9 Out Of 10 Pharmaceutical Reps Agree: Laughter Is Not The Best Medicine

laugh medsFile this one under “Duh!”, Modern Philosophers.

I recently polled ten pharmaceutical reps at a local medical expo, and nine of them emphatically stated that laughter is not the best medicine.

I could have just left it at that, but they invited me out with them for drinks and they were buying.

Plus, they kept giving me free stuff life pens, notepads, and baseball caps, so I decided to stick around and mess with them a little.

After they had a few drinks in them, I pressed them on the topic and tried to get them to admit that laughter really was the best medicine.  They doggedly continued to toe the company line, however.

“It’s not like laughter can cure cancer,” one of them stated boldly.

“Neither can your drugs,” I pointed out.

That led to some silence, the ordering of another round, and my being presented with a very cool mouse pad that advertised a new cholesterol medication.

pills“Laughter can’t give you an erection,” another one decided to argue.

“Haven’t you ever heard the term ‘He laughed so hard’?” I shot back in return.

We went back and forth like this for a good hour, and while no medications were taken at all during this meeting of the minds, a lot of laughter was dispensed.

I felt that this really drove home my point, but the pharmaceutical reps were not convinced.  They swore they would come up with an argument that trumped my Deep Thoughts on the topic and get back to me.

That left me alone with Holly, the one hold out of the group who had cast the lone dissenting vote.  She had been silent most of the night, so I was eager for the opportunity to finally chat with her and see why she was willing to go against the tide on this Philosophical debate.

“I totally agree with you,” she said as she raised her glass in a toast.

We tapped glasses, and I asked her what drug she was pushing on the masses.

laughterWith a huge smile on her face, Holly produced a sample box of LAFTA.  “It’s a drug to help people suffering from depression,” she informed me with a wink.  “And it really is the best medicine.”

Well played, Big Pharma.  Well played.

I bought Holly a drink and we turned the conversation to something less boring…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 9 Out Of 10 Pharmaceutical Reps Agree: Laughter Is Not The Best Medicine

  1. ksbeth says:

    perfect. smiles. and a good laugh.

  2. Laughter is necessary for all healing. It sure beats fighting. Great post, I’d tap my glass to yours.

  3. Maybe I need some LAFTA? teehee

  4. Jan Hobbs says:

    Reblogged this on Blissfully Single and commented:
    Laughter also burns calories, just saying! 😂

  5. shawn says:

    I do believe that Big Pharma’s mantra is, “Better living through chemistry.”

  6. She may have had the last LAFTA in that conversation, but LAUGHTER is still the best.

  7. List of X says:

    Beware, Austin, if you do manage to convince Big Pharma that laughter is the best medicine, they’ll patent it and sell it with a prescription only for $50-100K for an annual treatment. (That’s what they charge for some drugs that aren’t the best medicines, so they wouldn’t want to undercut these prices.)

Leave a Reply

