Let’s Take This Show Back To The Future!

Nite Show prepHappy Writer’s Day, Modern Philosophers!

I’m doing this one a little differently because today’s taping of The Nite Show With Danny Cashman takes place at the Gracie Theatre at 2:30.  Danny is doing a special high school themed edition of the show, and I can’t be late because I do not want to get detention!

I started off my Writer’s Day in ideal fashion.  I reached for the laptop and wrote several new monologue jokes without even getting out of bed.  Don’t you just love modern technology?

It’s been so much fun writing high school themed jokes, and I hope Danny uses several of them.  While I did not have a horrible high school experience, seeing as how I went to an all boys’ Jesuit school on the Upper East Side of Manhattan, I still had plenty of memories from that time in my life to draw upon for these jokes.

And the best part of it all is that Danny is the one who actually has to tell them, so it will seem like my embarrassing experiences were actually his.

Austin sketchSince there is a journey back to high school involved, you know there’s at least one time travel joke in the batch.  I also managed to sneak in a Star Wars one!

I haven’t wasted the day waiting for the taping.  I have been hard at work on that book I’ve mentioned.  My sweet blogger friend Emma was patient enough to walk me through setting up the proper format on my laptop for an e-book.  Thank you, Emma.

Once I stopped being Mr. Computer Incompetent, I wrote about 1200 words, bringing me  past the 5000 word mark.  I’ve got the next few chapters already worked out in my head, so hopefully, I will get even more down on the page tonight.

I did swap my usual pre-show meal of Little Caesar’s Pizza for Chinese food, and I think that was an excellent call.  Sometimes, a guy is just in the mood for sesame chicken.

keep wrtingIt’s time to get ready for the taping.  I will do my best to share photos and tweet from the Gracie.  If you don’t already follow me on Twitter, you should really do so now.

There’s a helpful little button over in the right margin to help with the process.

Happy Writer’s Day!  Talk to you again after the show!

That is, if I don’t have to stay after to help finish up the yearbook..

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Let’s Take This Show Back To The Future!

  1. List of X says:

    Let’s hope Danny doesn’t reject any of your high school jokes, otherwise we’d learn all about your embarrassing school experiences from your Rejects post. 🙂

  2. I don’t know what to say… ‘Fans everywhere! I have graced your lives for 3 years now, and not once a hot dog or a milk shake!’ LOL! Be sure you are completly satisfied with the formating, white space etc.. before you get to far into it. ‘Indesign’ is an excellent program to compose a book in. Keep on tapping :O)

  3. markbialczak says:

    I hope you didn’t get confused for the mean assistant principal, Austin. Or the goofy janitor!

  4. D. Parker says:

    Hope the show goes well, Austin.
    Can’t wait to hear the ‘rejects’. 🙂
    Does Barry Manilow know Danny raids his wardrobe? No? Worth a shot. 😉

  5. Fingerling says:

    MMMMMMM Little Caesar’s………

  6. E.L. Wicker says:

    You’re most welcome, Austin – any time! And thank you for the mention 🙂

Leave a Reply

