Now This Is Stephen King’s Maine

fog 1I have to admit, Modern Philosophers, that when I moved to Maine, I expected it to be exactly like something out of Stephen King’s scarier novels.

In fact, when we were deciding where we wanted to live, I told J (my wife at the time) that I wanted to be out in the middle of nowhere.  I pictured an old cabin, a huge fireplace, an awesome porch, and lots of woods.

J immediately dismissed this by exclaiming: “That’s the kind of place where people get killed in Stephen King books!”

Exactly!

So I got overruled on that one.  J is long gone, but The House on the Hill is still mine.  I love where I live, and it has turned out to be very much like a Stephen King novel now that the Otherworldly Beings have revealed themselves.  They told me they didn’t stop by while I was married because J scared them too much!

This morning, when I went for my run, I discovered a world very much like something out of a horror movie.  I said to myself, “Now this is Stephen King’s Maine!”

After my run, I took a few photos so you could see what I meant by that comment…

fog 2The fog was incredibly thick this morning.  Doesn’t this photo look like it could be a still from “Stand By Me”, Modern Philosophers?

There is a very good chance there is a dead body somewhere along those railroad tracks, but there was no way I was walking into that fog to find it.

fog 3The House on the Hill looks like it’s about to be swallowed up by the fog.  Or should I refer to it as the mist since this is Stephen King country?

The grass was covered in an odd dew as well.  You can see the shiny spots on the section of the lawn near the garbage can…

fog 4The streets were eerily quiet.  As I was running, I kept waiting for something to jump out of the fog and attack me.

If you recall, the one horror movie that scared the crap out of me when I was younger was The Fog.  This morning, I was certain there were pirate ghosts stalking me under the cover of the soupy mist…

fog 5The street sign warns that there is no left turn ahead, but when I took this photo, I had a sense that there might not be anything at all up ahead.

The fog just seemed to be swallowing up everything in sight…

fog 6I thought the church looked especially creepy in these conditions.  Of course, a church played a big part in the plot of The Fog, so my overactive imagination had me thinking that I would be under attack at any moment.

I definitely felt like a character in a horror movie, and this was the point when the scary music would swell up, and I would meet my end within spitting distance of the church from which I’d strayed over the years….

fog 7I can usually see the church and the other side of State Street clear as day through this opening down the block.  Not today.

This foggy world seemed very claustrophobic…

fog 8I actually made very good time on my run.  Perhaps I was eager to get the hell out of the fog as quickly as possible?

Still, that didn’t prevent me from wandering around with my phone taking photos once I was done.  I blame that on the loss of bodily fluids…

fog 9I really like the way the color of the Railroad Crossing sign jumps out at you from the upper corner of this photo.

Look at me trying to put my Film School expertise to work with a camera phone…

fog 10Nothing ended up jumping out at me from the fog, and it eventually burned off (or moved on to haunt another town!).

It took the longest time before I could look down my street and see Bangor again.  It was a creepy morning, and definitely made me feel like I lived in Stephen King’s Maine.

Wish you were here, Modern Philosophers.  It would’ve been nice to have a little company out there in the fog…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Now This Is Stephen King’s Maine

  1. List of X says:

    Well, maybe it was your huffing and puffing somewhere in the fog had scared off the maniacs and serial killers.

  2. And none of the other joggers were never to be seen again… I’m glad you made it out alive! I love the photos though, especially that one of the pirate ghost peering out from behind the tree, eerie! It seems like it was a missed opportunity to shoot some scary scenes of a horror movie, at least you got the photos.

  3. AthenaC says:

    If you enjoy that type of weather, I think you might enjoy Ketchikan, AK. Looks suspiciously like that an awful lot.

  4. I was exactly honking Stand By Me ( if you recall that was my summer movie on Friday think tank several weeks ago)

    I wonder how you had a good run with all the picture taking. Whenever I try to take
    Pictures while I’m running they all come out blurry. Maybe that isn’t fog, but steam breath from your run?

  5. ksbeth says:

    wow, i see what you mean, austin. that was super eerie –

  6. Gail Kaufman says:

    Picturing you wandering through the fog, taking photos. If there were any pirate ghosts, you probably scared them away 🙂

  7. Waiting for the fog to cover the streets of Portland… Nice pictures 🙂

  8. Janice Wald says:

    I love Stephen King. I own many of his books, and one of them is actually signed by him. My favorite book of his is pet cemetery I love Stephen King. I own many of his books, and one of them is actually signed by him. My favorite book of his is Pet Cemetery.

  9. Glenda says:

    Wow. That is nice and foggy, but it ain’t thick. That’s a nice ambiance. Like you said, Stephen King’s Maine!

  10. donedreaming says:

    It’s fate Austin, my ‘ideal life’ blog post tomorrow has The Fog in it. My destiny must lie in Maine! Love the train track photo 🙂

  11. grannyK says:

    We get a lot of fog in the winter, but never in the summer! Sorry to say, I don’t care for it. It’s gray and depressing. I like sunshine!! lol

  12. kmunse says:

    Cool but creepy none the less

  13. That is exactly how I picture Steven King’s Maine!! And how it is on some really early morning hours out on the farms of Long Island! 🙂

  14. I live in the country and find myself taking pictures of everything when it’s foggy. Maybe it’s that wannabe connection with the spooky and eerie. I love it. Will let you know if Pirate ghosts come walking through the field, though.

  15. Patman says:

    Reminds me of Silent Hill, another horror franchise, and, of course, Stand By Me when you took that picture of the railroad. I’d happily trade the weather with you if you wish.

  16. The Cutter says:

    It’s all fun and games until you enter an alternate universe

  17. markbialczak says:

    Now that’s scary, Austin! I bet you cut your time on the run this morning. Yikes!

  18. adamjasonp says:

    I ain’t afraid of no fog. It makes for some interesting photography. Case in point, here…

  19. likkleone says:

    That’s what I’d imagined Maine was ALWAYS like. I’m sadly disappointed to find out that this is a rare occurrence…

Leave a Reply

