Why Blogging Is A Must

JumpstartHappy Saturday, Modern Philosophers!

I thought I’d try something different with this week’s Jump Start Your Brain post.  I know it’s late in the day to give your gray matter a jolt, but I wanted to share some Deep Thoughts that will kick your thought process into high gear despite the hour.

Recently, someone asked me why I “waste my time” blogging when I could be focusing on money making projects like screenplays, books, or a TV show.

I know the person meant well, and I laughed it off with a witty answer, but now I want to take the time to explain why blogging is a must for me.

Blogging gives me focus.  Sure, I don’t make any money from this blog, but it certainly gives my life focus.  I’ve written at least one blog post every day since November 1, 2012.  No matter what kind of day I have, I know I must write and that forces me to focus on what’s most important to me.

keep writingBlogging has improved my comedy writing.  Before this blog, I didn’t have the best luck translating my sense of humor onto the page.  My comedy screenplays weren’t very impressive, so I focused on writing thrillers, heists, and horror.

Writing this blog has allowed me to hone my craft, and now I have to keep telling myself to find time to write a thriller because I’m all about the funny stuff.

Blogging makes me feel like a writer.  As I mentioned above, I’ve written at least one blog post a day for two and a half years.  Before I started the blog, I’d go long periods without writing anything.  If I wasn’t working on a screenplay, I usually didn’t have another writing project to keep me busy.  My brain turned to mush, and it made it that much harder to come up with a new screenplay idea.

Consequently, I didn’t always feel like a writer since I wasn’t putting words to paper on a daily basis.  Now I have no trouble calling myself a writer.

Oddly enough, when I’m getting to know a potential date and she asks about my writing, I can direct her to the blog and let me weird stories play wingman for me.

Austin sketchThis blog led to my TV writing gig.  I had been a guest on The Nite Show to promote “The Retirement Party”, and I offered my services to Danny as a writer for the show.  He politely declined.

After my Walking Dead post went viral on Facebook and Twitter and got 57,000 views in one day, I wrote to Danny and again offered my writing services.  He had seen my Walking Dead post, and this time accepted.

Blogging is very therapeutic.  I couldn’t even begin to calculate how much money I’ve saved in therapy bills by using my blog to work out my angst.  I’ve dealt with my broken heart, made light of my inability to find someone new, and vented about any number of other issues through thinly veiled blog posts about what was eating away at me.

I’ve made running more tolerable by writing about it.  Certain days were a lot less rough than they could have been because I was able to talk about my pain, sadness, loss, or frustration on here.

blog-loveBlogging has helped me to make so many new friends.  You are amazing, Modern Philosophers.  I’ve gotten to know some of you much better than others, and I always feel this Blog Love that I am forever mentioning on Twitter.

When I’m lonely and need someone to talk to, there’s always a comment on my blog that needs answering.  Getting instant feedback on my writing is something I’ve never had before, and it helps make me a better writer.

Blog party at The House on the Hill.  Who’s coming?

Blogging allows me to be the boss.  One of he things I most hate about screenwriting is how little power the screenwriter has in Hollywood.  People are constantly giving me notes on how to make my story better, and I really can’t get very far unless I’m willing to make the changes they demand.

Even is a screenplay turns out perfectly in my eyes, it takes an Act of Zeus to get the script in front of someone who has the power to green light it.

With the blog, I answer to no one.  I write whatever I want whenever I want.  I’ve never felt so free as a writer, and I absolutely love it.

bookheartBlogging has inspired a novel.  Even though my friend thought my blog was a waste of my time since it didn’t generate any income, it has inspired the novel I’m writing.  Who knows if anything will come of it, but I do have a series of blog inspired novels planned out in my head.

That wouldn’t be possible if I hadn’t written my first post on November 1, 2o12.

I haven’t written this much, or felt this creative in my entire life.  Ideas are constantly spilling out of my head, and if I blogged every one of them, I’d probably fill up the internet and there would be no room left for you guys to blog.

This blog has also allowed me to dabble in poetry, and I’ve written an incredible number of short stories.  I’ve also got to put my love of photography to use.

This blog is certainly not a waste of time.  If anything, it has revived my writing career.

Blogging is a must for me, Modern Philosophers.  What are your Deep Thoughts on the subject?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

107 Responses to Why Blogging Is A Must

  1. SD Gates says:

    Absolutely agree. I love blogging. I enjoy communicating with people from all over the world. I love to see what others are thinking about, what they feel strongly about and their photos of their cute pets. I really appreciate the fact that I can write a post and get almost instant feedback, and I don’t even have to ask for it. I love the fact that I can read other peoples stuff and see a wide variety of writing styles. Unlike you (congrats by the way) I have not seen much in the way of tangible rewards but the other rewards (meeting blogging friends, writing, enjoying other posts etc, etc) have been immense.

