Baseball, Brownies, and Bueller

ferris-buellerI’m a few years removed from high school, Modern Philosophers, but that doesn’t mean that my inner Ferris Bueller isn’t still young and looking to have some fun.

Sure, I’m probably past faking being sick just to take a day off.  That’s what vacation days are for, right?

That doesn’t mean, however, that I don’t hear a little voice inside my head singing “Danke Schoen” and claiming to be the Sausage King of Chicago.

That voice, which sounds remarkably like a young, mischievous Ferris, was outshouting all the other voices in my head today.  It kept telling me that the Yankees game was on at 3:30, Tanaka was making his first start since coming off of the disabled list, and there was a batch of peanut butter brownies waiting out in my car.

“I recall Central Park in fall.  How you tore dress.  What a mess.  I confess…”

Why were there peanut butter brownies waiting in my car?  Excellent question.  Glad you’re paying attention.

Since I couldn’t find a date for the Lady Antebellum concert tomorrow night, I gave my tickets to Bethany for her in laws, who are big fans of the band.

browniesIn return, Bethany baked me these bad boys.

Of course, I’m still pissed at Bethany for giving her notice on Monday.  She’s a cool boss, and work isn’t going to be the same without her.

So these brownies better be extra special if she ever intends to get back on my good side.  I will let you know.

While I was on my lunch break, my inner Ferris kept twisting and shouting for me to go home early to watch the game and eat some brownies.

But I was at work.  I’m a responsible adult.

Who has about six weeks of vacation time burning a hole in the pocket of his toga.

I turned to Micki, who was just trying to read her Kindle and be left alone, and informed her that I wanted to go home early.

She told me to go for it, and reminded me that the worse Bethany could say was “No!”.

What were the odds of a boss, who’d just given her notice, telling an employee who was mad about her leaving, that he didn’t have the right to take a few hours off to eat the brownies that she had baked for him?

And wasn’t she constantly telling me I needed to use my vacation time?

ferris quoteWe all know how my inner Ferris felt about the issue.

Plus he’s a huge fan of baseball.

So I asked to go home early to catch the game.  She was not only totally for the idea, but she also encouraged me to stop for some ice cream on the way home.  You know, to put on top of the brownies.

Being a good employee, I did exactly what my supervisor suggested.  I hit the grocery store, grabbed some ice cream and Snapple, and sped home in time for the first pitch.

Where am I now?  Not chained to my desk, Modern Philosophers.

I’m on the couch, watching the game, and telling you about my adventures.

The only thing that would make this better would be if Sloane Peterson showed up to spend the afternoon with me.

Austin YankeesSo why am I telling you all this?  Because life really does move pretty fast.  When your inner Ferris Bueller demands your attention, give it to him.

He knows what he’s doing, and he’d never steer you wrong.

What do you do when your inner Ferris beckons?  Do you tend to listen to him, or do you tell him you’re a grown up now?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Baseball, Brownies, and Bueller

  1. I don’t think it’s physically possible for a brownie to not be anything other than good. It’s law.

  2. 😀 😀 😀 I don’t need an inner Ferris. I’m retired! Save me a brownie. 🙂

  3. List of X says:

    I don’t think it really counts as Ferris Bueller-level adventure if you have to ask your boss for permission. 🙂

  4. Anita says:

    Once in awhile my inner Anita escapes from my outer Ferris and I actually get a lot done. Those days are awesome!

  5. Mindy says:

    I’m glad you got to the point about the brownies. I was highly concerned. I’m also glad you got home in time for the game!!

  6. D. Parker says:

    How can you ask me to think when you’re teasing me with chocolate brownies? My inner Ferris would tell me to eat those brownies which would be Strike one for me! 😉

  7. My inner Ferris doesn’t demand I play hookie so much as bust out into song and rock a mike. When the urge hits, I grab any item I can find from pen, to pencil, to smart phone, to whatever is within reaching distance…and I sing!

  8. jan says:

    Corral your inner Ferris and write a great adventure.

  9. Pamela Edwards says:

    Brownies , Yum my favorite ! With ice cream even better . When my inner Ferris beckons & does often . I let Ferris have some fun . Life is stressful enough , sometimes we just have to shake it up Austin !

  10. Oh, fantastic! Life’s too short NOT to listen to the inner Ferris. Sounds like an awesome afternoon!

  11. Ally Bean says:

    I’m charmed by a toga with a pocket. Sounds like something that should be for sale on one of those dodgy middle of the night commercials. Also, brownies with ice cream… yum. You do live the life, don’t you?

  12. ksbeth says:

    that’s great, i’m glad you went for it and i go for my inner ferris whenever possible.

Leave a Reply

