Monday Morning Coffee Club: 7/27/15

Giant mugGood morning, Modern Philosophers.  Happy Monday!

It’s hard to believe that this is the final Monday of July.  Where has the Summer gone?  I’m making the most of it by writing this out on the front porch of The House on the Hill.  It’s so quiet out here, and the weather is just perfect.

So what Deep Thoughts are rumbling around in my head this morning?

Someone once told me that running will give me insights into my true self.  Do you want to learn what secret I’ve learned about myself over the past three weeks of my new running routine?

I’ve discovered that I exist in a state of eternal soreness.

That’s right, Modern Philosophers, I woke up this morning aching all over and wondering if a gang of rough and tumble Ghosts had beaten the crap out of my while I slept.  I checked my body for bruises, but then I realized that Ghosts might leave Phantom bruises that could not be detected by the eyes of the living.

Of course, then I wiped the sleep from my eyes, cleared my head, and realized that I was sore from all the running I’ve done.  Fourteen days out of the last twenty have been spent running… not the entire day (although it does feel like it at times).

Thankfully, Monday is one of my rest days, so my tired muscles can complain all they want as long as they are ready to run again when my alarm goes off at 5:30 tomorrow morning.

MondayI also got some interesting insight into my life from last night’s short story.  If you haven’t read it yet, here’s a link… One Hell of a Deep Thought.  As usual, I wrote the story with no outline.  I just knew that The Devil was going to tell me that my running had inspired him and then make a comment about how I might already be in Hell.

I let the story decide where it was going, and by the time I’d arrived at the end, it had gone from being a humorous tale to one that made me really reflect on my life.

Since I’m the writer, it means that, in some ways at least, I believe what my characters are saying to be true.  Do I really think that my life is Hell?  Or was that just my sore muscles and lonely heart talking?

Believe me, I’m going to form many more Deep Thoughts on that one!

Well, the interns are telling me it’s time to wrap up this post and head back inside to get ready for work.  It has been delightful sitting out on the porch and sharing my Monday Morning Deep Thoughts with you.

Please help yourself to some coffee.  There’s only seventeen hours left of the final Monday in July.  Do something to enjoy the day and make it memorable!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 7/27/15

  1. Stanito says:

    Coffee is literally life every morning 🙂 thank you for reminding us of it!

  2. Well, we made it through Monday! *clinks coffee cups*

Leave a Reply

