Monday Morning Coffee Club: 7/20/15

Giant mugI was awakened by the rumble of thunder this morning, Modern Philosophers.

I guess Monday wanted to make sure I was aware it had arrived.  That was fine with me, though.  I just stayed in bed and listened to the soothing sound of the rain.

In fact, I’m writing this from the porch and allowing the rain to be the soundtrack for this Monday Morning Coffee Club post.

The thunder jolted me awake from a very vivid dream about an old friend.

We used to be best buds, but we have drifted apart since we both left the job at which we met and bonded.  That was at the mental hospital.  You know what they say about the friends you make at a mental asylum…

Last night, I saw a photo of her that a mutual friend had posted on Facebook, so I’m sure that’s what triggered the dream.  In my little Dreamland picture show, she had decided to go back to work at a psych hospital, but as a social worker.  She got paged to see her very first patient, and called me out of the blue to accompany her.

Since I hadn’t seen her in forever, I happily agreed to go.  It was just like old times, and I was proud to see her working in her new capacity dealing directly with patients.

I had intended to talk to her about spending more time together, but the thunder put an end to that.  Perhaps I’ll reach out to her today and say hi.  I really do miss her, and she was once such an important part of my life that I can’t wrap my Deep Thought around the fact that we never see each other any more.

MondayOn this rainy Monday, I wanted to also report that my Positivity Plus Plan is working well.  I ran five days last week, ate much better, and ended up losing three and a half pounds.

Mondays are my off day from running, but I intend to be right back out there tomorrow.

I did reward myself last night with a bowl of chocolate peanut butter ice cream.  It was National Ice Cream Day after all, and I didn’t want to ignore the holiday.

I did some major yard work yesterday, tearing up the bamboo jungle that had risen up on the side of The House on the Hill.  That was sweaty, draining work, but very rewarding.  It’s nice to look out the windows of the sun room and see the sun, rather than bamboo.

Well, a crowd is starting to gather on the sidewalk in front of The House on the Hill, so I’d better end this and get back inside.  I keep forgetting how attractive I look sitting out here in my pajama shorts, ratty tee shirt, and slippers.

I guess folks are just drawn to my positivity…or my sexy legs.

Help yourself to some coffee.  There’s plenty.  Enjoy your Monday, and remember there’s just seventeen hours left to this first day of the work week…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 7/20/15

  1. What a great entertaining post. I really enjoyed it. I wish I And of course just get out of it. I love them.
    Once my ex, the rocket scientist, and I (before he was an ex) went to The Julian Bed and Breakfast in the San Diego mountains. CA IS WONDERFUL IN THAT EVERY COUNTY LOOKS TOTALLY DIFFERENT FROM THE OTHER.
    IT HAD A gorgeous, RELAXING, big porch with deep set recessed lightS. THEY ALLOWED YOU TO SIT out side in the dark you can read a book IN A COMFY, wood rocking chair.

    COOL HUH?
    What’s your name?
    I would love to be writer, blogger buddies.
    You’re a sweet guy.

    In regards to your friend and the times you had with her…Cherish them. They are yours forever. You will see her again, right?
    Enjoy the times you have together.

    Youll find me on Facebook by my full name Paulette Le Pore Motzko.

  2. Have a wonderful Monday too.
    Here in Las Vegas, Nevada it’s 4:05 a.m and it is still nice and queit the way I love . I live in a not horrid part of town, but a guy I went out with called it “the hood”….

  3. It’s your legs, and you know you love it.

Leave a Reply

