Monday Morning Coffee Club: 6/22/15

Giant mugIt’s the first Monday of Summer, Modern Philosophers, and it’s raining.

UGH!

That sounds just about right, though, after the Winter we had.

UGH!

Merely saying the “W Word” puts me in a bad mood, so I will do my best to avoid it.  Especially since it’s a Monday.

Yes, Modern Philosophers, Summer has finally arrived.  It looked bleak for a while, though, didn’t it?  I was talking to Janine the other day about how it’s still pretty chilly despite the fact that it’s the end of June.

My theory was that since [word redacted to protect my sanity] was so cold and harsh this year, the rest of the seasons are having a little trouble getting into the swing of things.  We had a couple of really hot, icky Spring days here in Maine, but there were more days when the heat kicked in because it was unseasonably frigid.

Perhaps Summer will take a little while to actually kick in, but when it does, I expect it to take the full 3 months that it has been allotted by the Calendar Commission.  In the back of my mind, I’m wishing that this all means that next [evil word redacted again] will be warmer, less snowy, and easier to survive.

But enough talk about the weather.  We’re not a couple of strangers on an awkward first date.  There must be something else we can discuss.

Father's DayYesterday was Father’s Day.  That’s a rough holiday for me.  My Dad died when I was 19, but I still miss him very much.  Father’s Day only makes me miss him more.

While it makes sense that it would not be the happiest of days for me because my Dad is not around to celebrate, Father’s Day also gets to me for another, less obvious reason.

It bothers me that I have never become a father.  I rarely mention this, but I’ve always wanted to have kids.  I saw the way my Dad went about being awesome on the parental front, and I’ve longed to follow in his footsteps.

I think I’d make a great Dad, and the fact that I’ve never had that pleasure upsets me.  Sure, it’s something I don’t think about often, but on Father’s Day, those Deep Thoughts run wild.

UGH!

At least I survived.  It was rough going there for a while, but I managed to distract myself with televised sports and a good amount of writing.

As for the week ahead, the forecast calls for stressful with a good chance of a mental meltdown by Friday.

That’s actually a pretty good work week forecast given the time of year.  No one wants to work during the Summer, so I’m sure it will be a rough week to be chained to a desk while Summer is beckoning for me to come out and play.

I do get off early on Thursday, though, so maybe that will provide the motivation I need to get me through the week.  Rainy days and Mondays always get me down, however, so today is 2 for 2 on that front.

There’s plenty of coffee, Modern Philosophers, so help yourself.  Remember, there are only seventeen hours left in the worst day of the week.  Hang in there!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 6/22/15

  1. I would be happy to give you some of our outrageous heat for a few days of your cooler weather… deal?! It’s been in the 90s here for two weeks, with no sign of letting up. And let me tell you how miserable that is when your AC can’t keep the house under 85 degrees!

    “As for the week ahead, the forecast calls for stressful with a good chance of a mental meltdown by Friday.” < That's my new favorite line, very fitting for my life lol

    May we all survive this wicked day (and week)!

  2. Morning… *grabs coffee*, Ta.

    Tough day for me too yesterday (for obvious reasons) … rain here this morning too, Summers on vacation this year I think.

    I’m sorry you’re feeling bleurgh, and sad this morning. Missing Dad is hard…and, I imagine, missing not being one is hard too 😦 … I reckon you’d make a fab Daddy 🙂

    I hope things imprpve for you as the day goes on. Big hugs, Kimmie x

  3. kmunse says:

    “As for the week ahead, the forecast calls for stressful with a good chance of a mental meltdown by Friday”….. hang in there.

  4. grannyK says:

    Sorry about your Father. I lost mine a long time ago as well, and now my mom is gone, too. So, I do understand. Our weather has been unusually warm all year (except for a freakish early blizzard in November followed by a 2 week freezing fest). By the end of the week are will be getting 108 temps. I do not like that part of summer! We don’t have A/C, either! As for being a father, there is still time for you. Men have a much bigger window for that than a woman does, so don’t lose hope!

  5. ksbeth says:

    glad you made it through and you never know — i like the rain because it helps my gardens to stay happy, but i’m also ready for the hot streak i’ve been waiting for. try to focus on all of the good things in your life, as opposed to what is missing and you’ll find that it’s much more full than you first thought.

  6. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I dislike the parent-themed holidays for my friends who had good relationships with their parents who have now passed away. Mine are gone, but if they were here the relationship would be dysfunctional still and not likely something to “celebrate”. Glad you got through the day though. I’ve learned to avoid all social media on holidays since it does tend to get me down to see others’ celebrations.

    I know rain on a Monday is a horribly cliched way to start the week, but think of how nice things will look as more plants start to bloom and grow (hopefully). 🙂

  7. Christie says:

    Yesterday was rough for me as well, and I’m still battling back tears. Great start to the week. The weather here in the Chicago area is miserable. It will be HOT and HUMID today, the only type of weather I hate more than the “S” word. The sky is grey and is threatening more rain. June has been awful. Too hot and too wet. Yuck.

    You’ll make a great Dad Austin, and the right woman is out there. She’ll be a lucky lady to have you too. Hang in there.

  8. Hang in there my friend. Hope Tuesday finds you in better spirits. I will offer some hope though. Summer showed up here in the blink of an eye with a vengeance. I thought the weather would never turn around after the unusual amount of rain and cool temperatures. Now I’m complaining it’s too darn hot 😉 guess Mother Nature needs to find some balance ;(

  9. It was stinking hot here yesterday, but not humid thank goodness.
    I remember forcing myself to concentrate on work during balmy summer days. Ugh, is right.

  10. jan says:

    The fog is keeping our temperatures cool but I love it. I’m a foggy day sort of person who probably belongs in London. Have a great week!

  11. Ocean Bream says:

    I’ll never be a father but coffee is something I am always thankful for. Hang in there, fellow blogger. There is always sunshine after rain 😀

  12. I feel your sadness in not being a father, although it seems there is still hope for you (are you not much younger than me?). It is summer here; the factory is stinking hot. I thought this might be a good Monday for me, because it is the last depressing week before shut-down (two weeks off. Not when I would have chosen to take vacation, but I gotta love time off). But I had my fair share of ugh. However, it was pleasant walking weather this evening (I even wrote a blog post about it).

    • Austin says:

      I’ll check out the post. The weather has gotten nicer tonight. I was out on the porch writing earlier…

      • Oh, I wasn’t trying to get you to read my post (it wasn’t such a much, really), but thanks. I love sitting on the porch or deck to write. I haven’t had a chance lately but must find some time.

      • Austin says:

        I make sure I set aside some time for that every weekend, and maybe a night or two during the week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

