Friday Night Think Tank: Summer Movies

Doc BrownWhat a gorgeous Summer Friday night it is at The House on the Hill, Modern Philosophers!

I am out on the porch, legs up on the rail, basking in the sun, and sharing my Deep Thoughts with you.

Nights like this are exactly what I have in mind when I fantasize about Summer during those bitterly cold and snowy Winter nights.

I always equate Summer with Blockbuster Movies.  Jaws, the original Summer Blockbuster, turns 40 this Summer.  Jurassic World and Inside Out have already roared into theaters this Summer and put up amazing numbers.

Obviously, we’re going to talk about Summer Movies in the Think Tank tonight.  Bring some popcorn and Junior Mints, Modern Philosophers, and let’s have a Summer Movie Night to kick off this Summer properly.

This week’s topic: What movie most makes you think of Summer?

So many Deep Thoughts formed on this one, Modern Philosophers.  On the way home from the grocery store tonight, a song from Grease came on the radio and I cranked it up.  Then I sang along (Danny and Sandy’s parts) and didn’t care who was listening.

Grease is definitely a flick that reminds me of Summer because the first time I saw it was at a drive in theater in Lake George during Summer Vacation.  Good times.

MSDINDA FE002The movie that most reminds me of Summer, however, is Independence Day.

I have very vivid memories of seeing this film, and that is why it is forever linked with Summer in my mind.

It was the Fourth of July, so right there, you’re talking about the ultimate All-American Summer Holiday.  I was married to J and we lived in Brooklyn, near Prospect Park.  We started the day by going to the Yankee game with several of our friends.  What says Summer more than day baseball at Yankee Stadium on the Fourth of July?

It was an incredibly hot day, and we were sitting down the left field line out in the sun.  I’m almost positive that my favorite Yankee, Don Mattingly, hit a home run that day.

When we got home, the plan was to meet up with more friends at the old school theater near our apartment to see Independence Day.  After a day in the Bronx sun, I was looking forward to a little air conditioning and an Alien attack.

My friend Dave, who had been at the game with us, refused to join us.  He said everyone had been brainwashed into wanting to see it, so he was going to be the one person to not give in to the Hollywood marketing machine.

So we left him back at the apartment.

The Pavilion had an awesome balcony.  J and I loved to sit in the front row of it anytime we saw a flick there.  Those were premium seats, and the line for Independence Day was around the block, so it was going to take some deviousness to get them.

Of course, we had just the plan.

The Pavilion also had an old fashioned ice cream parlor.  We sent J and the other ladies inside to have ice cream.  Once they were done eating, they were free to enter the theater and claim their seats.

So, while the guys waited out in the Summer sun with the rest of the crowd, the ladies enjoyed some ice cream in the air conditioned splendor of the theater.

Eventually, we all got to sit in the front row of the balcony and watch the movie that most makes me think of Summer.

Except for Dave.  He hung out in my apartment watching TV.

That is why Independence Day is the movie that most makes me think of Summer.

What about you, Modern Philosophers?  Can somebody pass the popcorn please?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: Summer Movies

  1. ofopinions says:

    Reading you discussing movies, I invariably think of John Cusack, and other great 80’s movies and movie characters. Most people love Better Off Dead, but I think One Crazy Summer was also a great summer flick!

  2. D. Parker says:

    I think of The Empire Strikes Back, I think it was released on the May 24 weekend, but we saw it at the drive-in in Sudbury, must have been closer to summer or it would have been quite cold. Darth Vader was there and he was much friendlier than he was in the movie.
    I love Independence Day thought, Jeff Goldblum, Bill Pullman, Will Smith, Harry Connick Jr, Brent Spiner, Robert Loggia, Mary McDonnell, Judd Hirsch – still one of the best movies ever; again, saw it for the first time at a drive-in.
    Thanks Austin, I think I know what I’m watching tonight.

  3. Too two in my mind are Grease and Top Gun. Creepy one is Stand By Me

  4. Independence Day…….Definitely!!

  5. My husband, Steven, says Jaws. It was one of the best experiences he had with an audience in a movie theatre. At one second the audience was jumping, then they all laughed because they all jumped. I came to Jaws late in life and only saw it on video. Uh, DVD. I could write a whole blog post about it (I might sometime). Regarding Independence Day, I believe we watched it together at the drive-in. How summer is that? But I find Jaws such the better movie in so many ways. There are others, but since this is merely a comment on your post, I’ll spare you. Hope you’re enjoying the warm weather. We are.

  6. hollie says:

    Field of Dreams. Not only is it my favorite, but baseball spells summer to me.

  7. Pamela Edwards says:

    Independence Day is an excellent film . I still love Jaws & watch it every chance it’s on . Sahara , anything John Cusack or based on Stephen King . Forest Gump , The Green Mile , Castaway , just to name a few .

  8. The Sandlot. It’s all about summer and full of excellent quotable lines. We could recite them for-ev-er.

  9. Donna George says:

    It seems like a real life blockbuster of Jaws that never ends here in coastal NC this month. Crazy shark attacks daily.
    I saw the Love & Mercy, Beach Boys movie today and enjoyed it. Never knew the sad story behind the life of Brian, made me tear up.

  10. Independence Day is a great summer blockbuster film. Goonies was another great mention. For an indie pick, I’d go with Moonrise Kingdom.

  11. Great post!

    Jaws is a perfect summertime flick, I always like to get together with some buddies, have a day at the beach and later a BBQ, finishing the night with that summer blockbuster!

    I also really love American Graffiti for this season, it takes place during summer vacation, and if I watch it really late at night then I feel as if I’ve been on the adventure with gang! BRILLIANT! I must watch it again soon, thanks for the prompt 🙂

Leave a Reply

