The Joy of Writing

keep wrtingI’ve got a busy night ahead of me, Modern Philosophers, writing monologue jokes for tomorrow’s special high school themed edition of The Nite Show, but I wanted to take a minute to write a post for the blog.

I’ve really enjoyed writing the blog lately, and I wanted to share that with you.  Fairly recently, I was giving some serious thought to stepping away from the blog for a bit to focus on other projects.

Blogging wasn’t fun anymore, and it seemed like so much work just to get my writing out there in hopes of having it read.  However, so many of you urged me not to put the blog on the back burner, and I decided to stick with it.

Last week ended up being a great week.  I made an executive decision to stay away from the blog’s regular characters and ongoing mythology, and write some stand alone posts like I’d done when I first started this little adventure.

bad dateWhat a hoot!  I especially enjoyed writing the dating tips posts.  I took something that has been a big problem in my life, and turned it into laughs.  If you haven’t read those posts, I strongly urge you to do so…they could save your life if you’re out there in the dating world!

I also enjoyed writing last night’s entry in my Sundays With Satan Short Story Series.

The Mother’s Day themed post, At Least He’s Not A Total Mother, had a unique twist to it that no one has mention yet in the comments.  So maybe it’s not as cool as I thought it was, but it made the story a challenge to write.

It’s the first story in the series in which I don’t have a single line of dialogue.  The Devil speaks every word in the tale, which wasn’t intended when I sat down to write it, but it just seemed like an interesting way to convey how difficult Mother’s Day is for me.

When writing is a challenge, I love it!

I even came up with another silly blog contest.  Have you entered yet, Modern Philosophers?  All the details are in Saturday’s Jump Start Your Brain post.

Perhaps my favorite writing news of the week, though, is that I finally started on the book I’ve been wanting to write!  I was able to get 4000 words down on the page over the weekend, and I haven’t really even begun to tell the tale.

My plan is to turn it into a series of e-books, so I shall keep you posted.

Austin sketchOf course, now I need to turn my focus to writing monologue jokes for tomorrow’s taping of The Nite Show.  Ideas have been popping into my head all day, so I’ve been scribbling notes on post-its and shoving them into my wallet.

I even stopped at the grocery store on the way home for some chocolate because I knew I was going to need the sugar rush, as I fully intend to spend some quality time cranking out the funny.

Right now, I really love being a writer, Modern Philosophers!  Do you ever get on a roll like this where the ideas will just not stop flowing from your brain to the page!

Thanks, as always, for your support.  I look forward to entertaining you with my silly stories not only on this blog, but also in e-books and up on the big screen!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to The Joy of Writing

  1. Well, I did have a similar experience today at work. I spent my lunch period working on my articles for “Mohawk Valley Living.” They went very well (I worked on all three). The go back to work buzzer surprised me. I walked away from the break area thinking (and feeling), “I’m really a very good writer.” Glad to hear you’re having such fun with it. Now I have to write my own blog post…

  2. ksbeth says:

    i’m happy to read you are happy, austin )

  3. markbialczak says:

    Go with the buzz, Austin. Momentum tends to build. Who knows what great things will happen next, my friend, as the big writing mountain continues to rise.

  4. floridaborne says:

    When you get on that writing roll there’s nothing like it! Better than a runner’s high.

    I remember high school. It was about the closest thing to hell I could imagine. The only saving grace about living through the experience is seeing all those smug, popular girls try to relive the crowning glory of their lives one more time at the reunions. It’s hard to have empathy. I suppose you can say that Karma was a bitch and now she’s just a pitiful has-been.

  5. You ever get on such a writing roll that you can’t stand it and have to go for run? As if you will explode.

    • Austin says:

      I actually go for a run when I’m not on a roll because I find that plotting out a story is a great distraction to keep me from realizing I’m running. 🙂

  6. Mary-Anne says:

    👍

  7. D. Parker says:

    Great to hear and good for us as readers too. 🙂

  8. Pamela Edwards says:

    You are doing a great job Austin ! Always enjoy reading your work .

  9. jan says:

    I think I missed your Mother’s day post so I will check it out. I can’t control what comes out either.

    • Austin says:

      It just keeps coming. I wrote about 3500 words of my ebook today, two blog posts, and a bunch of monologue jokes. And went to the taping and did a 3 mile run.

      • jan says:

        Better lay low! If the shopping channel hears they may decide to kidnap and sell you in pill form! ; ) Congrats – love those kind of days!

      • Austin says:

        Thanks, Jan. Just trying to figure out why my old post on a guy who murders his imaginary friends has 40 views in the past hour…

  10. jan says:

    The internet is the final frontier. One of my most popular posts was Giant Red Haired Cannibals. Huh?

  11. You were just in a little valley there, Austin. It’s great to hear you back in peak condition. Keep up the good writing!

  12. Congrats on getting that book started!
    I truly loved your Mother piece – it had a Faustus feel to it. I need to go read again as my little brain must have missed the twist.
    I do enjoy your writing and can almost hear you speak the words. True talent, Austin. You can’t leave…we just met!!

Leave a Reply

