Ain’t Lady Luck A Wicked Pissah?

Lady LuckLady Luck decided to show me how fickle she can be tonight, Modern Philosophers.

Since it’s Friday, I went directly to the grocery store after being unchained from my desk.  I’m a creature of habit, and I believe Lady Luck was counting on this to have a little fun with me.

I always start at the deli counter since it’s right there in the first aisle.  Clearly, the supermarket was built in this manner because the grocery gods wanted us to buy our deli meats first.

Of course, there was a long line, which immediately made me grumble.  I am not always the most patient person, Modern Philosophers.

While I was sighing and constantly checking my watch like a guy who actually had someplace to be, one of the deli employees came out to restock the chicken wing bar.

She loaded it up with salt and vinegar wings fresh out of the deep fryer.  Salt and vinegar wings are my favorite.  I would not have been there for the fresh wings had I not gotten held up in the deli line.  Trust me, I loaded up on those bad boys!

Lady Luck 2I like what you did there, Lady Luck.

When it was time to check out, there were only two lines open, and I, of course, selected the slower moving of the two.

Then Lady Luck smiled upon me again, and they opened a third checkout line and ushered me to the front of it.

I got everything out of my cart and onto the counter, but nothing had been rung up.  Apparently, the computer would not work.

The shift leader was called over and he confirmed that the computer was dead (damn those Machines!!!).  I had to load all my groceries back into my cart and head to the back of another slow moving line.

The manager did come over to apologize, though, and he gave me a sticker which I could apply to any item in my cart to make it on the house.

Look at you, Lady Luck.

When I finally got to the head of the line, I saw that the really cute checkout girl was working the register.  The few minutes of flirty banter made it all worth the wait.

cloverOh, and I applied my sticker to my chicken wings, so I wound up with a free dinner.

Okay, Lady Luck, I will admit that you have a way of balancing out things.

Thank you for smiling upon me tonight, and for reminding me that I’m not always the most unlucky man alive.

Now can you lend me a hand with the cute checkout girl?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Ain’t Lady Luck A Wicked Pissah?

  1. markbialczak says:

    Well there you go, Austin. Sometmes winging it pays off.

  2. Glenda says:

    Austin, you should have followed up on your “Lady Luck” by asking the cashier to a Starbucks or something after her shift. That was a missed opportunity!!

  3. ksbeth says:

    what a wonderful night of good luck and may it continue to smile upon you. i see you making many frequent visits back to the same checkout line in the future.

  4. I have never heard of salt and vinegar wings. I usually go for the garlic kind. When there is a line at the deli counter I usually go without deli meat that trip. I like to chat up the cashiers, but at my age and weight flirtatious banter would have rather a creepy overtone. I wish you good fortune in your grocery and romantic endeavors (an old lady told me luck comes from the devil, so you should never say “good luck”) (then again I guess the devil is a friend of yours).

  5. kmunse says:

    Sounds like luck was a lady last night…. you should have bought a lottery ticket!

  6. Dude I can help you but it aint cheap. You need etchings and scratchings.

    Love pinup art. Alberto Vargas, I wanna be him when I grow up.

    Now about those wings, Honey Garlic.

    EXAMPLE:
    https://transitionu.wordpress.com/2015/05/26/delight/

Leave a Reply

