Friday Night Think Tank: A Most Historic Dinner

Doc BrownIt’s Friday night, Modern Philosophers.

Can I get a resounding “Amen“?

It’s been a long day, and I’m very tired, but there’s no way I’m going to miss our weekly visit to the Think Tank.

Since my brain fell asleep a few hours ago, this week’s topic might be a little sillier than usual, but it’s still bound to inspire Deep Thoughts.

After all, this blog is all about making you laugh as well as think.

Grab your toga and meet me out in the Think Tank.  Just give me a little nudge in the ribs if you catch me drifting off.  Thanks!

This week’s topic: If you could have dinner with any person from history, what would you have to eat?  Also, how would you handle the bill?  Would you pay it?  Leave it for your guest?  Go Dutch?  Dine and dash?

I know you expected me to ask who you would invite to this meal, but that question is so played out, Modern Philosophers.

I hope by now, I’ve taught you how to escape from the box, like a toga wearing Houdini, so you can think outside of it.

That’s why we’re going to philosophize about the menu, rather than the guest list.

So what’s for dinner?

Beef WellingtonI’m going with Beef Wellington.

I’ve always thought of this as a meal for a special occasion, and what’s more special than dinner with some historical superstar?

I’m going to be a total nobody to my dinner date, so I need for my choice of entree to speak volumes for me.

Beef Wellington tells the world that I’m serious about making an impression, I can eat like a gastronomic all star, and I know where the hell the beef is.

Have you ever had Beef Wellington?  The few times I’ve been lucky enough to eat it, the chef prepared a filet mignon inside the puff pastry.  Incredibly delicious.

They used to serve it at the restaurant where I worked during my NYU days, and I was always jealous of any customer who ordered it.  When I lived in California, my then father-in-law was a very good chef, and he made Beef Wellington one year for my birthday.

Yes, Modern Philosophers, I was a fancy pants.  At least on that night.

So, hell yeah, I am ordering Beef Wellington for this dinner.  I didn’t even need to think twice on this one.  I did form Deep Thoughts, though.  They were just all about Beef Wellington.  Mmmmmm.

As for settling the bill, the Nuns raised me to be a gentleman, so I’d pay for it.  Of course, if my guest insisted on paying, I’d put up a convincing fight, and then happily acquiesce.

Beef Wellington is expensive, and I’m not made of money.  If you saw my toga budget, you’d totally understand why I wouldn’t mind if my guest picked up the tab.

So what’s cooking, Modern Philosophers?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: A Most Historic Dinner

  1. Phil Taylor says:

    I’d go with a seafood feast with Leonardo DaVinci. A close second would be pizza and beers with Stephen King.

  2. floridaborne says:

    The person I’d like to have dinner with is Emmy Noether, the most important woman in the history of mathematics. Although I’m terrible at math, that’s not the reason I’d like to sit and have a chat with her. She was well respected by Einstein. There’s talk that she actually did his higher-level math for him.

    Unfortunately, I’m not sure if she spoke English, but given the magical entities that visit your house on occasion, I’m certain that one of them would translate for us.

    I would gladly pay the bill just to find out how much of the higher mathematics she did for Einstein. 🙂

    • Austin says:

      Again, I didn’t ask who you’d invite to dinner. I just want to know what you’re going to eat.

      Do I have to write a post on reading comprehension, Modern Philosophers?

      • floridaborne says:

        I have dyslexia and tried to read the post instead of using a text reader. My apologies. Sorry about the confusion.

        I think for this particular dinner, I’ll have a helping of humble pie followed by just desserts.

  3. Christie says:

    I was going to say chile relleno from this little hole in the wall restaurant in the Chicago suburbs. It was the best thing I ever ate. But then I read on and you mentioned beef wellington and I remembered that on special occasions we would sometimes go to a certain fancy restaurant and my dad would always get the wellington. My sister and I weren’t allowed to order it, but he’d always give me a bite of his. Then I thought, maybe THAT was the best thing I ever ate, or at least got a bite of that left me wanting more. As for who’d pay…it depends if it was the chile relleno or the wellington!

