The Reluctant Runner

just runThe reluctant runner

Does not want

To get up early,

Kick aside

The warm,

Comfy covers,

And lace up

His running shoes.

He knows,

However,

That attendance

Is mandatory

Out on the road

If he ever

Wants to be

The version of

Himself

That once

Made him feel

So confident.

The reluctant runner

Isn’t breaking

Any records.

He’s simply trying

To break

Bad habits.

His mind

Might not

Be willing,

And his body

Sore and weak,

But his memory

Of happier,

Healthier,

Skinnier

Days

Propels him forward.

therapyThe reluctant runner

Is well aware

That running

Is his favorite

Form

Of therapy.

He sweats out

The bad thoughts,

And waits for

The runner’s high

To kick in.

The reluctant runner

Might tell you

How much

He hates

Running,

But there

He is

Out on the road,

Music blasting,

Legs churning,

Chest heaving,

Glands sweating,

Eating up

The miles.

The reluctant runner

Might be

Many things,

But underneath

It all,

He’s

Just

A

Runner.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Reluctant Runner

  1. markbialczak says:

    One foot in front of the other, Austin. I think you’re on the road again.

  2. jlouisemac says:

    Very true, and clearly written by a runner

  3. ksbeth says:

    just keep moving –

  4. Ocean Bream says:

    Just keep swimming, just keep swimming! – as an adorable fish once said! Also this is my motivation to run today. I wasn’t going to, too tired, but now I can’t stay home after reading this.

  5. Love it! I’m proud of you for getting back out there! I am on week 3 of my new Workout to Feel Better mission and currently VERY sore after the last two days workouts. But I have decided I want to feel good about my body again, so as much as I hate working out, I’m doing it! Haters unite!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Pingback: Beginner Runners, Your Adventure Starts Here - The Runner's Mark

Leave a Reply

