Masks

maskEveryone

Wears a mask.

What does

Your mask

Tell me

About

You?

What are you

Hiding

From the

Prying eyes

Of the

Eternally

Voyeuristic

World

That  threatens

To consume

Us all?

My mask

Hides

How scared

I am

Of

Being

Alone,

Which is ironic,

Given

That everyone

Seems

To be watching

Me.

Your mask,

However,

Intrigues me.

It’s what

Drew

Me

To you

In the

First place.

It was

A mask

Most unexpected.

For once,

Rather than

Leaving me

Grateful

That I didn’t

Have to pretend

To care

About

What stranger

Was watching me

With judging

Eyes,

Protected by

The anonymity of

Her mask,

I had to know,

I NEEDED

To know

The identity

Of the

Masked Avenger

Who’d somehow

Gotten past

My heart’s

Defenses.

Who was

The woman

In the mask?

Why did

She make

My heart

Beat faster?

What secrets

Might

She share

With me

If I could

Muster

Up

The courage

To introduce

Myself?

What a

Strange change

In strategy

On my part.

Clearly,

This Masked Avenger

Was trouble,

But sometimes,

A little

Trouble

Is exactly

What

The doctor

Ordered.

I will not rest

Until

I’ve seen

The real you.

The woman

Beneath

The mask.

The one

Who gave me

Hope

Again.

The one

I will try

To dream about

Tonight…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Dating, Humor, Love, Philosophy, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Masks

  1. In my opinion, Trouble and Hope complement each other perfectly. The combination quickens your heart, summons butterflies, makes your palms sweat. I think you’re long overdue for Trouble and Hope in your life.

    It is exactly what the doctor ordered.

  2. hollie says:

    That’s a pretty mask, I’ve always wanted to go to a masquerade ball!

  3. ksbeth says:

    jump in and peek under the mask. it’s time. )

  4. Go for it. If you don’t a.s.k., you never find out anything. 🙂

  5. Meg says:

    Reblogged this on The Uncensored Muse and commented:
    Perfectly said….

Leave a Reply

