Monday Morning Coffee Club: Memorial Day 2015

Giant mugHappy Memorial Day, Modern Philosophers!

This is a Monday I can support 150%.  Most people think of Memorial Day Weekend as the unofficial start of Summer, but we play by a different set of rules in Maine.

Up here, it’s not summer until we’ve had seven consecutive days without snow.  Since it snowed in Northern Maine on Saturday, we are still at least five days from Summer.

That doesn’t mean we can’t enjoy the long weekend, though.  The sun is shining, the birds are singing, and the smell of barbecue is already in the air.

I plan to have a very lazy Memorial Day.  I got my big painting project out of the way on Saturday and Sunday, so today is dedicated to reading, writing, watching the Yankees game, barbecuing, and completely forgetting that it’s Monday.

Even though I am still in my pajamas and only half awake, I have already been outside to hang the flag on the front porch.

Remember, Modern Philosophers, Memorial Day is much more than a three day weekend, an excuse to barbecue, and a chance to finally break out the white in your wardrobe.

paint flagMemorial Day is the Holiday when we remember those who made the supreme sacrifice while serving our nation.

That is why I fly my flag proudly from the porch of The House on the Hill, and encourage you all to do the same.

One of the reasons we have the freedom to fire up the grills, enjoy time with family and friends, and look ahead to a fun Summer is because of the brave men and women who are not still with us to celebrate Memorial Day.

So let’s keep them in our thoughts today, Modern Philosophers.  Let’s not forget the real reason we have the day off and can sit home and watch the baseball game.

I never take for granted how lucky I am to have grown up in this country, and all the freedoms and privileges that go along with that.

I hope you all have a wonderful Memorial Day.  Stop by for coffee.  For once, I’ll actually be here on a Monday to chat…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: Memorial Day 2015

  1. April says:

    Have a great day Austin!

  2. AthenaC says:

    We explained to the kids the other day that Memorial Day is just what you said, a day to honor people that died while serving their country. “Like Mommy!” one of them said. “No, sweetheart, I’m still alive, so Memorial Day is not for people like me. Veteran’s Day in the fall, yes, but not Memorial Day.”

Leave a Reply

