Monday Morning Coffee Club: 6/8/15

Giant mugIt’s a cold, rainy Maine Monday, Modern Philosophers.

UGH!

My body was achy upon waking, and I really didn’t want to get out of bed.  Maybe the aches and pains were from running the last two days, or perhaps that was just my body’s natural reaction to it being Monday.  I mean, who really wants to go back to work after a delightful weekend?

UGH!

Again, a full work week with no special occasions awaits.  I thought I had this situation last week as well, but things changed.  I gave in to my inner Ferris on Wednesday, and left work early to watch the Yankees game and eat brownies.  Then I had a date on Thursday.

So let’s see if this week improvises, too, and makes itself a little more exciting.  It is easier to survive until Friday when there are distractions.

I didn’t get the best night’s sleep, and I blame that on my weird dreams.  In one, I made the impulsive decision to move back to California without telling anyone.  I felt guilty about my giving any notice at work, though, so I ended up walking to New York from California to tell my boss that I’d quit.

Mind you, it was New York, and not Maine, that I’d left, and the job I had quit was at the restaurant where I’d worked my way through NYU.  All these years later, and I still have nightmares about that place.

UGH.

MondayEven weirder, was that I felt guilty about leaving my boss in the lurch and thought about commuting to work every day until he could hire someone new.  I figured since I was able to walk to New York from California, it wouldn’t be a problem.

When I got back to the west coast, however, my father was not cool with the idea of my continuing to work in a New York restaurant.  This is when I should point out that my Dream Dad was Dave Grohl of Foo Fighters.

Papa Grohl pointed out that I was rich now, and never had to work another day in my life.  I decided to heed his fatherly wisdom and blew off going back to the restaurant.

In another dream, adult me decided to go back to school.  I didn’t feel like attending class that day, though, so I stupidly showed up and then asked my teacher if I could be excused. She denied my request since only a few other students had shown up, and she really needed me there since she was paid based on attendance.

I stayed, but decided to order bagels and cream cheese for the class.  Cut to a shot of the stadium where the 49ers play.  In silhouette, players and cheerleaders crawl off the field and collaps3 in a heap once they get to safety.

They are all covered in bagel bust and cream cheese.  Apparently, the deli got my order wrong and decided to airlift 5000 pounds of bagels and cream cheese to the stadium.  The planes then dropped their cargo onto the field, and bombarded the unsuspecting players and cheerleaders during pregame warmups.

Why the hell do I have such crazy dreams?

UGH!

I did make good use of my weekend to get a lot of writing done.  I churned out several thousand words on my novel, and came up with a new segment idea for The Nite Show, which I typed up and emailed it to Danny.

Austin haircutI also decided to tame my inner Chewbacca and got a haircut.  What do you think, Modern Philosophers?  Is this one a keeper, or should I continue to look for someone to replace Dave, my barber who died back in December?

Hopefully, I will hear from Thursday night’s date and make plans to go out again.  Wouldn’t it be nice if I could finally stop whining about first dates?

Enjoy the coffee.  Remember, there’s only seventeen hours left in this horrible day.  You can make it!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 6/8/15

  1. I dig the haircut, this one might be a keeper!

    I hate having weird dreams, but I can only ever remember bits and pieces, which makes them even more strange. Last night I dreamt that my prom date broke up with me twenty minutes after we got to prom (I have been out of high school for over ten years), and then I was running and trying to escape from something. And that’s about as much as I can remember.

    I don’t think I’m ready for another week of work… any tips to make it better?!

    • Austin says:

      I’d suggest reading my blog to make the work week bast faster. 🙂

      Crazy dreams. Maybe try to turn that one into a short story?

  2. donedreaming says:

    Hang on in there Austin. It’s also a cold, rainy Monday over here in England but I’m channeling my inner Diane Keaton in Something’s Gotta Give – sitting in my Hamptons beach house, listening to the ocean, typing my stuff .. Loving the haircut by the way, and if Thursday’s date doesn’t call back I’ll be over with brownies.

  3. I think your new haircut, along with your extremely pleasant happy face, could definitely be a good combo for first dates turning into second, third, fourth etc dates!:-)

  4. grannyK says:

    You look great! Your strange dreams, although annoying to you, are a treat for us!

  5. adamjasonp says:

    Such dreams don’t sound crazy to me. Something I bet I’d imagine…imagining if I ate cream cheese bagels and watched basketball…

  6. shawn says:

    I rarely remember my dreams. According to my wife I talk during them sometimes 🙂
    Not being a fashion mogul, you may wish to discount my thoughts, but I think this barber is a keeper. Thanks for the coffee. It’s only a horrible day if you let it be.

  7. The barber’s a keeper. Great haircut! 😀

  8. idiotprufs says:

    Wookie is a funny word.

  9. I’ll make it, but just barely. So this is how you stay in shape, walking across country in your dreams. I think I can do this!

  10. jan says:

    I just went for a 3 mile hike out here in California where it’s supposed to get to 103 today. I’m sore too – having done nothing last week! Can’t tell from a photo but I’d say the haircut makes you look younger and that plum color is very good on you as well.

  11. susielindau says:

    Weird dreams! No wonder you woke up tired. Love the haircut!

  12. markbialczak says:

    Great haircut. Maybe you should have gotten it BEFORE the first date, Austin? Just wondering about your sense of timing.

Leave a Reply