  2. D. Parker says:

    I think, as always you hit it out of the park, Austin. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Why Blogging Is A Must | The Platypus Directive

  4. jan says:

    I am in awe of your blog writing talents! I’m lucky to get one out a week.

  5. adamjasonp says:

    “I’ve made running more tolerable by writing about it.”
    Quite the magic there, that it seems to improve everything you do. A writer at heart. 🙂

  6. marjma2014 says:

    Absolutely agree 100%, blogging has allowed me to explore all sorts of things which I wouldn’t have done otherwise: haiku, and photography being the two most obvious ones. Yes, I’m so glad I joined this blogging clan!

  7. marjma2014 says:

    Reblogged this on kyrosmagica and commented:
    Why Blogging is A Must a definite 100% reblog from Austin The Return of The Modern Philosopher.

  8. adamjasonp says:

    Reblogged this on The Dependent Independent and commented:
    Proof that writing can be very beneficial. Austin wouldn’t even be writing for The Nite Show if it wasn’t for the mental exercise he employs for his WordPress blog.

  9. donedreaming says:

    Happy Saturday Austin! Just off to bed now but thought I’d drop you a note. I’m a newbie but I’m loving it. I was desperate to find a creative outlet, I’m no writer so my posts are a bit clumsy but you inspire me to try and I thank you for that. I’ve ‘met’ some great people across the World, I’ve picked up my camera again and I’m now taking more notice of what goes on around me in the hope it inspires a post. It’s a wonderful feeling when you send a message out in to the universe and something comes back. Keep smiling Buddy, those women in Maine must be mad to pass up a chance with you 🙂

    • Austin says:

      Thank you for the great comments. So happy to hear that blogging is having a wonderful effect on your life. Keep at it. Spread that Blog Love! 🙂

  10. Ally Bean says:

    It’s fun to do the daily blog thing, but regardless of whether you post daily or weekly or whatever, when you keep a blog you are a writer. That’s what I tell people when they ask. Especially when the people asking me are of the condescending sort you mentioned above. Throws ’em for a loop every time. A good thing, eh?

  11. wccunningham says:

    I agree, although I have been a slouch as of late. I only try and blog once a week but feel it keeps me grounded with my writing and as a bonus, I’ve met and read some great souls.

  12. A post a day for 2.5 years is extremely impressive! I agree with about blogging. It has turned the tap for me and now words and ideas are constantly flowing. Before, I wasn’t writing at all, even though I really wanted to. Now I only stop to go for a run or work.

  13. I shall add to the chorus of praise for this post. My blog got me my gig writing for “Mohawk Valley Living” magazine. I ran before starting the blog, but blogging certainly enhances the sport: “I must run today so I’ll have something to blog about.” And narrating my post in my head helps in several ways. Commenting on other blogs and answering comments to my blog is AWESOME! In short (yeah, right), I may have to write my own post on this topic. Thanks.

  14. Catharsis is my main reason for blogging. I’ve also made a few “friends” along the way.

  15. Thank you so much for this post! I am a relative newbie in the blogging world as compared to you – but you have absolutely inspired me by sharing your amazing story today! 😊 Wishing you many more successes in the future. Hope your writing continues to improve consistently, hope your blog continues to expand and flourish and most importantly, I hope you keep enjoying and benefitting from your writing as much as you do! 😊 stay awesome!

  16. Donna George says:

    Good for you Austin. I hear the same kind of remarks, but here I am… Congrats!

  17. Blogging is definitely not a waste of time. I took a year off from blogging for a number of reasons, but I thought of it constantly. I missed the connections I had made with people over the years- a number of whom I met in person during Blogger Interactive. I missed the stories, the laughs, the Deep Thoughts, the creativity. I had to return.

    You’re a talented writer, Austin. Blog away.

    Looking forward to reading your novel(s), by the way. 🙂

  18. ksbeth says:

    i agree with all of your reasons, austin. it’s brought a lot of good things into my life, on many levels. keep on, keepin’ on –

  19. herheadache says:

    Therapy and a place to deal with heartbreak, angst, and thinly veiled emotions. I love blogging for all the reasons you list in this post. Thanks for sharing.
    My writing has also improved and I always enjoy a little immediate feedback.

  20. herheadache says:

    Reblogged this on Her Headache and commented:
    Couldn’t have said it any better myself, but I’m going to keep trying anyway.

