Let’s Go For A Sunday Stroll

stroll 2It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood, Modern Philosophers.  A beautiful day for a neighbor.

Since you can’t be my neighbor because you refuse to move to Maine, I thought I’d get out the camera and take you for a Sunday stroll around town on this gorgeous Summer Sunday.

Before I bust out the photos, let me tell you about my morning.  I went for my 4 mile run, and decided to push myself a little harder over the first 2 miles.

As a result, I managed to trim 1:20 off of my best time.  Not bad, right?

Then, when I did my Sunday weigh in, I discovered I’ve lost 7 lbs since I started running again 4 weeks ago.  Even better, don’t you agree?

I decided to reward myself with a breakfast sandwich from Dunkin Donuts.  And before you say that will ruin my diet, let me point out that Dunkin Donuts is three-quarters of a mile from The House on the Hill, it’s a hot Summer day, and I intended to walk.

So, I probably burned off the calories of my breakfast while make the mile and a half round trip.  It certainly felt like it from all the sweat I produced.

Enough yapping.  Let’s look at photos!

stroll 3This is the sacred orb that powers the dome under which our city is enclosed.  Life under the dome isn’t bad at all lately.

stroll 1There is some construction going on at the end of the street.  The official word is that the city is converting an old school into housing for seniors.

The word around the water cooler, though, is that the rebellion is trying to tunnel out of town to escape to Bangor and get away from the dome’s control…

stroll 6I think this is the device Governor LePage uses to crush spirits and to flatten anyone who opposes his weird…I mean…wonderful…ideas.

stroll 5This is the machine the cleanliness technicians use to clean the inside of the dome.  It is quite a sight to watch the men get into the bucket and then go up to the dome to spritz it with Windex and then squeegee it until it sparkles.

stroll 7Here’s me plotting to “borrow” the cleaning device…

stroll 8Like I said, it’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood!

stroll 9A cute little garden that caught my eye.  I’m not much of a green thumb, aside from raising weeds and bamboo, so I admire anyone who can make a yard look this pretty.

stroll 10The football field is quiet now, but it’s August, which means the Brewer Witches will be out there soon enough losing games to the other high schools.

stroll 11State Law prohibits hitting any dorky blogger with your vehicle while he is taking photos in the street.  You must also yield to him if he asks you for a quote for his blog post.

stroll 12I just love that the city thinks it’s necessary to post a sign that explains that the parking lot of the City Auditorium is not a through street.

Why not just post a sign that says “Welcome To Auditorium Parking”?  That sounds much more positive and wicked friendly.

stroll 13It’s close to 90 degrees, yet no one is in the City Pool.  What’s up with that?

stroll 14I don’t think of the main street in town as a highway, but I like the message.

stroll 16In case you didn’t notice that this patch of sidewalk up ahead is a bit different from all the rest of the sidewalk, we’ve put out seven cones to make it more obvious…

stroll 15No stroll around the neighborhood would be complete without a peek at Janine’s garden.  She does a wonderful job of providing me with a gorgeous view from my front porch.  The flowers are pretty, too…

So there you have it, Modern Philosophers.  Hope you enjoyed your stroll around the neighborhood.  When are you moving to Maine???

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Let’s Go For A Sunday Stroll

  1. I think I maybe if they took down the fence, or at least opened the gate, then perhaps more people would enjoy the pool. It’s just an idea that I got thinking about the pool I frequent in my Midwest hometown. It too has a large fence, but there is an opening by which patrons can come and go when the pool is open. Or, because it is Sunday after all, maybe in Maine it’s a sin to swim on Sunday?

  2. I plan to move to Maine when my place of employment moves operations there. They previously moved a bunch of stuff to Alabama and offered free banjo lessons to anyone wanting to relocate there, according to a handwritten note at the bottom of a corporate memo, but I declined. I enjoyed the walk. It is too hot for me to follow suit, which is too bad, because I do love a Pedestrian Post (although I lack the technology to include photos). I hope the rest of your Sunday passes as pleasantly.

  3. donedreaming says:

    I’m intrigued, what would a breakfast sandwich from Dunkin Donuts consist of? The vision of bacon clamped between pure sugar comes to mind … Love the style of houses, now if you could just move it to the coast I’d be there in a flash 🙂

    • Austin says:

      The river is right down the street, Deb. The Atlantic isn’t very far away.

      My sandwich was sausage, egg, and cheese on an English muffin. Very good!

  4. Mindy says:

    Great pictures! You almost have me sold on moving to Maine! Also, congratulations on your running and results 🙂

  5. jan says:

    A lovely walk through the neighborhood!

  6. It’s too sunny and quaint. I refuse to accept that this is the wonderland of Stephen King. Lies! Lies, I say!

    • Austin says:

      Well, I did write about how we were all trapped under a dome, which is based on a Stephen King story…

      • I was trying not to point out the obvious plagiarism, darling. I was doing you a solid.

      • Austin says:

        I’m not lying. We live under a dome. Help us…

      • This is a trap. You’ve been trying to lure us to you for a long time now. I’m onto you. You can’t fool me with your Jedi mind tricks.

      • Austin says:

        Have you read my blog post about how to properly use the Jedi Mind Trick on a date? You will read the post now…

      • I’m combating your technique with copious amounts of wine while working on my Algebra. The combination of both have turned the sensors in my brain into mush, therefore, I am protected from you. I never thought I would see the day when rampant alcoholism and Algebraic fuckery would save my life, but there you have it.

      • Austin says:

        If you’re on a Math kick, you should read my post about a Clown getting arrested for hitting a man in the face with a Pi. 🙂

      • It’s not a kick. It’s a return to college to work on m Master’s and a refresher since it’s been fifteen years since I last set foot in a classroom as a pupil. I would gladly never work another equation in my life.

      • Austin says:

        No matter how long it’s been 2+2 still equals 4. Always remember that.

        And X always marks the spot, which should come in handy for Algebra.

      • Austin says:

        Let’s keep the language clean in the comment section as this is a family friendly blog. 🙂

  7. nolanwrites says:

    Austin, your neighbourhood looks so pretty! I’m surrounded by High-rise buildings!

  8. Louise says:

    hi Austin. I am not sure if I like your house – covered in snow or as in this photos. hmmm Eithere way its beautiful. Amazing how things look in different seasons. Been keeping tabs on ya! good to see yA!are still cute. Although unsure if the LOVE situation has changed. Keep up the great work.

  9. markbialczak says:

    Thank you for the tour, Austin. Not a through street. Main Street is a highway. Your sign maker has the best sense of humor under the Dome!

  10. likkleone says:

    Hahaha loved this. One day you will get your hands on that cleaning device and then the dome will be all yours!!! Muahahah… or not. I’m not exactly sure what you plan on doing with the cleaning device. Go on a dome cleaning rampage?

Leave a Reply

