Finally Arriving At The Crossroads

just runIt was time to rip off the band-aid and man up, Modern Philosophers.

I have been making absolutely no progress in my attempt to lose weight, which probably has to do with not eating well and “forgetting” to exercise.

The occasional three mile run has simply not been enough to combat the substantial miles of fat around my waistline.  So the time had come to either get serious either about losing weight, or just see how fat I could get.

I chose the former.

This morning, I put on my Running Toga, laced up my enormous Monkey Boy running shoes, and hit the road with a plan to run four miles.

To put in perspective how long it’s been since I last ran 4 miles:

Truman was President, bread cost a nickel, gas was free as long as you bought a carton of cigarettes upon fill up, only Aliens had been to the Moon, and alcohol consumption was not only allowed in the workplace, but also strongly encouraged.

Basically, it had been a while.

I did get up early two days this week to run before work, and rather than worry about distance, I focused on time.  I essentially ran laps around my neighborhood and did 35 minutes on Tuesday and 42 minutes on Wednesday.

I knew that meant I was ready to finally extend my run all the way out to Pierce Road, which is 2 miles from The House on the Hill.

run 5Today, I finally made it to the crossroads.  I was so pleased with myself that I stopped to take some photos.

Plus, stopping to take the pics allowed me a much needed minute to catch my breath.  I wasn’t breaking any records, but it was a very hot and sunny Summer day.

run 2When you are a Math Nerd like I am, you understand that the move from 3 miles to 4 isn’t the simple addition of a mile.

It is a 33 1/3% increase in the amount of running I’d been doing.  That’s a huge jump, Modern Philosophers, and one that cannot be taken lightly at my advanced age.

So I went slow, ran on the shadier side of the road, and focused on my goal.

That goal being to see The House on the Hill again in this lifetime, rather than as a Ghost sent back to haunt it after I died on a 4 mile run.

It was a glorious day to be outside, but the heat definitely got to me after I passed the 2.5 mile mark.  I had no problem with slowing down to a walk for a little while to catch my breath.  I was making decent time, and it was only getting hotter.

run 3I passed a couple walking a dog, and another solo walker, and was surprised that there were no other runners out on the road.

It was still fairly early, but the smart move seemed to be to get my miles in before the temps rose into the 80s.

Of course, since it is Summer, I had to dodge the cars of Yard Salers.

They love to park along my running route as, apparently, I run along my town’s official Yard Sale Tour.  There always seems to be at least one house on Eastern Ave peddling its wares (junk) out on the front lawn, and this attracts (like flies to @#$%) an enormous amount of people, who all just happen to drive very large cars.

Now that my rant is complete, I can tell you that even though my body was aching, my lungs felt good and I was able to make it back to The House on the Hill alive.

My interns estimated that I left 33 gallons of sweat in my wake along my route, and Yard Salers were paying an estimated 25 cents a quart for it.

run 4Those people will buy anything!

It definitely felt good to push myself to get out to those crossroads again, and I’m hoping that this is the first of many 4 mile runs this Summer.

I intend to stick to the plan of running a couple of mornings before work, and then doing longer runs on the weekend.

The scale informed me that I have a very long way to go, but at least now, I have 4 miles less to travel before I reach my goal.

It’s all part of my Positivity Plus Plan, Modern Philosophers.

It will be slow moving for the time being, but anything is better than just sitting home and complaining about how out of shape I am while doing absolutely nothing about it.

It’s all smiles here at The House on the Hill, Modern Philosophers.  Hope you are having a wonderful Saturday and enjoying weather as beautiful as what we have in Maine.

run 6Did you do anything today to help with your personal wellness?  Is there a crossroads you’ve been needing to reach but haven’t gotten to quite yet?  Do Yard Salers drive you just a tad crazy, too?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Finally Arriving At The Crossroads

  1. I’ve heard you are only supposed to increase your workout by 10 percent per week. Full disclosure: I went beyond that while training for the Boilermaker 15K. I always run for length of time rather than distance. This morning I only ran for 23 minutes, because the Boilermaker is tomorrow. On weekends I usually run around 6 a.m. (which is sleeping in for me), thus beating the heat and the yard salers. Or are these things even earlier in your neck of the woods? It sounds like you are doing very well, though, considering your advanced age (that was sarcasm, you whippersnapper!). Rock on.

  2. grannyK says:

    I have been struggling with my walks this year. I hate extreme weather and it seems like it’s either too hot or too cold lately! So, when Walmart had an elliptical on sale with free shipping, we bought one! I started out only being able to do 3 minutes on it, but now after a couple of weeks, I can do 10 minutes. I love that thing and it is so easy on my old lady joints! I don’t know how you run in this heat, but wow I am very impressed!!

  3. Val Boyko says:

    I am inspired … and almost motivated to reach your crossroads 🙂 If you keep going I’m hoping I might feel enough shame to join you very soon!

  4. I’m feeling to get out there and run. Thanks Austin.

  5. jlouisemac says:

    Diet is 80% of your weight and exercise is 20%. You’d be shocked if you changed your diet what the results would be.

  6. AthenaC says:

    I nursed my hangover gently, ever so gently. So today probably isn’t the best day to ask me this question. Ask me again tomorrow.

  7. jacobemet says:

    I took this week off from running since I started a new diet. I’ve been running for over three years. Success is in consistency. 3-4 times per week, with at least one of those days a hard run. The others can be leisurely to moderate.
    As for dieting, well, I run so I don’t have to. 😉
    But I started this one, the first in several years, because it’s 21 days long and helps to cleanse the body. So, it’s mostly just a psychological jumpstart. 🙂
    Always finish stronger than you start. You’re an encouragement, Austin.

Leave a Reply