  21. Cat says:

    Great post. Blogging has been life changing and compliments my therapy

  22. I like it because I can be social, yet still be an introvert. 🙂

  23. Completely blown away by your daily blogging commitment. I’m with you on every point, though. I started blogging for book promotion (doesn’t every indie author?) and while that’s going okay, the ultimate rewards were those I didn’t see coming. The blog community is an unparalleled treasure. My ability to connect with people of all stripes across the globe is so satisfying and actual fun. So maybe I’m not selling a million books (no maybe about it) and maybe I’m not going to write the next great American novel (not much of a maybe there either) and maybe I will find no one who wants to craft of screenplay of my memoir (even though someone should because my dysfunctional family has Hollywood written all over it with me played by Jennifer Lawrence/Susan Sarandon) but blogging works for me on other levels, like the level that brought me to yours which I’m enjoying immensely.

  24. Susan says:

    My blogging friends are more authentic than several of my real life friends. Blogging has become a must. I need a certain dose of honesty in my life.

  25. Thank you, Austin, for giving me even more reasons to continue blogging!

  26. jenanita01 says:

    I started my blogging life with a chronic disability…I hate computers! But I was told it was imperative to run a website or blog, or I wouldn’t get anywhere with self promoting our books, so I bit the bullet and had a go. Two years and many friends later and you could say I am well and truly hooked!
    Hopeless in the beginning (and it showed) I have improved a lot and so has my writing!

  27. Reblogged this on Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog and commented:
    Austin sums it up nicely 😀

  28. Lutheranliar says:

    Excellent post. Excellent timing. I’ve been having my doubts about whether writing my blog is ‘worth it’. But I read a book this week ‘The Martian’ that started out as a series of blog posts. And now I’ve just read your piece. Kick in tne pants times two(!)

  29. Damien Riley says:

    “I couldn’t even begin to calculate how much money I’ve saved in therapy bills by using my blog to work out my angst. I’ve dealt with my broken heart, made light of my inability to find someone new, and vented about any number of other issues through thinly veiled blog posts about what was eating away at me.”

    This is such a great thought. I echo this sentiment manyfold 😉 I’m really glad I found your blog. Following!

  30. Pingback: Blog Safari 6/28/2015 | Riley Central

  31. I agree with your points, Austin.
    Blogging has helped my writing and kept me at it. It’s forced me to keep a better time-table. As well, I’ve met wonderful people in Blog World and learned lots of new things I would never have learned alone.
    The only negative is I’ve become too immersed in this world and am still fighting for balance with life.

  32. Thank you, Austin, for sharing your thoughts. Besides all the great folks I’ve met in the blogosphere, it’s nice to have a “web log” of things that were important to me at the time. I think we all have a lot to learn from each other. Have a terrific week!

  33. Hannah G says:

    I hope your novel is about Lucifer and Zeus, because that would be awesome. 😉

  34. I do love blogging and share my ideas and experience to make stuffs.

  35. avsweb says:

    Love your blog! You are right, blogging is therapeutic. The reason I started blogging, was to get all these ideas in my head written down, so maybe some day I could write a screenplay.

  36. Sooze says:

    I couldn’t agree more. I’ve recently started blogging, first one was in mid Feb., and it’s boosted my writing ten-fold. As a writer, blogging is an exercise in expansion.
    Yours is the only blog I read on a regular basis. It’s funny and honest and inspires me to write more. Mine is a little more serious than yours, thank goodness I can head to you for comic relief. Keep blogging.

  37. Pingback: Friday Finds: Week 40 | Avid Reader

  38. Found you from Suzie’s blog party. Great post. I like blogging as a memoir of all my adventures!

  39. Havle says:

    Hey! I found this post on Suzie’s blog party and I love it 🙂 I just wanted to share my opinion too!
    I think as you transfer your ideas about everything into your blog, you start discovering yourself. And that helps everyone that comes and reads your posts. Everyone has something to learn from the other, right?
    I haven’t read any other posts in this page and I don’t even know who you are, but by reading this only I can say you are a responsible and lovely person!
    I would love to see you on my blog too!
    mysweeetblog.wordpress.com
    Have a lovely day!

  40. Great post. I have only just started blogging in the last couple of months and I’m not quite at the one a day post but like you, I find it very therapeutic. I enjoy getting my feelings out on paper and writing down all the funny things that my family does. I don’t get a lot of views yet but I think the value is really for me at this stage.
    Carewsinsuburbia.blogspot.ca

  41. Janice Wald says:

    Hi,
    I wrote a post just like this recently but I gave it away as a guest post. Perhaps I’ll reblog it so my readers can still read how valuable blogging is and bloggers are. Looking for the follow button. I’d like to be your new follower.
    Janice

  42. Ellen Hawley says:

    The pressure of keeping a blog fed has pushed me to write less responsibly. I haven’t written anything I regret yet, but I don’t have much time to second guess myself. I post some things I might not send out if I were working in print, and some of them generate a good response. It’s given me a lighter touch, and in my own biased opinion, I’m funnier than I was.

  43. I agree with much of what you say!

Leave a Reply

