Monday Morning Coffee Club: 7/13/15

Giant mugHappy Bastille Day Eve, Modern Philosophers!

You’re probably not French, but if you’re at least French curious, it’s a good way to get your mind off the fact that it’s Monday.

UGH!

Summer has definitely arrived in Maine.  The last of the Snowmen have moved north to their Summer homes until Winter.

The temperature was in the high 80s all weekend, and that means restless nights at The House on the Hill because I refuse to buy an air conditioner.  I’m not paying to chill this house when it costs so much to heat it!

MON DIEU!

Despite the Summer heat, I still managed to complete two 4 mile runs over the weekend.  I’m very proud of myself for that, and hope it’s the start of something good.  I’m really sick of being overweight and out of shape. so if running 4 miles doesn’t help, my life is going to become one big whine fest.

The Summer heat also means the return of very strange and vivid dreams.  Last night’s was about moving to California to get back together with my ex-wife.  That was strange since J lives in Maine, and because she refuses to speak to me.

In my dream, however, she was quite talkative and actually seemed to love me again.  I suppose I should classify it as a nightmare since it contained two elements very high up on my list of nightmare components: my ex-wife and California.

French Flag at The Eiffel Tower in Paris FranceWith tomorrow being Bastille Day, this week could be full of excitement.  Mimes might visit The House on the Hill to bring me the traditional Bastille Day gifts of French bread, French dressing, and French fries.

I might watch a marathon of Jerry Lewis films, or go to a reenactment of one of the many famous French military surrenders.

I look forward to it as a distraction from the heat.

That’s pretty much all that’s going on at The House on the Hill, Modern Philosophers.  You are welcome to stop by for some coffee, which the interns are making in a French press in honor of Bastille Day.  We are also serving croissants and baguettes, so please make sure you are hungry if you visit.

Anyone who wears a beret is eligible for our door prize which is 6 free Mime lessons.

Enjoy your Monday, Modern Philosophers.  Only 17 hours to go…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 7/13/15

  1. List of X says:

    Judging by the last picture, Bangor sure looks different today.

  2. Pahaha! Loved this! It reminded me that twice – not once, but TWICE – I ended up in France on Bastille day. Ugh. Nightmare! In Paris, they shut down the whole place for the most boring parade known to man. Believe me, if the Germans had known how rubbish the French are at parading, they would have refused to accept their surrender… but I digress.
    Second time was in Caen, Normandy, sharing a hotel room with my sister and her lovely husband who snores like a freight train. Once the music and revelry stopped at 2:30 a.m., the snoring began. Worst. Night. Of. My. Life.
    The French can keep Bastille day.
    But I’ll take the bread and wine any day… 😀 Mother Hen

  3. jacobemet says:

    ” reenactment of one of the many famous French military surrenders.” hahaha! Now that’s funny!

Leave a Reply

