I Advise You To Take The Fifth

BlutoDear Modern Philosophers,

Happy Sunday!  Hope you all had a wonderful Independence Day, and that there were no accidents related to the setting off of fireworks.  No one wants to spend the Fifth of July in the Emergency Room.

I thought I would change up the I Advise post this week by dispensing some words of wisdom to you directly, rather than in reply to a reader’s letter.

This is the sort of thing I can do on a whim since I wear the toga around here.

I advise you to take the fifth!

No, I am not dispensing legal advice.  I leave that to Cyrus Brown, the blog’s legal adviser and the coolest lawyer in Maine.

I am dispensing advice related to your mental health and personal wellness.  I want you to take the Fifth of July and use it as a day of reflection and relaxation.

Most people are so busy running from party to fireworks show to barbecue on the Fourth of July, that they don’t have time to think about what the day means.  Have you stopped to form any Deep Thoughts on the importance of Independence Day, Modern Philosophers?

Statue of LibertyThe day is about more than shooting off bottle rockets, devouring hot dogs, and celebrating the end of British tyranny.

It’s about freedom.  The freedom to start a blog and write anything you want, even if it is critical of the government, or leads people to believe you have imaginary friends who are Otherworldly Beings.

The holiday is about the freedom to reflect on your life, to make personal and career choices that lead to your being happy, and to just sit around and do absolutely nothing if that is what sounds best at the time.

I’ve been under a lot of stress lately, Modern Philosophers, and most of it is Austin created.  I need to just take the fifth to relax and ponder on why I’m so unhappy.  There’s no need to run around all day and stress even more.  I’m going to use the day to clear my Deep Thoughts of negativity and focus on the good things in life.

Yesterday, I wrote a post about President Obama calling random Americans to sing Happy Birthday to the United States.  Not only was the post wildly popular, but it was also shared on Facebook by a movie producer I haven’t spoken to in ages.

Pres 3That got me to thinking about the great screenplay I’d written and she wanted to produce.  I’m going to try to rekindle her interest in that project, and even if I can’t, I’m going to dust off that script and see what I can do about getting it made.

Life works in mysterious ways, but sometimes you miss it because you’re so busy stressing over the nonsense.

So heed my advice, Modern Philosophers.  Take the fifth to do a little reflection and see where it takes you.

Thanks for reading.

Austin

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Advise You To Take The Fifth

  1. donedreaming says:

    Dear Awesome Austin, I’m sad to read you are unhappy. For someone who raises a smile on so many faces every day (sometimes twice a day!) you deserve to have your own joy. I’m sending you a virtual hug and a big thank you for your daily inspiration. Best wishes for your project.

  2. Taking the fifth is a great idea. I think you should do it weekly, but if that is too much we should all do it every fifth of the month. Have a great day, your posts about the Fourth of July have been very much enjoyed by me!

  3. I missed this post on the 5th…so I am going to take the 6th to relax and count my blessings that I am free to do this. Glad you were able to do the same yesterday! Oh…and I hadn’t heard about the Obama calls. That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

