How To Survive A Word Avalanche

keep wrtingHave you ever had one of those days, Modern Philosophers, when you sit down to write and completely lose track of time?

I was lucky enough to experience that today.  I refer to it as a Word Avalanche when the words spill out of my head faster than I can type them into the laptop.

Today’s Word Avalanche started out on the front porch.  The porch ended up completely covered in words, and I had to climb back into the house via a window in order to avoid being buried beneath them.

The words are still out there.  Some of them have blown away in the wind.  Others have been carried off by curious neighborhood kids.  The remaining words, however, are piled on the porch, knee deep, waiting for me to figure out what to do with them.

What have I been working on all day?  Thanks for asking.  I’ve been writing a novel, well more likely an e-book, based on the blog.

That’s right, Modern Philosophers, I am creating The House on the Hill’s origin story.  Now you’ll finally have a chance (for a small fee) to learn how I came to live in Maine, why The House on the Hill is frequented by Otherworldly Beings, and why I wear a toga.

TypeHopefully, I will be able to turn this into a series and keep telling stories of my very unique living situation.

Does this sound interesting to you?  I hope so, since you guys are my target audience.

Even if it turns out to be a colossal failure, it has been a lot of fun.  Writing is what I love, and after a long day at work, I cannot wait to sit down with the laptop and tap out some more pages.

I have over 23,000 words written so far.  3,000 of them wound up on the page as a result of today’s Word Avalanche.  I’m watching the Yankees game now, but I’m not ruling out adding to that word count before the end of the evening.

Like I said, it’s a Word Avalanche.

The only way to survive is to keep writing.  If you get the words onto the page quickly enough, they can’t overwhelm you.

I do have a simple outline for this project because there are so many characters and certain plot points that I have to work into the story, but most of the writing so far has been my usual free styling.

I sit down at the computer with a basic idea of what needs to happen, and then I simply let the words and the characters take me wherever they want.  I just wrote several pages that came to me as if in a fever dream.  I was typing so quickly to keep up with the avalanche of words, that it felt like I had four hands working the keyboard.

House on the Hill SpringThis is The House on the Hill, of course, so there might have been a Ghost typing right along with me.  One never knows.

What I do know for certain, though, is that there are more Word Avalanches in the forecast, and I am ready for them.

Writing makes me happy.  Right now, Modern Philosophers, I am ecstatic!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to How To Survive A Word Avalanche

  1. floridaborne says:

    There’s nothing as exhilarating as a word avalanche! Congrats on your inspiration.

  2. I could really use a word avalanche today and at least once a week for the next ten years!

  3. markbialczak says:

    You were visited by the Word Miser’s cousin, Austin. The Word Miser has made his new home among your friends at the House on the HIll! Congratulations, my friend. Keep clacking.

  4. markbialczak says:

    The Snow Miser’s cousin that is. OOOOPs. My clicking and clacking is off.

  5. grannyK says:

    I can’t wait for the book!

  6. Christie says:

    I have never experienced a word avalanche, but I have had the experience of losing all track of time when I’m painting, and also eating Oreos. I can’t wait for the book!

  7. JED says:

    It’s a great feeling to experience when your mind can outrun your hands and you just can’t type fast enough. When it happens as you say you have to suck it up and keep writing. Worry about spell check later and even if it’s any good later just let it flow while the avalanche is at hand. Congrats on the writing. Looking forward to a finished product.

    • Austin says:

      Thanks. I haven’t read any of the pages in a while. I just keep writing. Eventually, I’ll find the time to go back and edit, but right now, the words are flowing too quickly. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Friday Finds: Week 37 | Avid Reader

Leave a Reply

