Monday Morning Coffee Club: 5/18/15

Giant mugI honestly cannot believe that it is Monday again, Modern Philosophers.

UGH!

When the alarm clock went off, I actually refused to get out of bed until I did the mental math to prove to myself that it was, in fact, the most horrible day of the week.

UGH!

It has been more difficult to motivate myself to go to work lately.  That has a lot to do with the fact that I’ve been writing more.  When I get on a roll with my writing, I convince myself that I should be able to support myself full time with my writing career, and it upsets me when the mental math proves otherwise.

So for now, at least, Monday must continue to be the ferryman waiting to transport me across the black lake that separates Writing World from the Work World.

UGH!

Tuesday’s taping of The Nite Show went very well.  The high school audience was quite enthusiastic about the show, and it was nice to hear the younger crowd laughing at my jokes.  I guess I’m still hip.

This weekend, I focused on the novel I’m writing.  I sat down and read everything I’d written so far, and was quite happy with the story.  I made some tweaks along the way, but I have to admit that I was surprised with how much I enjoyed it.

You know what it’s like to read your own work, Modern Philosophers.  It makes sense when it’s all in your head, but then there’s that anxiety of how it’s going to translate once it goes from being brain stew to becoming actual words on the page.

I pressed on and wrote even more, pushing my word count past 9,000.  Writing in this format is a real change from screenwriting.  In a screenplay, less is more.  I cannot convey a character’s thoughts and everything has to come across in words and actions.

In a novel, though, I can really get inside my narrator’s head, which is fun since the narrator in the story is me.  Digging around my Deep Thoughts is always a blast, and I get to use one of my favorite storytelling tools…the dream sequence.

MondayI love writing about my dreams, and those passages in the tale have been my favorite thus far.

Speaking of dreams, I had a wild one last night.  I was a paleontologist overseeing a new dinosaur exhibit at a museum.

The unique thing about it was that the display was outdoors to make it look like the dinosaurs were in their natural habitats.  The opening was at night, it was a black tie event, and there was going to be a laser light show and live music.

I’m sure a horrible, Jurassic Park type scenario would have developed had the alarm clock not cut off the dream.

UGH!

I also went running on Saturday and Sunday, which made it five days out of the last nine that I’ve put on my running toga and hit the road.  It was a bit of a struggle this weekend because my allergies were out of control.

It’s never a good thing when your nose runs faster than you do.  I’m still trying to find my stride, but at least I’m getting out there on a fairly regular basis again.

I added to my fitness routine by going for walks both nights.  The weather was so beautiful and it was a joy to just be outside and not dodging snow drifts and patches of ice.

I mowed the lawn for the first time this Spring.

UGH!

Lawn 5As it is called The House on the Hill, you might imagine that The Great Lawn is on a steep patch of land and not a joy to mow.

I survived, though, and the front lawn looks a million times better.

Don’t you just love this action photo of my lawn mowing skills?

Enough writing.  I’ve got to get worry for the ferry ride back to the Working World.

UGH!

Help yourselves to some coffee and try to remember that there are only seventeen more hours left to this evil day…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 5/18/15

  1. Catherine Johnson says:

    Good luck at work, Austin. Just keep thinking you get next Monday off.

  2. Don’t work too hard today. You worked mightily this weekend already. 😀

  3. floridaborne says:

    I was awakened by the 7:10 wake-up cat. 20 pounds of “feed me” pouncing on my chest.

  4. The first question I asked myself this morning–“am I tough enough for Monday?”

  5. Ocean Bream says:

    Brilliant and captivating photo! I got up at 6am today because I have to prepare for my driving test tomorrow! UGH. Also congratulations on exceeding your word limit! And I admire your fitness routine. I NEVER keep to my plans to go for runs, but I do exercise indoors. Keep it up! Monday will soon have passed you by! Until then, I wish you well.

  6. D. Parker says:

    Thanks for sharing your week and your Monday. It’s a holiday here in Canada, May 2-4, technically Victoria Day. 🙂

  7. My nose ALWAYS runs faster than I do, because I have terrible sinuses and I run very slowly. 9,000 words. Very impressive. You inspire me. I shall stop reading blogs and commenting and get back to writing myself.

  8. ksbeth says:

    sounds like a busy weekend. i’m sure the high school audience would be a great one. congrats on the writing progress and good luck with your allergies, i know your pain )

Leave a Reply

