Friday Night Think Tank: Play It Again, Sam!

Doc BrownHappy Friday, Modern Philosophers!

I always feel like I’ve received a new lease on life when I crash through the doors of my place of work at 5:00pm on Friday.  It’s like  I’m an entirely different person because I don’t have to play working stiff again until Monday morning.

My plan for tonight is to watch the Yankees game, relax a little, and then hang out with you intellectual types in the Think Tank.

I watched that new Jennifer Beals show “Proof” last night, which is about a doctor trying to figure out what happens to us after we die.  It intrigued me and very well might have influenced tonight’s Think Tank Topic.

Put on your Deep Thought togas and meet me out in the Think Tank…

This week’s topic:  You die and arrive at the Pearly Gates.  St. Peter checks his book and smiles.  Not only have you earned a place in Heaven for all eternity, but the Big Guy also wants to reward you with a special opportunity.  You can be sent right back down to Earth to do it all over again.  This time, though, you can pick the life you want.  You’re still guaranteed eternity in Heaven no matter what you do this time around.  Would you take life for another spin?  What future would you pick for yourself? 

This one should really generate some Deep Thoughts, Modern Philosophers.

Even if you don’t believe in reincarnation or life after death, it’s just a Philosophical Exercise, so challenge your brain and play along with the group.

I would definitely go back since I know an eternity in Heaven is guaranteed.  Life hasn’t exactly worked out the way I wanted this time around, so I’ve love a second opportunity to better enjoy it and live it to its fullest.

AngelsI’d tell St. Peter I wanted to be a professional baseball player.  I don’t even need to be a star or win a World Series.  I just want to support myself and my family by playing the sport I love.

It’s been my dream to play pro ball since I was a wee Modern Philosopher.  I was never very good at it, but I played the game with passion.  I loved going to practice.  I cried if a game got rained out.

Playing baseball just made me really happy, and I wished I were better at it.

So this time around, I want to be good enough to make it to The Show.  I don’t care if I have to spend a few years in the minors, or play for the worst team in the Majors.  I just want to put on my uni every day and hit the diamond.

I relish the idea of going through Little League again, but being the star of the team instead of the kid who put in the effort, but always struck out.  I want to play in high school and go to college on a baseball scholarship.

Of course, being a pro athlete would also have its perks.  I wouldn’t have to sweat the finances like I do now, I could spoil myself and splurge on cool things, and I could pay someone to shovel the snow out of my driveway and mow my lawn.

I’d also be in excellent shape, and that would be a nice change.  I’m sure that getting a date would be much easier.  Hopefully, I’d settle down with someone special and we’d have several kiddos, who I would totally adore and teach to love baseball, too.

SparrowsFor once in my life, going to work would be a pleasure.  Just imagining what it would be like to have a baseball field for an office, and coworkers who were great athletes, puts a huge grin on my geeky face.

How cool would it be for 50,000 people to cheer me on while I work?  What would it be like to run the bases at Yankee Stadium?  How satisfying would it be to give every ounce of effort every day of the week?

I would definitely take up St. Peter on his offer, and the next time I saw him at the Pearly Gates, I’d thank him profusely for the second chance at life.

What about you, Modern Philosophers?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: Play It Again, Sam!

  1. Singlehead says:

    I would go back and start my life as a young child with no other expectations than to be a musician and a poet. To make money creating fun and beautiful music. If I could dedicate all my time to doing music I would be completely happy. I wouldn’t even need to go to heaven. My heaven is music.

  2. Christie says:

    I watched that show too…pretty interesting.

    Yes, I would go back and do it all over again. This time I would live my life according my own dreams and passions, not the expectations of others. I’d be a painter or a writer and live near the ocean. I’d never again shovel snow!

  3. markbialczak says:

    Yes, Austin, I’d go back again, and I’d tell St. Peter, ROLL THE DICE, BABY! What fun would it be to pick your second life? I’d want another chance at scratch, just like this, not knowing what was to come, and enjoy it day by day and figure it out as things came at you.

  4. Give up heaven for heaven on earth? No way. I’d rather come back as an angel.

    • Austin says:

      Well, Heaven will still be there waiting for you. Remember, you have no idea what Heaven is like, but Earth is something you know and understand…

      • Not really…but I guess I’d just like to be more invested in others and focus on the arts. I’d work on my bucket list earlier in life.

        Sleep in a hammock, run on the edge of the oceans, eat in the best villages, take my family on more vacations…

        OK, you succeeded -the flood gates are open.

      • Austin says:

        I’m glad my post got the Deep Thoughts flowing. 🙂

  5. henriettamross14 says:

    That’s easy. Wilde!

  6. List of X says:

    I’d go back, if offered the choice. Too bad I’m an atheist, so I’m not even going to make it to the Pearly gates. 🙂

  7. Glenda says:

    All right, Modern Philosopher, I would take the opportunity to start over. I thought a lot about this and decided I would go with my first love – art. I remember my kindergarten classroom; the big circle with letters on the wooden floor, the smell of that special paint they used for children during the 60s (probably lead-based) and standing in front of an easel. I think I recall having an apron of some sort covering my clothes. As I watched the paper come alive with those wonderful splashes of color, it felt magical, and in all my youthful innocence, it made me feel important. Look what I did!

    Now I’m going to drink or brood about lost opportunity because I have depressed myself. Thanks, Austin!

  8. This is a really good one for deep thinking my friend! Might inspire it’s own blog post from me 🙂

  9. drishism says:

    I would be a film maker… director. I would do various kinds of science fiction.

    Although, once I’m in heaven… I would not leave. I’d have coffee with Jesus on Tuesdays… we’d probably talk about football and our favorite Spielberg movies

    • Austin says:

      Do you think Schindler’s List is Jesus’ fave?

      • drishism says:

        It wouldn’t surprise me. The third Indiana Jones film, “The Last Crusade”, is probably ranked high too!

      • Austin says:

        You don’t think that the religious undertones of Close Encounters would appeal to Jesus?

      • drishism says:

        I have seen Close Encounters a few times, but not recently. So I don’t remember the religious undertones. He might like Jurassic Park (1993)… men playing God and trying to profit as they create life. He might make it into a parable, to teach a lesson… “Therefore, leave the creation of giant creatures with teeth that can tear humans apart in the past. Let the past stay in the past, and today be today.”

  10. rowanaliya says:

    Not a chance. One go round is hard enough, having to do it all again, no thanks.

  11. Anita Stout says:

    I’d decline the kind offer. I’d rather spend my time on the other side helping the ones I’d left behind. I’m probably “odd” but I’d be happy with my one go around. Not because this life has been bad but because this life has been enough. I’m happy with my life, the things I’ve learned, the people I’ve loved. Even loss has brought it’s own kind of sweetness in that it deepens appreciation for those I still have and gives me an opportunity to reflect on the gifts I’ve received from the lost ones. I’ve made my mistakes my tutors and done my best to do better as I’ve learned better. I’m content. Not because I have everything but because I’m happy with everything I have. I know – BORING! :()

Leave a Reply

