Monday Morning Coffee Club: 6/1/15

Giant mugIt’s a cold, gray, dreary, rainy Monday, Modern Philosophers.

UGH!

Welcome to June.  Let’s hope this weather isn’t a preview of what to expect for the entire month.

UGH!

Don’t even try to tell me at least it’s not snow.  I’m not in the mood!

It took a great deal of effort to get out of bed this morning.

Usually, I’m able to find something in the week ahead that’s a motivational factor to get me out from under the covers and into my morning toga, but not today.  There is a full week of work and dreary weather staring me in the face, and it just seemed a lot safer and warmer under the covers.

I do have tickets for the Lady Antebellum concert on Thursday.  I got them for free at a taping of The Nite Show a couple of months ago, and I’ve been trying ever since to find a date for the evening.

This just shows how horrible I am at dating.  Even with these concert tickets to offer as a bribe, I have been unable to find someone to spend a few hours with me that night.

Could this be a sign that it’s time to write a sequel to The Retirement Party?  And this time, when I retire from dating it should be permanent.

UGH!

The only good thing that’s come out of (failing at) dating again has been the blog posts that it’s inspired.  Other than that, the main thing I’ve learned is that women don’t want to spend time with me and I’m never going to get over The Girl Who Broke My Heart.

UGH to infinity!

MondayI did manage to get a good amount of writing done on my novel this weekend.  I believe I surged past the 17,000 word mark as I spent many hours out on the porch putting words down on paper.

It definitely feels good to know that while I’ve proven myself to be a total failure with the opposite sex, at least I can still charm words into spending some time with me.

I really do not want to get up off the couch, Modern Philosophers.  The thought of trying to take on this Monday like a responsible adult does not appeal to me in any way.

Maybe I should start drinking coffee.  Perhaps that would motivate me to take a shower and put on my Working Stiff toga.  I doubt it, though, so I might as well keep my consecutive days without coffee streak alive.

Anyone want two tickets to the Lady Antebellum concert on Thursday?

I’ll leave them with the interns and you can battle it out over coffee and conversation.  Maybe that will make this Monday exciting for some of you.

I don’t think anything can make this Monday exciting for me.  Thank Zeus there’s only seventeen hours left of this already far too brutal day…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 6/1/15

  1. Anything anyone can do to cheer you up other than go to the concert with you Thursday night?
    If it makes you feel any better, it’s gray and rainy here as well. 😦

  2. SD Gates says:

    Well, at least you have your bed to look forward to at the end of a long day. If it makes you feel any better, it was 97 yesterday, probably will be today and for the next 3 months. Cold and dreary sounds delightful!!!!

  3. Purpleanais says:

    It’s raining and grey in the UK too, but then again, it usually is, and in any case I don’t think that will make you feel any better.
    Don’t give up hope, everybody goes through “dry spells” when nothing seems to work out in the romance department – but as long as you’re a nice person with something to offer (I am aware I don’t actually know you but this transpires through your posts) then it usually works out in the end 🙂 *virtual hugs*

  4. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    YOU’D THINK HE WAS DOING A POOR REPRESENTATION OF NATIVE AMERICAN STEREOTYPED SPEECH! HAPPY MONDAY ANYWAY, AUSTIN. SEARCXHED YOU OUT FOR YOUR SPECIAL INSIGHT ON THIS DAY OF THE WEEK! UGH! 🙂

  5. Rain has a tendency to put a damper on everything, but productive writing can help chase those clouds away.

  6. jan says:

    It’s raining and chill out here too but we need to the rain so no one complains.

    • Austin says:

      I’m glad you’re getting some rain.

      Did The Rock’s new earthquake film freak out everyone out on your coast?

      • jan says:

        Funny you should ask – the critics have given it fairly good reviews (except to say that in a tsunami the safest thing would be to climb to the top of one of the city’s many peaks – I’m not sure what the main characters actually did because I haven’t seen the movie!)

      • Austin says:

        I’d be fearful that the movie makers messed with karma and a big earthquake was now coming. I’m superstitious that way…

  7. Mid 40’s here and raining on June 1st… WTF… But congrats on 17,000 and counting!

  8. It got cold and rainy in the Mohawk Valley today, supposed to be colder tomorrow. My work can be rather miserable when it’s cold, mostly listening to people be awful to each other about whether or not the windows should be open. But I digress. I meant to comment to offer you some sympathy for your sadness. I, too, am depressed, but not over the weather or my love life. And I feel myself turning a fetching shade of green with envy over all the writing you got done. Congratulate yourself; many people would not be so prolific while feeling down.

  9. markbialczak says:

    Austin, Austin, Austin. Did you ask anbody to go to the concert with you, or did you simply decide nobody wanted to go to the concert with you? Just wondering. I have a feeling there’s a single country music fan within yee-hawing distance of the House on the Hill that would say yes if you discovered her and asked her to the concert.

  10. Pamela Edwards says:

    Austin , go to the concert , have some fun . Never know you might meet someone there .

  11. Funny, this is how I feel every Monday through Friday morning!

    Ya know, I used to read your blog regularly, and then life got in the way and I unintentionally distanced myself from the blogosphere (blah blah blah). I’ve always loved your writing and I’m glad to be getting back in the loop! I’ve missed a lot and was wondering if you could link to me to what happened with The Girl Who Broke Your Heart? That is, if you wrote about. Thanks, and I hope Tuesday is better for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

