I Advise You To Take A Rain Day

BlutoDear Modern Philosopher,

It’s a rainy Sunday here in the great Midwest, and I’m not really sure what to do with myself.

I’m a single Mom, but my boys are away at Summer Camp.  The guy I’ve been seeing on and off is on a fishing weekend with his buddies.  I’ve got a million things to do and a very busy work week ahead of me.

I’m not used to having the house all to myself, and the silence is wonderful.  I’m wondering if it’s okay to ignore the To Do list, celebrate the silence, and simply have a lazy Sunday.

Got any Deep Thoughts on that one, Wise Man of the Toga?

It’s Raining, It’s Pouring, Is It Okay To Be Boring?

rainDear Okay To Be Boring,

First off, love the way you signed your letter.  Might you want to be a blog intern in your abundant free time?  I’m always searching for hardworking creative types!

And I’ve course I’ve got Deep Thoughts on your question.  That’s what I do.

We’re also having a rainy Sunday in Maine, so I have an excellent idea of how you are feeling this morning.  This makes dispensing my words of wisdom even easier than usual.

I advise you to take a rain day!

You’ve earned this.  The Fates have aligned it so that you had the house all to yourself when the rains came.

Take advantage of your good luck and have a lazy Sunday.  That’s exactly what I’m doing.  In fact, I’m writing this reply from bed.  Heck, I’m so warm and cozy right now I might never get out from under the covers.

The Yankees game is on at 2:00.  My plan is to put on a pair of sweatpants, work on my novel, and then chill out with the Bronx Bombers all afternoon.

It’s a no brainer.  Your brain, body, and soul all need days like this to recharge.  Don’t fight it.  Just put your brain on autopilot and enjoy some quiet time.

If millionaire athletes don’t have to work when it rains, why should you?

Happy Lazy Sunday!  Let me know how it goes.

Austin

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Advise You To Take A Rain Day

  1. SD Gates says:

    Agree. Heck, if I had an empty house, a To-Do List that could be ignored, and it was raining – I would get my blankie, lay on the sofa and watch the rain gently patter against the skylights all day long. I might get up and make some tea, have some eggs and toast – but that would be the extent of my work for the day. Just go with it.

  2. How does that song go again….. oh yeah, prank a doodle it’s a dandy … frickin’ yankees, frickin yankees fans … you can tell’em but you can’t tell’em much … been raining for 2 days here … I’m cranky

  3. Glenda says:

    So are you wanting to become a Dear Abby?

Leave a Reply

