Trying To Outrun The Rain Just To Get Home To Shower

Austin rain 2Happy Saturday, Modern Philosophers!

I wanted to give a special shout out to my fellow blogger, The Masked Avenger, to let her know I am writing this post out on the porch while watching the rain.  It’s so peaceful out here…

I thought I’d jump start your brains this morning, Modern Philosophers, by updating you on how I’ve been doing with my Positivity Plus Plan.

This morning, I went for my eighth run in the last twelve days.  Yes, I finally allowed myself a day off yesterday after running five of the last six.

My body was delighted with me for allowing it some extra rest, and even though I was up at eight o’clock, it felt like a vacation since I’ve been getting up at 5:30 all week to run before work.

That kind of thinking is Positivity Plus in action!

My plan is to do four mile runs on the weekends, so I set off along my normal route, making sure to keep an eye on the rain clouds gathering quickly overhead.  I knew that if I didn’t get out right then and try to beat the rain, I might not end up running at all given the forecast.

I am made of sugar, after all, and would melt in the rain.  Everyone knows that!

just runMy clear goal was to complete the four miles without having to stop to walk.  However, my secret goal was to lop at least one minute off of last Sunday’s time.  That’s only fifteen seconds a mile, so I figured that was realistic without setting myself up for a catastrophic injury while in pursuit of achieving it.

It’s good to have goals to keep one motivated!

My two mile time was right on pace for my secret goal, but I pushed myself a little harder on my first half mile back.

For some reason, I usually take the length of road between the two mile and the two and a half mile mark very slowly.  Maybe my Deep Thoughts tell me I need to conserve energy for the end.  Perhaps I’m just always waiting for that second wind.

Because of the Positivity Plus Plan, however, I decided to force the matter and run faster.  By the time I made it to the two and a half mile mark, the skies had grown considerably darker, and the storm clouds had me outnumbered by an intimidating ratio.

So, I dug deep into my reserve tanks, and pushed those long legs of mine to stride a little longer.  I don’t know why I was so worried about being caught in the rain, given that the first thing I was going to do upon returning to The House on the Hill was take a shower, but whatever works, right?

At the end of my long runs, I’m usually beat and struggle just to make it to the front porch.  This week, though, during my shorter runs, I practiced sprinting the last two blocks to finish strong.  I tried that strategy today.

Austin rainBAM!  I made it back to The House on the Hill two and a half minutes faster than I did last Sunday.  I could not believe it, and I was very impressed.

Look at that smile on my face after my run!

I pushed myself, and my body responded well.  The Positivity Plus Plan is working.

I bought lots of healthy food at the grocery store last night, and plan to continue down this path to healthy living this week.  Just trying to stay positive!

What did you do this week to help with your personal wellness, Modern Philosophers?  Does anyone having any tips for healthy snacks?  Who else is afraid to get caught out in the rain?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Trying To Outrun The Rain Just To Get Home To Shower

  1. I am going to start training for my half marathon this week, so expect lots of posts about how fat and unfit I am!

  2. hollie says:

    This week I met my calorie counts all week, said no to booze, and got up early to do Zumba. I just got done with some swimming and my calves are throbbing so I think I probably burned some calories! Down 5.6 lbs!

  3. Evil.

    Just. Plain. Evil.

    On the other hand, congrats to you for kicking butt on your run. Whoop! Doesn’t it feel good? Puts you in a good mood and boosts your self-confidence, which is always a bonus for someone with a Positivity Plus Plan. I know I always feel like a rock star when I’ve had killer workouts.

    Kudos to you for your veggie snacks! I stick to whole foods and avoid processed junk. If I’m really focused (as I am right now), I cut all added sugars and eliminate alcohol (especially IPAs) from my diet. Way too high in calories. I don’t do it all the time (because I like to enjoy food and adult beverages), but I try to stay on track about 80% of the time.

    And seriously? Having fun in the rain is a great pleasure in life.

  4. grannyK says:

    Wow, good for you! I have been doing better in the healthy food dept but I still need to up the exercise. The elliptical is helping with that, though! Keep up the good work. I like the smile on your face!

  5. Havle says:

    I like the expression modern philosphers very much! 🙂
    And thank you for liking my post!

  6. Sprinting it out at the end is awesome; I’ve always tried to do that. Since I run for a specific length of time, I’m usually sprinting so that I reach home before it’s however many minutes I want to do. Personally I’m still recovering from my crash and burn after the Boilermaker 15K (which I sprinted at the end of, by the way), but the heat and humidity of the past couple of days has kept me from even a crappy run. I don’t usually run in the rain although it is well known that I am NOT sugar (but wouldn’t it be great if some of me could melt?). Watch out for lightning!

Leave a Reply

