much cooler by Wednesday. Hopefully it cools off for you . Have a great week Austin !

  9. E.L. Wicker says:

    Did you say ‘Heat’? It cannot be!! Lol. Glad you have some finer weather now 🙂

Leave a Reply

