Across The Bridge, Into The Unknown

bridgeI’ve crossed

This bridge

So often,

That I

Could probably

Do it

With

My

Eyes closed.

Lately, however,

These journeys

Have seemed…

Different?

Even though

I am aware

Of what

Is on

The other side,

I have

Absolutely

No

Idea

What to

Expect.

I cannot ignore

My own

Trepidation.

Nerves

That lure

The larger words

Out of

My vocabulary.

Anxiously,

I set out

With a spring

In

My

Step

And hope

In

My

Heart.

A heart

So guarded,

That the walls

Surrounding it

Can be seen

From space.

Somewhere

Along the way,

My pace

Slows.

My doubts

Arrive,

And ever so quickly,

Make

Their presence

Known.

I need

To know

What’s on

The other side.

Curiosity

Goads me forward,

But may also

Be sending me

To my doom.

What is it

That makes me

Continue

To cross

That bridge?

Has my

Fear

Of being alone

Finally surpassed

My

Fear

Of the unknown?

It is

A mystery

I long to solve.

I will continue

To cross that bridge

When I come

To it,

But I long

For the day

I can cross it

Hand in hand

With the answer

To my questions.

Is tonight

That night?

I shall find out

Soon enough…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Dating, Humor, Philosophy, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Across The Bridge, Into The Unknown

  1. Anita says:

    I LOVE this. A peek into the real Austin. Glad you had a good journey!

  2. Shalena says:

    Reblogged this on .

  3. Shalena says:

    Lovely poem and good luck…. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Pingback: A Walk Worth Taking | The Return of the Modern Philosopher

  5. markbialczak says:

    You’re the man, Austin. I’m so glad you did something awesome on Lady Antebellum concert night. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. steelturner says:

    Great stuff here. The direction in which we often know the outcome has nothing to do with the direction and unpredictable path of life we are on.

Leave a Reply

