Jump Start Your Brain: Mallrats 04401

JumpstartWell, it’s Saturday morning, Modern Philosophers, and while I just want to stay at The House on the Hill all morning in my Sleeping Toga and watch cartoons, certain responsibilities await.

I knew I shouldn’t have been in such a rush to grow up…

I thought the best way to jump stat my brain this morning would be by going on a morning run.  After adding three days of jumping rope to my routine, I was curious to see if that made my Saturday morning easier.

I knew that trying to calculate the impact of the added workouts on my running regimen would be a perfect way to get the Deep Thoughts flowing.

My conclusion was that I definitely had more stamina, which I especially felt on the first hill of my run.  Normally, taking that hill is a struggle that requires the support of Teddy Roosevelt and his Rough Riders, but I managed it this morning without having to call in the Cavalry.

I completed the 3 mile run in very good time, and thought that to be an excellent way to start my Saturday.

Of course, my main goal this morning is to psych myself up enough to go to the mall.  Not my favorite place in the world, Modern Philosophers, and even less so now that two women were stabbed there a couple of weeks ago.

This is Maine, so I’d expect someone to maybe be mauled by a bear at the mall (you see what I did there?) or carried off by a Flying Monkey, but stabbed?  Yikes.

MallratsSure, Mallrats was a Kevin Smith flick, and he is one of my heroes, but it wasn’t his best work.

I need new running shoes, and that’s always a struggle given the size of my enormous Monkey Boy feet.  Basically, I equate going to the mall to be about one trip to the Food Court short of a Dentist appointment.

The place opens at 10:00, so I plan to get there just as it opens.  My Deep Thought process being that people who stab strangers in mall bathrooms are probably not early risers.

Wish me luck in my ridiculous struggle.

Perhaps the process of thinking good thoughts for me will be enough to jump start your brain?  If not, I’ll buy you a soft pretzel at the Food Court and hope that is enough to make it up to you.

Or maybe you should just go for a run and see if that gets the gray mater humming…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jump Start Your Brain: Mallrats 04401

  1. JED says:

    Be careful. In your parts it could have been anything and maybe they just said it was a stabbing to make it seem a little less supernatural and frightening. Although a stabbing is not something I would want, I think I would rather be shot or mauled by a bear.

  2. D. Parker says:

    Good luck. The mall, on Saturday…you’re a brave man. 😉

  3. You’ve got me thinking about jumping rope (rope jumping?). I’ve promised my friend to work out for 30 minutes 4x a week, she’s positive it will cure my depression. Maybe jump roping (?) would be fun… I’ll let you know how that goes!

    Congrats on the shoes 🙂

  4. The Hook says:

    I have a feeling the original; “Mallrarts” is going top blow the sequel away…

Leave a Reply

