A Walk Worth Taking

walk 1Happy Friday, Modern Philosophers!

It’s been a rough day, but not for the usual reasons.  I had to be to work two hours earlier than usual for a meeting, but I got to leave two hours early.  Woo hoo!

I’m just a little tired.  As I mentioned in last night’s post, I was taking a walk across the bridge last night.

You have probably figured out by now that while I literally did walk across the bridge into Bangor, that term is also code for “I’m going on a date”.

Gulp!

The reason I’m so tired today is because I was out late last night on the best first date I’ve been on in ages.  So keep your fingers crossed for me.

I took some photos on my walk, and I wanted to share them with you…

walk 2It’s been cold and rainy here lately, so it was a nice change to have a warm, sunny night for my walk.  Perhaps the Dating Gods were trying to tell me something?

This is the shoreline on my side of the bridge.  Not exactly a beach for a vacation destination, but at least no bodies have washed up on it (…lately).

walk 3This bridge was made for crossing…

Not much traffic at 7:00pm.  Pretty much everyone was already downtown for the Lady Antebellum concert.

walk 4Yes, I did have tickets to the concert, but I traded them for brownies.  And for a chance to meet someone on the other side of the bridge.

Just beyond the other bridge, and off to the right, is where they hold the concerts.  I told you they were very close to The House on the Hill, and this is why I can hear them loud and clear from my living room.

walk 5Do you remember when every picture I posted from this bridge showed the Penobscot River covered in thick ice?

I really didn’t think I’d ever again see that gorgeous blue water.  So glad it’s back because that means the Mermaids have returned as well.

I tried to get you a photo of one, but none of them were out last night…

walk 6Can you see the boats on the other side of the bridge?  That’s right next to where the concert was being held.  I’m sure there were Lady Antebellum fans on those vessels, and they planned to enjoy the concert on the water.

It was a gorgeous night for it.

walk 7Did I mention I had a date last night?  Another one of those first dates that I like to write about so often on my blog.

Usually, when I get to about this point on the bridge, my nerves really kick in.  Last night, however, it wasn’t as bad.  I asked Ana for a pep talk before I left the house.  Everyone knows Vampires are wise because they’ve been around much longer than the rest of us, and they’ve seen it all.

Ana had some Deep Thoughts for me that I focused on during my walk.  They seemed to have done the trick because I was very relaxed.

walk 8Of course, nothing helps me to relax more than having two police cars speed past me, lights flashing, and sirens blaring.

I tried to get an action photo, but this was the best I could do.  I’m a Modern Philosopher with a smartphone.   Not exactly the best set up for a photo to catch the excitement…

walk 10I’ve mentioned this several times in my dating tips posts: always get there early.  That way you can scope out the place, find all the exits, and look relaxed and nonchalant when your date arrives.  Here I am following my own advice…

walk 9Bangor looks good with the setting sun at its back, doesn’t it?

walk 11By the time the date ended, more than three hours later, an enormous full moon had come out to watch over Bangor.

It seemed close enough to touch.  I did my best to capture it, but again, crappy smartphone cameras weren’t meant to be used for such epic photos.

walk 12My date made it very clear that she loved Nutella, and she could not believe that I had never tried it.

This is a shot of my grocery cart from this afternoon.  You can safely say that she definitely made an impression on me.

And a very good one at that…

Looks like my phone is out of photos.  Hope you enjoyed this little photo tour.

Happy Friday! (And please remember to keep your fingers crossed!)

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Dating, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A Walk Worth Taking

  1. XX Fingers crossed. See Both hands. XX

  2. Christie says:

    Glad to hear you had such a great first date! Fingers crossed!

  3. markbialczak says:

    For you, this is a wealth of optimism, Austin. Confidence is the key! You like her. You might like Nutella. Go with this and keep crossing the bridge. I will cross my fingers even though I think you don’t need it. 🙂

  4. Excellent! I’m about to dip my toe into the dating pool again, so it’s nice to hear that a good first date is indeed possible. Fingers crossed for you!

    • Austin says:

      Thanks, Michelle. I hope you’ll read all my dating tips posts before you get back out there. They could save your life. Literally…start with the one about how to tell if your date plans to kill you. 🙂

  5. Pamela Edwards says:

    Fingers crossed ! Nutella is delicious, can’t believe you have never tried before now . Glad you had a nice date !

  6. Did you love Nutella?! My husband and I had to stop buying it because we reached a point of just eating it out of the container lol I look forward to hearing more about the new lady in your life! Fingers definitely crossed!

  7. Anita says:

    You didn’t fool me with that bridge crossing stuff! I had your number all along. So excited to hear you so excited.

Leave a Reply

