Throwing It Back To Thinner, Bouncier Days

Austin todayHappy Throwback Thursday, Modern Philosophers.

In honor of this important holiday, I thought I’d share a couple of photos that are an interesting contrast to my current life.

The photo on the left was taken this afternoon at 3:00, after I’d left work early to enjoy a gorgeous Summer day.  Yes, I’m in a good mood.  It’s nice to be free.

I’m posting that one as a point of reference.  That is the Modern Philosopher in his current state.

Now it’s time to throw it back to times long past, when life was simpler, I was happier, and things were bouncier…

Austin ThinThis is a picture of me taken three years ago.  According to the comments I posted under the photo on Facebook, I’d lost 47 lbs at this point.

No wonder I’ve got such a huge smile on my skinny face, Modern Philosophers!

This photo is proof that when I set my mind to it, I can achieve just about anything.  I dropped another few pounds and hit my goal of losing 50.

Of course, I’ve gained that all back and added a few more on top of that for good measure.  I’m trying my best to be that handsome, skinny, smiling fool again.

just runI set a goal to run five days this week, which was definitely a challenge given that I’d been running twice a week on average all year.

I am thrilled to report that I completed my fifth run in the last six days this morning.  It was also my seventh run in the last ten days.

I did not want to get out of bed.  My legs were sore.  I was so exhausted that I went to bed at 9:00 last night.  Somehow, I found the strength to drag myself out there and in the words of Nike, the Greek Goddess of Running, Just Do It!

I’ve also been eating better all week, too, so I feel confident that when I weigh in on Saturday morning, the numbers on the scale will be a little smaller.

Austin BounceFacebook posted this photo on my wall this morning, and informed me that it had been taken exactly four years ago.

I remember the day quite well.  The bounce house was set up at the Wellness Fair at work, and The Girl Who Moved Away and I manned the table for our department.  She was the one who took this photo, and I was smiling because she was rolling her eyes at me and telling me I was too old for a bounce house.

She enjoyed reminding me of our age difference, but she loved this old guy very much.

For the Wellness Fair, we got roped into making stress balls to hand out to all the guests.  Neither of us had ever made stress balls, but we were given two giant bags of balloons and enough cash to buy several boxes of cornstarch.

We then took to YouTube to figure out what to do next.

Four years later, I am certain there is still cornstarch stuck in the nooks and crannies of the dining room tables and chairs.

We made an incredible mess, and with our funnels, mixing bowls, wooden spoons, balloons, and white powder, we more definitely looked like drug dealers.

LoveIn fact, The Girl Who Looks Gorgeous Covered In Cornstarch wore it from head to toe.  One of my all-time favorite photos of her was taken that night.  She’s covered in cornstarch, pouting at me, and wearing a very skimpy tank top and short shorts.  She looked incredibly beautiful.

Too bad I can’t share the photo with you because you’d totally understand why I fell head over heels for her.

Just trust me on how adorable she looked, Modern Philosophers.

I still have one of the stress balls on my desk at work.  It’s tattered and torn, much like my heart, but it reminds me of such a happy time in my life that I could never part with it.

Life can change very quickly, Modern Philosophers, so I hope you are really enjoying whatever it is that you have going on today…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Love, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Throwing It Back To Thinner, Bouncier Days

  1. onlybadchi says:

    Really touched and inspired by this 🙂

  2. avsweb says:

    “Just Do It”… That’s the way to go. Looks like you are doing it well. 🙂

  3. I respectfully disagree with The Girl Who Moved Away; you’re never too old for the bounce house.

  4. Way to go Austin, congratulations! Stay with it. 😀

  5. claidig says:

    Well, if you’re “too old” for a bouncy castle, then you definitely wouldn’t be interested in a bouncy castle-play frame, set up in the sea (the SEA!) where I’m currently holidaying 🙂 (It’s taken every ounce of control to not just leg it and claim it as my own from the small children).

  6. Glenda says:

    I notice the smile in your most recent pic isn’t as bright nor big as the other two. Losing weight and feeling good about yourself will bring the sparkle back which will definitely attract a woman. You’re on the right path, Mr. Austin.

  7. ksbeth says:

    glad you are motivated, and i think you look fine in all of them –

  8. nolanwrites says:

    Austin, you’re doing great with the fitness so keep it up!! Remember to still love yourself along the journey! And by the way, bouncy castles are pretty damn great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

