Monday Morning Coffee Club: 6/29/15

Giant mugIt’s a rainy day and a Monday, Modern Philosophers, and that always gets me down.

UGH!

To add to Monday’s usual carnage, today is  going to be a bittersweet one at work.  Sure, there will be a potluck, which means lots of yummy treats to put me into a food coma at my desk.  However, we are having that little shindig because it is my boss’ last day.

UGH!

I know, one normally has the Munchkins break into a rousing rendition of “Ding Dong The Witch Is Dead!” when it is the boss’ last day, but that is not the case here.

When I started this job five years ago, she was just another of the worker bees and one of the first people to befriend me.  After she got promoted, she never became power hungry or sent her Flying Monkeys after us.

She just remained the goofy dork who would do this weird dance whenever she came out of her office, and was forever determined to punch the nameplate off of its Velcro holder on my desk.  She would insist on putting out her pathetic purple Charlie Brown Christmas Tree every year, and she somehow managed to keep things calm and cool in the office.

Believe me, I have appreciated how lucky I have been to have such a goofball of a boss.  At my last job, we were ruled over by a powerful and wicked Witch, who snacked on our souls everyday whenever her stomach growled.

MondayIt was nice to finally know that the door to the boss’ office didn’t hide a torture chamber of horrors, and that behind it was someone who would actually listen to you (as long as she wasn’t distracted by something shiny or colorful).

Of course, I didn’t like it that there was bad blood between my boss and The Girl Who Moved Away.  It’s a little awkward when your boss doesn’t get along with the coworker you’re dating.  I could never get them to bury the hatchet, but at least they never wound up burying one in each other.

So she will be missed.  One never likes to lose a cool, kind boss and it’s never an easy thing to lose a friend.  Even one who would be laughed off Dancing With The Stars because her dance moves aren’t even worthy of The Gong Show.

This just gives me another reason to hate Mondays.

UGH!

I’ll do my best to enjoy the potluck, but deep down inside, I’m going to be sad.  Hopefully, work doesn’t start feeling like a week full of Mondays once she is gone.

UGH to infinity!!!

Enjoy the coffee, Modern Philosophers.  Remember, there’s only seventeen hours left to this most wretched of days.

Good luck, Bethany.  I hope your dance moves improve at your new job…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 6/29/15

  1. I hope the universe doesn’t have a rule about getting two good bosses in a row. We just got a new boss a couple of weeks ago and are still feeling him out (no I didn’t say feeling him up!)

  2. grannyK says:

    I, too, hope your next boss is just as fun. The odds are against it, but be hopeful! Try to enjoy the day, if you can.

  3. Ugh. That sucks! But…maybe you could become the fun boss that comes out of the office dancing and punching nameplates? P.S. when I go to work tomorrow, I will begin punching nameplates.

  4. Hope the next boss won’t be much different. Hard working for someone when you don’t like each other. Good luck.

  5. Damien Riley says:

    My Monday morning was like Saturday, I’m a teacher on Summer vacation. Thanks for the post and that incredible photo. It urged me to have an afternoon coffee!

  6. jan says:

    I don’t think I ever had a fun boss! Mine were also of the variety – “what doesn’t kill you makes your stronger.” Sorry you have to lose a good one!

  7. jan says:

    Should have always of the variety – sheesh, it is a Monday, isn’t it?

  8. So sorry to hear you’re losing a cool boss. I’ve had a few good ones and a lot of… let’s just say the other kind. Today was my first day of two weeks off but yet was Mondayish so thanks for the metaphorical coffee.

  9. Mary-Anne says:

    Where is Bethany going? You should apply to be the boss… At least you know he is cool.

  10. A cool boss makes all the difference in the world given that we spend a massive chunk of our lives at work. Crossing my fingers your next fearless leader is as wonderful as Bethany.

Leave a Reply

