Like A Horny Gene Kelly

singingI returned to the living room with a six pack of Snapple for the cooler, and happened onto something most unexpected.

The Devil stood at the living room window and stared out at the rain.

And he was humming.

The expensive Italian loafer on his left foot was tapping along to the beat.

“Are you humming?” I asked when the guilt of spying on him became too much for me to handle.  Plus, I just had to know what the Hell was going on here.

“Yes, Austin, I’m humming.  What gave me away?” Lucifer replied dryly.

“I don’t think I’ve ever heard you hum before,” I went back at him a little defensively.  “That just doesn’t seem your style.”

“What’s my style?” he asked without looking away from the rain.

He had stopped humming, however.

I shrugged and bent down to put the Snapple into the cooler.  “Quiet.  Reserved.  Thousand dollar suits.  Enough oil in your hair to heat this place for an entire Winter.”

DevilThat earned me a chuckle and his attention as he turned away from the window to look over at me.  “There’s something about the rain, especially the Spring rain, that makes me want to dance.”

I stood up and stared at him, pretty sure that my jaw had dropped, but it didn’t matter.  Had The Prince of  Darkness just told me that he liked to dance?

“You’re yanking my chain, right?”

Satan rolled his eyes and shook his head in disappointment.  He turned his back on me and went back to looking at the rain.

“The Devil can’t dance?” he asked.  “I used to be an Angel if you recall, Catholic School Boy.  We danced all the time up in Heaven, back in the good old days.”

I had no idea what to make of his comments, but I didn’t want to be close-minded and rude to my guest.

“So what were you humming?” I asked as I walked over to join him at the window.

The rain was coming down pretty hard now, and in a few minutes, it was going to be time for Noah to bust out the ark and gather up the animals two by two.

“Singing in the Rain,” he admitted casually, but I saw him give me a sideways glance as if expecting some witty comment to be fired at him.

“Great flick,” I answered because it was true.  And because I wanted to catch The Prince of Darkness off guard and see how he’d react.

singing 2“I love that scene where Gene Kelly is dancing in the rain,” he admitted with a sigh as if he had just unburdened himself of the heaviest of all secrets.  “If I could trade my eternal soul with myself, it would be for the ability to dance like that.”

They say that the Spring rain can have a strange effect on people.  I guess strange doesn’t always have to be a bad thing.

I started whistling Singing in the Rain, and The Devil smiled and joined me.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Like A Horny Gene Kelly

  1. Uh… Gene Kelly was known for extreme horniness…

  2. henriettamross14 says:

    Who wouldn’t want to!

  3. pamtanzey says:

    I love when the Devil visits you.

Leave a Reply