  4. Glenda says:

    For me, it would have to be cheese enchiladas, rice, refried beans and some nopalitos. I’m from southern California and that about sums it up. As to who would pay, that would be a moot point because I’d be making dinner. My superstar wouldn’t require fancy surroundings, but he would be assured of a good, honest meal.

  5. Beef Wellington’s a great dish! It’s a New Zealand invention, created in Wellington (my city! Hurrah!), apparently for a civic reception, way back when. We also invented the pavlova, which is baked sweetened egg-white topped with cream and fruit, named after the opera singer (it’s a lot nicer than that description sounds).

  6. Because I’d expect a lot of chatting through dinner, which never does justice to time and talent of preparation, I’d choose something inexpensive, maybe a vegetable korma which is tasty when hot and still is as it cools through chat-time. Who pays ? Dutch treat is always fine by me.

  7. I would like to have a hamburger and fries, preferably an In an Out Burger. The reason is one, I intend to go way back in time, and two, Since hamburgers were not invented yet it would provide a conversation starter. Plus, they’re just great burgers. :O)

  8. List of X says:

    Beef Wellington sounds intriguing. It also sounds expensive, so I might have to choose Bill Gates or Warren Buffet as a dinner companion.

  9. markbialczak says:

    Lobster tails. Yes, plural. Cole slaw. Corn on the cob. My dining partner foots the bill and I leave a huge tip and then buy drinks afterward.

    Oh, boy, we just arrived to Cape Cod tonight and as a matter of fact I expect to eat lobtster at least once, Austin. But they don’t serve just tails here. I’m getting better at cracking, though still prefer the tail meat best.

    That Wellington sounds and looks great. I always envy it on .Hell’s Kitchen,’ as Gordon Ramsay rants and rails at the chefs, but I’ve never experienced the pleasure.

  10. Roger Pocock says:

    Reblogged this on Windows into History (Reblogging and Links) and commented:
    Suggested reading – an amusing premise that has inspired some equally amusing comments! Reblogged on Windows into History.

  11. Pamela Edwards says:

    Friday night is seafood night for me . Flounder , trout , crab & shrimp with baked potato , slaw or salad . Always delicious . My favorite decadent meal would be prime rib medium with the trimmings .Enjoy your beef wellington Austin !

    • Austin says:

      Prime Rib would also be high up on the list, Pamela. Maybe if I had to meet with another famous historical figure, I’d order that. 🙂

  12. I’m a surf ‘n’ turf kinda gal; NY Strip with lobster tail, garlic mashed potatoes, caesar salad, grilled asparagus… mmmmmmmm! I didn’t even think about the who, as that was not part of the question, but if my date was a man I’d gladly allow him to pay since I am such a charming lady 🙂 However, if I was dining with another woman I’d say go dutch. I’ve never had beef wellington, in fact, I didn’t know what it was until I saw your picture! I’ll have to keep my eye out for it next time we’re at a nice restaurant!

  13. E.L. Wicker says:

    Amen!! I’ve always wanted to make beef wellington, never have. I’m a complete disaster in the kitchen anyway, so it’s probably a good thing 🙂

  14. Anita says:

    I’d skip dinner in lieu of a scrumptious chocolate anything gooey then hope I could pay attention to the conversation and not be rudely distracted by chocolate intoxication. Guess who really needs some chocolate right now? I’d definitely split the check though. It took years to realize that I did’t need to buy good company – because I’m also good company.

  15. drishism says:

    Cheeseburger and Fries, with a beer. But at a great local bar, not a chain store. The cheeseburger, fries, and beer… all made with locally sourced ingredients. That way it would be a laid back atmosphere with the dinner for conversation, but at the same time taste great!

  16. For a historical figure, a nice spicy chili and a really good beer. I just made a Wellington for the first time, it was amazing.

Leave a Reply

