Modern Philosopher Shark Swimmer Phortune Cookies

Fortune-cookie“He who swims with sharks, develops a better appreciation for the joy of running…”   — The Modern Philosopher

Happy Friday, Modern Philosophers!

It has been a long time since I shared some Deep Thoughts via the Modern Philosopher Phortune Cookie, but the time seemed right.

This one actually came to me while I was in the shower this morning.  Once again, inspiration hits at the oddest time.

I’m not really sure what it all means, but it did seem like something that needed to be shared so you can all form Deep Thoughts on it today.

One would assume it’s a metaphor, but I think the words will mean something different to everyone who reads it.

How about you tell me what you think these Words of Wisdom mean?  I’d love to read your take on it down in the comments section.

It will certainly make our Friday pass quicker if we are all generating Deep Thoughts and blocking out the stress of the outside world.  Before we know it, the long Memorial Day Weekend will have arrived.

So tell me what you think this quote means, Modern Philosophers.  I anxiously await your insights.  Remember, Deep Thoughts don’t always require water wings, and in this case, I think those wings would slow you down and make you shark bait…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Modern Philosopher Shark Swimmer Phortune Cookies

  1. kmunse says:

    It means that life could be worse so suck it up and try to enjoy.

  2. kmunse says:

    Austin…. you make me want to be a better wise person!

  3. Stick with what you know, the grass isn’t always greener… 😉

  4. grannyK says:

    Even if you dislike something you must do, there is always something worse you could be doing!

  5. hollie says:

    I think it means you’re afraid of water, and are trying to psyche yourself up for a run. I got one yesterday that said new financial resources would soon be available to me. I hope this means I’ll get one of those jobs I applied for in Wichita!

  6. Oh wow… a bit deep and meaningful for a Friday. I think it means don’t always stay on the safe side of the fence, do something that scares you …it might actually make you stronger *coughs* Or …you could just get eaten by a shark.

    Happy Friday, my friend. I hope you’re having a good one!

  7. I love it!
    It means that if you are brave enough to venture out into real world, and deal with people who may or may not take you down – people gunning after interests than can be unaligned or the complete opposite of your own, you learn to value yourself every time your own wits and savvy save you from dangerous situations.

  8. mcowder says:

    Going through the tough times, makes you appreciate the easier times in life. So never take any of the easier moments for granted.

  9. jan says:

    No deep thoughts from this end of the shark pool today…

  10. My wife doesn’t like to fly. It’s not that she is afraid of the crash, but rather she is afraid of the sharks that might eat her on the off chance we crash in the ocean. She doesn’t swim in open water.

  11. I find it to be an odd yet satisfying mixture of metaphorical and literal. Swimming with the sharks is a metaphor for anything stressful, especially in the workaday world. Most of us runners know that moment, for me it comes maybe 25 minutes into the run, especially after a mean hill, when your body just kind of relaxes into it and you think, “Aaah, this is just what I needed.”

  12. marjma2014 says:

    Could it mean your fellow runners competing against you are a bunch of sharks so watch out for them? !!! Or it could mean you’re better of running alone with no sharks in tow! Perhaps it means if you handle fear, develop a calm outlook on life you’ll be the best/happiest runner you can be…….

Leave a Reply

