I Scream, You Scream…Just Shut Up And Have Some Ice Cream

ice cream dayApparently, today is National Ice Cream Day, Modern Philosophers.

And people wonder why Americans are so overweight and out of shape…

I usually write my advice column on Sundays,  so I’m going to advise you to not worry about the calories today and have some ice cream.

It is a National Holiday, after all, and you risk Federal imprisonment if you don’t eat any.

I’m in no way against ice cream.  In fact, there’s some in my freezer right now, and I will definitely have a bowl today to enjoy this High Holy Day of Eating in style.  Like any food, it’s okay in moderation.

I happen to be cutting back on my ice cream intake as part of my Positivity Plus Plan to lose some weight.  However, it is Summer, it is hot, and ice cream is the perfect reward for a job well done.

That’s why I keep some of the low fat variety in my freezer.

ice cream smileI think I’m going to further celebrate National Ice Cream Day by tracking down the model in this photo and asking her on a date.

I used that pic in a blog post months ago, and have been unable to delete it from my laptop.  I definitely have a crush on her, and as part of my Positivity Plus Plan, I’m going to have more confidence when it comes to dating.

Plus, when you consider that it’s National Ice Cream Day, it’s obvious that the Fates are just throwing us together.

Before I go off to find my ice cream crush, I wanted to report that I survived another four mile run this morning.  I was melting out on the road like a big bowl of ice cream (see what I did there?) and I really didn’t think I was going to make it to the one mile mark.

Today was my ninth run in the last thirteen days, and my legs were very sore.  Since I’m all about being positive lately, I told myself I had to keep going.

Truth be told, I was actually much harder on myself.  My little pep talk contained some turns of a phrase that I cannot share here on a family friendly blog.  Let’s just leave it at that whatever I said got my butt into gear.

I finished at a sprint again, and somehow got back to The House on the Hill two seconds faster than yesterday’s time.  Woot!  Woot!

Austin trainTo top it all off, when I did my weigh in, I discovered I’d lost three and a half pounds this week.  Not bad for the dorky guy on the left, right?

I’m neither faster than a speeding bullet, nor more powerful than a locomotive, but when I finish my run and find myself still alive, I feel just the tiniest bit like Superman.

Enjoy National Ice Cream Day, Modern Philosophers.  Your ice cream will taste much better if you eat it to celebrate the completion of an exercise routine.  Trust me.  I’ll soon be dating an ice cream model…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to I Scream, You Scream…Just Shut Up And Have Some Ice Cream

  1. I just want to point out that when you see the words “low fat” or “fat free”, you should immediately think the words, “chemical shit storm.” Just enjoy the fully fatty kind in moderation.

    With that being said, I am now forced to go put on pants and fetch some ice cream even though today was supposed to be enjoyed void of real clothing. Dammit.

  2. SD Gates says:

    I think I will do some gardening and then I will go get some ice cream. I must celebrate. Thanks for letting us know about this glorious holiday!!!!

  3. shawn says:

    absolutely agree that eating ice cream as a reward for working out makes it taste so much better. Of course eating ice cream for any reason is good 🙂

  4. Coconut Caribbean Gelato………..I could eat it all day.

  5. She looks nice. I had a delightful brownie sundae last night, so I think I’ll count that as my celebration for today (you know, like Saturday Vigil Mass). I am quite dreadfully fat these days.

Leave a Reply

